Richard S. Feinsilver’s Reviews

Richard S. Feinsilver

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. There is Better out there

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Feinsilver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    I hired richard 3 years ago, things were great initially , he asked for paper work ,bills ...ect. after filing the chapter 13 case there were many other questions left on the table. richard did not make a effort returning calls . most communication was threw his secratery . even when there were several mistakes in the bankruptcy petition he seemed to not want to correct them and rushed me off the phone . i would not recomend richard or his law firm

    1. Richard S. Feinsilver

      Richard Feinsilver

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am deeply concerned about the allegations raised by this client - particularly that they have been presented anonymously. Further, the comments are ambiguous and have been made three years after, presumably, the client's Chapter 13 plan was confirmed.

      A Chapter 13 case, if successful and prosecuted to its conclusion, has a life of approximately five years - the length of most Chapter 13 plans. 99% of the legal work required in a Chapter 13 proceeding is completed within the first 3-4 months of the case. Once a Chapter 13 Plan is confirmed by the Court, a client's payment obligations are set. Although technically my work is essentially completed at that point, I advise all of my Chapter 13 clients that they are free to contact me at any time if a change in circumstances arises requiring Court intervention, such as a modification of the terms of a confirmed plan. Five years is a long time and things do happen. I fully understand that and encourage my clients to remain in touch with my office.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  2. Poor experience

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Feinsilver.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Used Richard for our chapter 13 case he communicates poorly , stops answering e mails and phone calls. very frustrating got to the point where we just called into our assigned trustee just as the other person stated

    1. Richard S. Feinsilver

      Richard Feinsilver

      Lawyer Comment:

      I verily believe that this comment was posted by the same client as the other negative comment filed on the same day. This client has used multiple email addresses to communicate with my office at various times during our five year relationship.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  3. Feinsilver The Finest Attorney Available

    Posted by Keith, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Feinsilver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Feinsilver has worked on our bankruptcy back in 2007, was very professional,helpful, and kept us updated all the way. He explained our situation to us and what our options would be and gave us the best option for our situation. He stopped all the phone calls and after visiting several other attorney's Mr Richard Feinsilver was the best option the other attorneys did not give us the full information and fee's involved, Mr. Feinsilver went the distance and gave us a break down on pricing and it was itemized so MR. Feinsilver thank you for all your help, we would defiantly recommend you.

  4. Made a stressfull situation so easy

    Posted by Dorothy, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Feinsilver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have never met a lawyer that made me feel at ease until I met Rich. He is kind and down to earth. You are put at easy from the minute you meet him. That was so important to me. Everything he told me would happen actually happened. I was never put off and when I wanted or needed to ask questions he was there to answer them. He is an amazing lawyer and human being. I can not thank him enough.

  5. Lawyer worth the money

    Posted by a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Feinsilver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Always on top of my case. Handled my situation with respect and dignity. Paperwork was always in order and always provided me with my options in a clear and concise manner. I would use him again but hoping I won't need to!

  6. GREAT ATTORNEY, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Posted by a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Feinsilver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    RICHARD HANDLED MY CASE WITH THE UTMOST DIGNITY & PROFESSIONALISM. DO NOT PAY ANY MERIT TO THE PERSON WHO WROTE A NEGATIVE REVIEW, IT IS CLEARLY A COMPETITOR OR SOMEONE WRITING A NEGATIVE REVIEW FOR ULTERIOR MOTIVES. YOU WILL NOT FIND A MORE RESPECTABLE, LOW-KEY, GENTLEMEN LAWYER ANYWHERE, AND I MEAN THAT SINCERELY.

  7. Used for our bankruptcy

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Feinsilver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    While he handled our bankruptcy case we had to keep calling him and to find out what was going on through the entire process. He never returned phone calls or emails. We found several mistakes in our plan but he kept brushing them under the rug. We finally just dealt with the trustee directly and handled the rest of everything ourselves. Don't hire him. He is terrible.

    1. Richard S. Feinsilver

      Richard Feinsilver

      Lawyer Comment:

      After some research, my office was able to identify the clients who filed this review.

      My office represented the clients, a married couple, to file a complicated Chapter 13 case, including the stripping of a second mortgage lien. At our initial consultation, the husband fully understood all of the issues I laid out and the work that would be required to deal with them. The wife's only concern was completing the process "as fast as possible."

      Unfortunately, as I anticipated, it took approximately six months to confirm their Chapter 13 Plan. During this time, the wife contacted my office on numerous occasions to find out when it the process would be completed. My office gave her an update each time she contacted us.

      After about 4-5 inquiries, the wife intimated that her friends filed Chapter "7" and it only took a couple of months and she could not understand the "delay" in the completion of her case. In that discussion, I was finally able to pinpoint her issue. She never fully understood the differences between a Chapter 7 and a Chapter 13, in particular, the work involved in the prosecution of each type of bankruptcy case.

      Although her case is now long completed and every goal of the filing was achieved, unfortunately I believe that this is a case in which the client would never be satisfied even if the process were completed in a day.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  8. Bankruptcy

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Feinsilver.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Feinsilver is a caring, highly experienced attorney who helped me during the worst financial nightmare of my life. His caling manner kept me focused on what had to be done and he worked with me every step of the way to ensure that my case went smoothly.