Eliot Jay Abt’s Reviews

Eliot Jay Abt

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The best in the business

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot 1-3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Abt got me off a five kilo case. He was very knowledgeable about the case, and he showed up at all my court appearances. When trial came he was spectacular. Thanks Mr. Abt

  2. He got my felony dropped!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot 1-3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Abt worked out a great deal for me. I appreciate all his hard work and efforts. He told me to hang tight and over the year and a half I did. THANK YOU MR. ABT!!

  3. There should be more lawyers like Jay Abt

    Posted by Andrea, a Animal Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot 1-3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Animal Law matter.

    At some point in our lives there will come a time when it is necessary to hire a lawyer. Choosing the right one can be a scary task. There is always a risk involved when placing your case in the hands of another. Im writing this review to share my thoughts on jay abt of the atlanta based abt law firm. .
    8 months ago I was the defendent of a tragic and heart breaking k9 bite case with my two pit bulls. I had known Mr. Abt for 5 +years and used his services many times previously but was not sure what to do because there are not exactly many lawyers who specialize in defending a pit in a bite case. He took it on for me anyways.
    Even tho I had securely locked the front door the previous night before bed somehow , no one's really sure that door was wide open in the morning.
    Allegedly (Although no one witnessed it other then the victim) my male & female pitbul ran out my front door at my townhouse community and attacked my neighbors dog. He then claimed that the dogs attacked him even though we all know that he was just bit breaking up that fight.
    Animal control took my dogs and detained them for 30 days. They lived in at 2'x 3' cage with a guillotine door with no human contact, they where not able to move for 30 days straight and visitation was Prohibited and I waited and prayed that I would be able to get them back and they would not be euthanized. It was the worst thing I've ever been through.
    My neighbor just had a few scratches and puncture wounds and their dog had some stitches and ended up being just fine. I have of course reimbursed them for their medical bills. My neighbor, who often let his dog run around without a leash, thought he had the right to say whether my dogs lived or died he pushed for 60 days to get them euthanized on the (first bite ) that occurred for these dogs on record. He sued me criminally and civilly and tried to kill my dogs Arguing that I was not capable of handling dogs of that nature. I was thrown out of my home that i had owned out right for 6 years by the neighborhood homeowners Association. When I finally got my dogs back they were classified as dangerous dogs and banned from the county that I lived in, forcing me to move. .
    animal control in Cherokee County are the worst. these people are the devil and they don't give a f:$@ about any of the animals there.
    So, side-note; if you find a stray and you take there.
    My lawyer stood by my side every minute of this case; he even put aside murder trials to handle the hearings for these two dogs because he knew how much i loved them. Luckily my dogs were saved and even though the criminal charge fines Given by Cherokee County where ridiculous; there can never be a dollar amount too great to put on something that you love dearly.
    Because my lawyer did his job so well; i guess the civil case was withdrawn. .
    I cannot describe how valuable jay apt was during this process and my words cannot describe the gratefulness that I have towards this lawyer. I Sat down with Jay one day and asked him why he did what he did for a profession. Defense lawyers endure criticism by many. The reply from him is why I know I can recommend this man. A typical lawyer would not care about you the way jay cares. You see; Many times lawyers have the reputation of doing their business for all the wrong reasons. I can assure you if you sit down face-to-face with this man and you need his help, I promise you he is in it to protect you and to keep you safe . The reason why he does what he does is because at the end of the day he can go to bed knowing that he helped somebody, that he saved the life of another and has kept them away from Injustice and harm. That he has done his very best to stand up for you weather you are right or wrong he is on your side.
    So, if you are in trouble, . And I must leave you with a serious question to think about...
    What is you or a loved ones freedom worth?

  4. Thanks Mr. Abt You are the Greastest

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot 1-3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jay really helped my sister out of alot of trouble. It was one of those situtaions where she chose the wrong boyfriend and almost had to do hard time. Jay and his team were on the ball and worth every penny.

  5. Thanks Jay

    Posted by Christopher, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jay and his team were very understanding to my situation, He stayed in constant contact with me throughout my case, He even kept in contact with my family as well. Excellent Attorney

  6. He kept my brother from doing hard time.

    Posted by LaShanda, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot 1-3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My brothers stupid cop calling girlfriend almost costed him his freedom. My brother was charged with possession of narcotics, assualt and battery and running from the police. Mr Abt kept my brother out of prison, the assualt and battery charged was dismissed because he proved she lies. The drug and running charges he only got community service....Thanks Bunches Abt

  7. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney ABT fought for me tooth and nail. I was offered 10 years to serve 3 and I walked out with PROBATION!!!!!!

  8. Great Outcome

    Posted by Talisha, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Abt got me the best available outcome for my case. I couldn't be more pleased.

  9. Got my case dismissed.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot 1-3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Excellent Attorney

  10. Honest Attorney

    Posted by E, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Abt.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Abt represented my son in misdemeanor case. He put me at ease from the beginning of our first meeting and explained all the options in my son’s case. He will now and forever be our family attorney.