Shawna M. Woods’s Reviews

Shawna M. Woods

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Shawna is a pitbull who fought and won for me in my divorce and child custody case! Who said that Men can't be the phys Parent!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shawna was a blessing for me during my divorce and then again when I needed her expertise for my child custody case. Through her knowledge of the law and past experiences, she was able to attain a fair divorce settlement but the child custody case was the most appreciative and impressive. With Shawna's experience, we were able to show the court that the children's living conditions were not in their best interest and I was awarded Physical Custody of my kids in 2012. Shawna kept me informed and was very respectful of my financial situation and insured that our communication was as necessary and not abused in any way. Thanks Shawna!

  2. Fierce & Brilliant Attorney!!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shawna is a fierce and brilliant attorney!
    I was a client of Shawna’s 6yrs ago (which I was extremely happy with the outcome) and I am currently one now. She gives her all and she has always looked out for my best interest.
    Shawna is professional and trustworthy and has always been extremely attentive to all of my concerns. I appreciate that she is understanding and encouraging during tough times.
    You will never feel like you are “just another client,” while working with Shawna.
    There are many, many good things I can say about Shawna, but most importantly, I trust her completely!

  3. Great legal care during divorce, but left me stranded in the end

    Posted by Maria, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shawna has a rare blend of brains, compassion, and cunning negotiation. During the divorce she was completely on top of things. However, now nearly 5 months after the final divorce hearing, I still don't have signed divorce papers and Shawna has not returned my numerous phone calls. I didn't see this coming. Very disappointed...

    1. Shawna M. Woods

      Shawna M. Woods

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am very surprised by this comment. and I wish they had left their name so I could speak to them about their issue. I can assure this person that we would never allow a case to go unresolved and I am sure that since this comment was posted that this case has been resolved. Unfortunately, it can take judges a long time to finalize orders after a trial because the judges are very busy. Lawyers have no control over the amount of time it takes the judges to prepare their orders. As for the issue of not being able to communicate with me, I was assuming my current role of Managing Attorney with The Siemon Law Firm around this time and my phone number did change but I updated my information with the bar and sent the information to all of my clients. I always return calls as soon as possible so this comment does not make much sense to me.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  4. Got the job done!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Woods handled my divorce and child custody dispute two years ago. She made sure I understood what was going on and what I could expect from the process. I have a little girl that I need to care for, and Ms. Woods made sure she was given the best future possible as a result of this difficult divorce. I received great service, and I respect all the hard work that Ms. Woods has done for me and my family. I appreciate the hard work and honesty.

  5. Handled my case with care, respect, and immediate attention

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently went through an extremely complicated divorce which included custody disputes and very complicated property issues. Ms. Woods handled my case with respect, courtesy, and professional knowledge that goes well beyond her years as a practicing attorney. During my case, I noticed the respect she's earned from her colleagues and the court system, and it made me feel more comfortable that my process was being cared for by a knowledgeable and realistic attorney. She never made promises she couldn't keep, and despite my desire to "win" against my spouse, I knew that I was getting above and beyond what was reasonable. In the end, I was left feeling a sense of closure about the process. Anyone who goes through this knows that the emotions linger well beyond the formalities, but Ms. Woods made it possible to heal without having to deal with the legal issues at the same time. I shopped around, and she is probably the best kept secret in Atlanta.

  6. Communication is an issue

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    While knowledeable in overall family law, Ms. Woods was extremely difficult to communicate to and with throughout the entire process. Quite often repeated communication attempts were responded to days and even weeks later resulting in frustration, anger, and a feeling of distrust. Divorce with children is an extremely painful and emotional time for everyone. The attorney can help minimize that in their focused and engaged handling of the case (communication is key in managing the emotions of the case). I was extremely disappointed at the lack of effort to improve the communication after this was brought to her attention; and was even more disappointed when I learned after the divorce was final, the amount of information I never received.

  7. Trustworthy, Smart, and Professional

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Woods handled my divorce. The experience could not have been easier with Shawna guiding me through the process. She was always attentive, returned my calls, and was available during tense moments. She not only navigated the legal aspects, but provided a friendship during a tough time in my life. We stayed a step ahead of my ex, which saved me a lot of money and time. It is without hesitation that I would recommend Ms. Woods to anyone.

  8. Highly Recommend

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Woods was an excellent advocate.

  9. Client Review

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Woods knowledge of the court was impressive. She guided me through a very difficult divorce.

  10. I would recommend Shawna Woods to everyone.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Shawna Woods.
    • I hired Shawna more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was going through a change in custody with my ex-wife. Even though it was a very difficult, Ms. Woods guided us and ultimately we won custody of both my 15 yr old son and 9 yr old daughter. Ms. Woods was very impressive in court and showed no lack of experience. She kept my kids best intrests at the forefront. Most lawyers have a bad reputation and they deserve it, however Ms. Woods is the exception to the rule and worth every penny. I have used other lawyers in the past and found that they just wanted my money but Ms. Woods was fair and trustworthy. She was straight to the point and made no promises on outcomes. I don't feel as though she wasted my money but that she looked at me as a client.