Fred Wallace Woods Jr.’s Reviews

Fred Wallace Woods Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing Lawyer & Excellent Service :)

    Posted by T.H., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred 1-3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I really needed a lawyer after I got into some real trouble. I told a friend of mine what happened and she referred me to Mr. Woods. I called his office and left a message with his assistant and he called me right back like one minute later. I talked to him for about 20 minutes and he answered all of my questions. I felt my life was over and I was embarrassed to tell him my story. I felt guilty for getting in trouble with the law but he never once made me feel bad about it. He treated me like a person who made a mistake and not like a criminal as the police made me feel. I had been depressed and couldn't sleep for days but after I talked to him I felt better. I said I would think about everything but 30 minutes later, I called him right back and hired him and I'm glad I did. The first looming court date was postponed until he got the evidence, then he explained everything to me and what was going to happen at the next court date. He was cool and comfortable at court and seemed to know everybody. Bottom line, we went to court, he won the case, I didn't go to jail and I went back to my life. I am never getting into trouble again, it was too stressful but Mr. Woods was a lifesaver. If you need a lawyer, hire Mr. Woods, he is a good lawyer and his skill let me live again.

  2. Honest & Awesome Lawyer !

    Posted by I.J., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred more than 3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was facing a DUI Charge after driving home one night. I was scared and upset because I had never gotten in any type of legal trouble in my life. The officer pulled me over, had me perform some tests and put me in jail. I had to sleep with one eye open on a thin mat in a cold and smelly jail until the next morning and I never wanted to go back. I looked online an found Mr. Woods. He talked to me like a person, not like a lawyer and explained what I was looking at. I hired him and he said, "don't worry, get some sleep tonight, I've got this." First of all, Mr. Wods is really friendly and straight talking and really easy to reach. I could call him and text him anytime that I had a question and he would give me an answer and encouragement, which I really needed throughout this court process. I was hoping to just have the case reduced and not have a DUI so that I could keep my job but Mr. Woods got the case dismissed at court ! I was so excited, I just smiled and slept all the day the next day because I could finally get some real rest and know that I could keep my job ! If you need a DUI attorney, call Mr. Woods ASAP! I hope I never get in trouble again, but if anybody I know needs an attorney I'm making them call Mr. Woods. He was awesome !

  3. Outstanding / Great Lawyer !!!!

    Posted by Sarah, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred 1-3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    My daughter got a DUI. As her mother, I was really upset and worried about her future and concerned about what would happen at court. We talked to some attorneys but never felt that they would really try to help her. I called Mr. Woods' office and his secretary put him right on the phone. He talked to both me and my daughter and made us both feel at ease. I had a lot of questions and he was patient and answered them all. He told us about how the field sobriety test and the breathalyzer worked and said he would fully investigate the case and not to worry. He was true to his word, he took care of all parts of the case and took the time to explain the evidence and legal issues with me. This was her first experience with any kind of attorney and I had only used an attorney for our house closing years ago. He gave us his cell phone number and whenever we called him, he was there to talk to us and always nice and cordial. At court, he did all of the talking so she didn't have to say anything but yes your honor and no your honor to the judge. He got the DUI thrown out and she ended up paying a really small fine for not having her driver's license with her when she was arrested. She has no criminal record, no points against her license and she even got to keep her license privileges and can drive. I don't know what we would have done without Mr. Woods. He was a good guy and a great lawyer. I highly recommend using him as a lawyer!!!

  4. Nothing

    Posted by JOSEPH, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred 1-3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired this guy , but he failed to inform me that he didnt practice law in nc , and sub contracted me out to a lawyer who knew less about the law then woods, they got me for $ 3000 .. I wouldnt hire this guy for a j walking ticket..

  5. Mr WOODS!!! " A TRUE BLESSING"

    Posted by Rosa, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred 1-3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was so stress out one day and I went out for some drinks and just had one to many I was stop and off to jail I went for the night while in that jail cell all night I pray to my Jesus to please get me out of the mess That I got myself into got out the next morning worry about what was going to happen to me well to make a story short got on line ask for information Mr Woods call me back I had faith in My Jesus that he was the one that had Mr Woods call me With me not only Trust in God But trusting in Mr Woods He Had all every single charge thrown out nothing on my record He is the most Trustworthy, Knowledgeable person that I have Meet he kept in informed of everything of my case not once did I call him and he didn't answer would I recommend he YES..... HE IS A BLESSING not only would he be My Lawyer for life but he will always Be My Friend For life

  6. outstanding attorney

    Posted by chhigh, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred 1-3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I got in some trouble a couple of months back I was pulled over with drugs and a fire arm and was facing time in jail,I hired attorney Woods and with his excellent work and knowledge of the law I got all my charges dropped to fines and got off paying 300 dollars with no probation or jail time he is great attorney and would recommend him a hundred times

  7. Excellent

    Posted by Luis, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred 1-3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Excellent service, very knowledgable, very friendly and responsive service. I would highly recommend him, and am very happy with the result of my case

  8. DO I NEED A LAWYER for DUI? YES! and an EXPERT ONE LIKE FRED WOODS

    Posted by William, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred 1-3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Several months ago, I made a bad choice, this is not the first time I made a bad choice, but this choice I made landed me in jail. It was late, and I had a few drinks, maybe one to many. On the way home, I ran off the side of the road, lost control and hit a telephone pole. I realized I was in some serious trouble.

    The police came, asked alot of questions: Have you been drinking? Yes. How much have you had to drink? 6: 2 before dinner, two during dinner and two after dinner. After failing the sobriety test (which I don't think anyone has ever passed), off to jail I went in cuffs.

    It was a cold miserable night, and the next day was not much better. I was fortunate to be out by 7 pm the next evening (which was too long). The next day, I was on the internet researching what was going to happen to me. It was not a good feeling, suspended license, ADSAP, court, fines, records etc etc..

    The big question "SHOULD I GET A LAWYER, OR NOT"? After doing some research, I came across Fred Woods Jr.. He had videos up on YouTube which I found very hopeful. I called Mr. Woods and he reassured me, that he could help and get me off the DUI Charge.

    I blew a 1.6, double over the limit, I had no priors, and have been a model citizen in a sense, good job, family etc. At 42, I admit I was scared, worried and stressed. But Mr. Woods lived up to his word.
    He took care of everything. I never appeared in court, I never took ADSAP and I accepted the plea of Reckless Driving with a fine less than $500.00 to the court.

    I learned my lesson, I will not Drink and Drive again,(a taxi is much cheaper). I made a bad choice that night, alot of people do it and get away with it. That night I didn't. However, the next day I made a good choice: Fred Woods, actually he is a great choice. If you find yourself in a similar situation, do not hesitate to call Woods Law Firm. He saved me alot of worry, stress and loss with his expertise. Get an Expert, Get Fred Woods, he knows the D.U.I. laws.

    Thank you Fred Woods Jr. for all you did to get my life back on track after being derailed by a DUI.

  9. Knowledgeable

    Posted by maurice, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred 1-3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Woods for my DUI CASE in which i blew almost twice the legal limit & Mr. Woods got the charges dropped to wreckless driving,with no classes to take.

  10. A Must Have Lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Fred Woods.
    • I hired Fred 1-3 years ago.
    • Fred handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After receiving a leaving the scene and DUI charge, I hired Freddy Woods. Needless to say that was the best decision I made while facing these charges. Freddy Woods is an aggressive lawyer, very intelligent and simply the best in the business. After talking with the officer he said I had two options: go to trial where we would have a 50/50 chance of beating the DUI (which he said he was ready to go to trial) or I could take a reckless driving charge. I took the reckless driving charge because everything in my life depended so much on it, even though I was confident that Freddy Woods would have won my case. There was just too much at stake. Out of all of the lawyers in the court room Freddy Woods looked and acted the most professional. I realized how lucky I was to have him representing me. Freddy Woods commanded so much respect that when it wasn’t even our time to go in front of the judge he just walked up to the front and they moved our case in front of all the others. With everything said and done: Leaving the Scene charge was dismissed, the DUI was dropped to a reckless driving charge, I have a clean criminal record and I won’t lose my job all thanks to Freddy Woods. If you need a lawyer for DUI or anything else you need to get him! He also always answered my calls, text messages and E-Mails no matter what; he really is second to none. He even offered to drive me home because I couldn't drive.