Patricia Issberner’s Reviews

Patricia Issberner

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. From a little Custody to a lot of Custody

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.

    Patricia is your woman when it comes to Custody battles. I was dealing with a tough situation and Patricia had a plan. I had to work for what I got, but in giving her all the information and her having it in one place really helped me with custody. I had to get all my references together, and get additional references. This information helped and we got it in advance to needing it so I was not reactive. I was well prepared. I thank Patricia, as she has been an asset in getting a better custody arrangement for my son. She helped me every step of the way moneywise. I really appreciate all her advice. Thank you Patricia, you are awesome!

  2. She did a good job for me

    Posted by Ron,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.

    Pat is a very easy "lawyer" to talk to. She was caring and understanding, but by no means does that mean she is a push over. She has a knack for reading people quickly. She knows how to play the fiddle with both parties. Knows what to say and how to say it. My ex decided not to contest my divorce after meeting with Pat. I don't know, nor do I care, what was said during the meeting, but what ever was said was the right thing to get to the job done in a reasonable amount of time at a very reasonable rate. This saved my son and I a whole lot of stress, aggravation, and money. Pat did what I asked her to do, get me divorced as quickly and easily as possible. I would recommend her to any one who asks me, "Do you know a good divorce lawyer."

    One side note here. Since she was a former legal law guardian for children, she looks at which situation is best for the children, if any.

    Divorce is a very difficult thing for kids, do what is best for them. Hire Pat!!

  3. True inspiration

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Pat has been very helpful in instructing me in my divorce and custody case. From the moment I stepped into her office she has become a part of my team and has made sure that I understand everything that is going on to the point where she has worked with me financially. I trust her judgement because she is upfront and honest and tells it like it is. She took the time to help me prepare for what is a most difficult time. She is willing to go the extra mile even though she expects little in return. She is prompt to return phone calls and texts. I'm glad I hired Pat. I've recommended Pat to relatives and friends.

  4. Outstandingly Competent and Straightforward Lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A coworker of mine recommended Ms. Issberner after speaking with me about issues I was having with the first lawyer I had been working with. The initial lawyer (NOT Ms. Issberner) was a disaster - unresponsive for weeks at a time and constantly billing me for work that didn't need to be done! Though I'd rather not post any personally identifying details of my complicated custody dispute, I can say that Ms. Issberner was able to provide a more professional perspective while acknowledging the existence of the intense emotions that accompany family relations, especially involving our children. I came to her with my own short-sighted plans and ideas for how I wanted to handle the situation. She helped me to make a responsible decision which would function best in the long-term. She presented a variety of possibilities which she understood quite thoroughly and had previous experience with. I was shocked that the previous lawyer hadn't discussed all of the options and long-term ramifications with me! Most importantly, she shared a genuine concern for the well-being of my family while handling sensitive domestic violence concerns. Although she was very busy, I felt that she made my case a priority. I felt confident walking into court knowing Ms. Issberner would be representing me. With Ms. Issberner, what you see is what you get - she was straightforward about costs and outcomes, so that I always knew what to expect. My case was handled to the satisfaction of both myself and my ex-husband, and I would recommend her services to family and friends.

  5. I won custody because of Pat Issberner

    Posted by Glenn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My divorce was absolutely the most horrendous on earth. I grew to trust Pat over time, and frankly as a man, and a great Father, I still thought the old fashioned way, which was that Mother's would get custody. But my wife was engulfed in her affair so much so that she was never home, and I became the defacto Mother and Father. Since Pat was a former Law Guardian, she could see past the 1950's thought pattern, and truly believed that I was the most suitable parent to raise our three children. Though it was a living hell, with the forensic evaluation a the Law Guardian, when the report came out for the evaluator I could not believe Pat when she said that the Evaluator recommended me as the sole custodian, further stating that I was the most suitable parent. I could not read the report itself, and I heard a synopsis, but everything that Pat said would happened did indeed happened. My wife left the house to be with her boyfriend and I had my children and my house. Though I am an executive and she earns less, she pays me child support! Without Pat's encouragement and belief in me, I could not have lived through this nightmare, which is now over. It has been for a year now. Things are calming down and I am the happiest man on earth. Our kids are young and they roll with the punches, and I hope someday Pat can meet them. She is the person who won custody for me. Without her I would not have had the courage, or even the idea that it would be possible. She worked until midnight to prepare for the trial and so did her staff. Devotion and doggedness is in her blood. I can't say enough about Pat and her personal will to help those in need.

  6. THE BEST LAWYER I EVER MEET

    Posted by Jennifer, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I FOUND THIS ATTORNEY THANKS TO AVVO AND ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT THEY COULDN'T BE MORE RIGHT ABOUT HER. SHE IS ALL AND DEFINITELY MORE OF WHAT YOU COULD EXPECT FROM A LAWYER. SHE IS SO HELFUL,CARING,COMPATIONED,HONEST,SINCERE AND I CAN GO ON AND ON. YOU HAVE TO MEET HER TO KNOW WHAT I MEAN....... AND SPECIALLY SHE IS EXTREMELLY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND FAIR. SHE IS DEFFINTLY NOT OUT FOR THE MONEY

  7. Thank you !!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I am currently a client now with Patricia Issberner , My previous lawyer had messed up my case hid me in the shadows , hid me from important information never return my phone calls when I needed him urgently and he handle my case carelessly. A good freind of mine found Mrs. Issberner not only is she a divorce lawyer but a former law guardian. After I had a consultation with Mrs. issberner I felt so much relief immediatly and felt more confident standing in front of the judge , she spense quality time with you during the consult getting to know you and your case. She took my case on when it was such a mess and alot of work that had to be done and she did it with no problem . I was so happy and relieved that she took on my case . Already she has done so much for me. I feel very confident standing beside her in court. Thank you so much Patricia !! : )

  8. A Winner, A Professional, she saved our family....l

    Posted by David, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Ms. Issberner when I thought that my case and pretty much my family was over. My wife had an attorney with power (from NYC) over the Judge and the law guardian, and my former lawyer had pretty much given up on the case. I had made the wrong choice by using someone who was recommended to me by a friend without checking whether or not that person was truly qualified in the area of matrimonial and child custody cases. I thought I was a smart man, brilliant actually. Certainly I was shown the truth when I realized how incredibly messed up the Court system was and is, to this day. If the first attorney had only had the decency to tell me that this case was over his head, or to tell me the truth, that we were out-gunned and needed experts, private investigators, forensic evaluators; but he didn't even know enough about the system to do that much--to see what was needed. So just when I thought it was dead, I went for a free consultation. I was with Ms. Issberner for four hours. She sat with me, and yes, I am a grown man who cried my eyes out at the frustration level. She sifted through the mess and we came up with a plan. It took a long time and it took patience. But it was a plan. And slowly we won the law guardian over. Slowly we made our case. Slowly we showed that there was no way that it was safe for the children to be with their mother. Finally I was vindicated. At first the Court thought I was mentally ill and drug addicted--I have never smoked a cigarette or had any alcohol in my life. I think that this statement is what made me lose credibility. But growing up in an alcoholic family made me resolute that it would not happen again. But finally, after over a year of investigation, I was able to catch this woman in the act. Open and shut. I am sorry to say, for the children, that it was proven that their mother was the addict I was saying she was all along, but finally she is in rehab and getting the help she needs. But I would be nowhere without Ms. Issberner--who saved my children, my reputation, my family, my life. And finally, I am divorced. And might I add that I spent over $75,000 litigating the case BEFORE I hired Ms. Issberner, whose fees were reasonable and fair, not the overreaching of the other attorney???

  9. Issberner

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am so pleased with the service and the professionalism of Ms. Issberner and her staff. Within the first 5 minutes of my consultation, I knew this was the attorney that I wanted representing me in my divorce proceedings. As in every divorce, it is a very difficult and emotional situation. Ms. Issberner took a personal approach in dealing with my case. She was more than understanding with my issues as well as with my children. While she was in court representing me, she took a very professional, uncompromising approach in dealing with the opposing attorneys and the judge. I'm sure her court room manner comes from her years of service as well as her background in the District Attorney's office. Ms. Issberner's experience of being a law guardian gave me and my children such insight into what was to be expected and what to look forward to throughout the divorce proceedings.
    I have been very pleased with the service, the support staff as well as the fairness of the billing practices throughout the entire process. I am very confident in Ms. Issberner's abilities and if ever needed, I would use her again. She would be the first person I would speak to in any matter requiring legal services. I would highly recommend Ms. Issberner for anyone who is looking for a fair, caring attorney that is willing to work with the client and fight for their rights. Ms. Issberner definitely puts the client ahead of the financial/ business part of her legal service. Great attorney!

  10. The True Meaning of Representation

    Posted by Andy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Issberner.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    RESOLUTE! That would be how I would describe Patricia Issberner.

    I came upon Pat after being with another counsel for 1.5 years. With that other "lawyer" I realized that I was just running in a hamster wheel going month-after-month to court for no apparent reason. I did not know what was happening in my case because I seldom received any contact from him. Unreturned phone calls, unreturned emails, barely a peep. I was gullible and inexperienced with the law and process to say the very least.

    I met Pat on the advice of a fellow colleague. Before I walked into her office I had all but resigned to losing my case. I left her office after a 3 hour first consultation with renewed hope and a feeling that Pat really cared about my needs, and my daughter's safety. She immediately reviewed the case-work, got familiar with the artifacts and set a course/direction for our next steps.

    We are now a month into our work and I can say that I never felt better about my case. She has done more in one month than my previous counsel could have done in 2 years. She asks the hard questions, and she invites your scrutiny. She is always available to talk so that anything important enough to take note of is actually communicated. She is extremely smart, professional, patient, and balanced as well as a seasoned veteran of the court system; a fantastic combination. She is incredible, as are her hand-picked staff.

    When I hired Pat I not only get a compassionate, tough, unrelenting attorney. I also got her legal staff that can keep pace with Pat and have earned earned their stripes. Pat and her team work hard to give me the support and detail I need at a cost that is manageable.

    If you want an attorney that is intelligent, compassionate, realistic, pragmatic, cost-effective, and unrelenting, then Patricia Issberner should be your pick!

Call 631-509-5509!!

631-509-5509