Maggie Jo Hilliard Esq.’s Reviews

Maggie Jo Hilliard Esq.

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Professional and Efficient

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie 1-3 years ago.

    I have known Maggie Jo for several years and just recently retained her services. She was very diligent and efficient. She handle matters timely and was very thorough. I would recommend her to anyone.

  2. Personable, Knowledgeable; (Most Importantly) Effective

    Posted by Arren, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie 1-3 years ago.
    • Maggie handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was charged with a couple drug-related felonies, the evidence for which was so conclusive that there was no possibility of a trial — and thus no possibility of using a trial as a negotiating tactic.

    Despite this, and the seriousness of the charges, Maggie persevered in the plea negotiations with the state attorney throughout a roller-coaster few months in which they were by turns uncooperative, outright uncommunicative, and seemingly inflexible.

    When negotiations with the ASA reached a still-unsatisfactory conclusion, she pursued further negotiations with the division chief to ensure the many mitigating circumstances in my case were fully taken into account.

    In the end, she managed to reach a compromise with the division chief which meant only probation (no incarceration) for an offense which typically receives a three-year prison sentence. Although this was partly due to the mitigating circumstances mentioned, I believe that it never would have been possible without Maggie's persistence.

    I'm grateful that she was my attorney in this matter, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend her to anyone.

  3. Maggie Jo is like superwoman

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie 1-3 years ago.
    • Maggie handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This cop was trying to accuse me of some things that made me look really foolish when I felt my life was in danger. After a good friend of mine told me about Maggie Jo I said " I hope this isn't one of those friends that don't know what they are doing " an believe it or not she is professional on all levels as well as an awesome friend. She knew her material and the issue at hand better than some of us know how to tie our show. So hats off to Maggie Jo. Again I swear I think she has super powers. Everything is now back to normal. If you don't choose Maggie Jo as your lawyer then you are crazy.
    THANKS MAGGIE JO

  4. Eviction

    Posted by Adam, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie more than 3 years ago.
    • Maggie handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Maggie Jo was a pleasure to work with. She was informative throughout the process and was always available to take my calls. I would definitely hire Maggie Jo again and will recommend her to my friends.

  5. Thank you so much Maggie Jo

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie more than 3 years ago.
    • Maggie handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Maggie helped me so much. Her prompt replies to my questions concerning business development in the Jacksonville area has allowed me to start my company and have it running in record speed.

  6. Successful Business Start Up in the heart of a depression ... others said it wasn't worth trying in this economy.

    Posted by Joshua Chang, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie more than 3 years ago.
    • Maggie handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    A year ago on December 15th I walked into Maggie Jo's office with a Business Plan. The previous 3 attorneys I spoke to thought it was bad timing with little capitol. Within 3 hours I had everything I needed to start my entrepreneurial adventure. Most would have nickel and dimed the time it took that afternoon but Maggie got a kick out of it and had a blast helping us pretty much on the spot. Where else could I have found law advice, accounting knowledge, business start-up execution, networks to make it happen, and most importantly the creativity and trust that Maggie brought to the table. We turned $1700 into a well oil cash cow with Maggie's help. Don't believe me? Call me personally 904-228-4926 .. - Josh

  7. Thank you so much

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie more than 3 years ago.
    • Maggie handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After a painful time with a tenant who did nothing less than rob me, Maggie was able to evict the man and is currently in the process of trying to pursue damages. Although the tenant was a worthless bum, Maggie is still working hard to get what is mine.

  8. Not so hot

    Posted by Renee,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Took the case and apparently was not fully aware of all the issues even though she said she was. Then when those issues arose, whacked me for more funds and in the end I suspect a deal had been arrived at with the state's attorny's office prior to my paying more as the "issues" were settled in only a few days after I paid.

    1. Maggie Jo Hilliard Esq.

      Maggie Hilliard

      Lawyer Comment:

      I never represented anyone named Renee.

      Posted almost 3 years ago. Flag

  9. The Charitable Lawyer

    Posted by Mark, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie more than 3 years ago.
    • Maggie handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Maggie is awesome! I needed legal advice and couldn't find anyone willing to help out. Finally, out of desperation, I contacted a third-party hoping for pity and little info. Instead, they hooked me up with Maggie who proceeded to solve my dilemma in ONE email.

    Thanks a ton - you rock!

  10. Willing Mentor to Aspiring Students

    Posted by Matthew Clark, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maggie Hilliard.
    • I hired Maggie more than 3 years ago.
    • Maggie handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I reached out to Mrs. Hillard when a student from the University of North Dakota contacted me for research on a business plan project. The business plan was centered around an e-learning model and had several specific questions on the ideal legal setup for this type of start up. Maggie graciously responded in a timely manner with pages of suggestions for the students. It’s this willingness to mentor and educate young entrepreneurs that makes Maggie a true asset to our community. Maggie Jo Hillard is always a pleasure to work with and will always be my go to girl for legal advice.

904-247-7600