Jacqueline Harounian’s Reviews

Jacqueline Harounian

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Jacqueline Harounian is the consummate professional and an extraordinary Lawyer

    Posted by Devon B, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 6-12 months ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jackie Harounian is a consummate professional with extraordinary knowledge, compassion and expertise. I am extremely grateful to Jackie and her team for her guidance, support, and generosity in helping me with my recent divorce. From the very beginning Jackie was generous with her time on the phone, gave me sound advice, and was always responsive. She kept me informed throughout the proceeding and always let me know what to expect. The divorce itself was difficult in and of itself, but I will always be grateful to Jackie and her team at Wisselman, Harounian and Associates for getting me through it smoothly and in the most dignified manner possible. I give Jackie and her team the highest recommendation possible because of her expertise, commitment, responsiveness and empathy. Thank You

  2. Trusworthy Attorney who gets the Job Done.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 1-6 months ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jacqueline Harounian was thorough and gave direct instructions at every phase of our case. Throughout the process she was responsive to my questions and concerns. She gave logical and procedural feedback. Her knowledge of the law had a direct POSITIVE impact on how the case was settled.Jacqueline was organized, prepared, honest, truthful, trustworthy, responsive, informative, professional, courteous and compassionate. I thank god I found her and will be forever grateful for getting the case Dismissed.I would Recommend her to family and friends that are in need of a family law attorney.

  3. A true legal attorney!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 1-6 months ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Becoming a newly mom and going through a divorce process in a short amount of time is very stressful and emotionally draining. However, the expertise of Jacqueline Harounian and her staff definitely eased the process. From day one, Jacqueline understood what I was seeking for in my divorce matter and fought for it until the end. Her staff engagement through the whole process was phenomenal. They were always available to answer my legal questions and/or just to hear me out and alleviate my anxiety. I am forever indebted with Jacqueline. Her tenacity, passion, and care for her clients is what makes her an amazing attorney with a high success rate. I highly recommend Jacqueline and her firm to anyone who is seeking representation in a divorce matter at a reasonable cost.

  4. "An Excellent Attorney"

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 6-12 months ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jackie Harounian is by far the" BEST ATTORNEY " I have ever met. Her Style, Her Class, Her Knowledge and Understanding of the Law, as well as Her Compassion for her clients is the "Elite" in the industry.
    Going through a divorce is tough enough, having children in a divorce is really tough, but having a child
    with "Special Needs" and going through a divorce is beyond words. Unfortunately my previous attorney
    in my divorce, did not handle or represent my child and I in a way that would secure what we were entitled to by law. Once my divorce was finalized and my ex-husband did not comply with any and all of the Court Orders that were put into place, I knew I was left with no choice but to find an "Excellent Attorney" to correct the situation and properly represent me. Jackie, along with Lisa Gardner Associate Attorney and Jessica Fitzpatrick Paralegal have taken the time and all measures to ensure that any and all legal issues that were incorrectly handled in the past, were now being addressed with the court.
    They have answered every question one could possibly ask with regards to my case. Jackie and her team have returned every phone call, every email and every fax that I have sent to each of them, and believe me, there were many! The first time Jackie and I appeared in court there was a major snow storm on its way. I called and asked Jackie if we were canceling, Jackie said "Are you kidding? Court is open, we are going in!" Well not only did we go into Court and wait for what seemed like forever, the "Snow Storm" started and we were not called into the Court Room until the end of the day...Yes Jackie Harounian and I were the very last Attorney/Client to leave the building...it took several hours to return home in the storm due to weather conditions, but Jackie didnt care. She made sure that everything we needed to do that day in Court was taken care of. I must mention that Lisa Gardner, Jackie's Associate Attorney along with Jessica Fitzpatrick , Jackie's Paralegal are the "Most Loyal and Dedicated Associate Attorney/Paralegal " I have met, not to mention have ever heard of. They know every detail of your case, and when they tell you they were check and advise you, they mean it! I "HIGHLY' recommend Jackie Harounian and her Associates to represent you, especially in such situations where your divorce can be very complicated.

  5. A Blessing !

    Posted by Susan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 1-3 years ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    The day I walked into Jackie's office to seek help ending my 32 year marriage on behalf of my own happiness and serenity was nothing short of a divine connection that would send many blessings into my world then as well as now. Jackie's mixture of legal brilliance and spiritual gentleness on behalf of her clients helps the difficult journey of loss become transformed into hope. She helps her clients re-map their future with gratitude, direction and purpose to embrace sound decisions and fair negotiations which eliminate unnecessary pain and expense. The entire staff supporting her offered
    a "nurturing energy" making the moments so much more comfortable as one makes their way through the emotional haze of changing the dynamics of the life they are leaving behind.
    With full heart I am so very grateful for Jackie's protection and direction...."winning" for me an amazing
    outcome both financially as well as personally which enabled me to see and set the critical priorities
    necessary for a life joyfully lived after divorce.

  6. All issues addressed in consultation achieved..!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 1-3 years ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    The decision to retain Jacqueline Harounian Esq. from Wisselman, Harounian, & Associates,was the turning point in closing the sad and stressful chapter in my life called divorce. Two divorce actions within the same marriage, two years apart from each other, took its toll. I have no doubt that it was Jackie's constant support, and belief in me, that got me a fair and satisfied end result.
    There was a hearing that involved 3 days of painful testimony regaring custody and visitation.. Jackie;s demeanor may appear reserved, and as if she is not at all aquainted with the minor details of your story. DO NOT BE FOOLED. She is very persistent and aggressive in her quiet manner, that obviously rattles opposing counsel and their client. Needless to say, the hearing outcome was to my liking, and my story came across in the courtroom accurately, garnered me sympathy from all present. ...
    Everything I wanted, and felt I deserved, that we discussed in my consultation, was achieved. Throughout the case Jackie reassured me, and fought at every hearing for what I wanted as my end result. You will not find a more compassionate, kind, knowledgeable, and persistent divorce attorney on Long Island. She is truly good at what she does......
    In the end Jackie negotiated a settlement before trial, for me that was more than I was hoping for in my heart. I am very pleased, and would recommend her to anyone who is at the point where they feel "all is lost and I give up"......, with regards to divorce. She will get you back on the right track, and fight for whatever it is, that is important to you. On a side note, she never tries to talk you out of what you feel in your heart is important to you. She fights for what you want, but very skillfully instills in you, what the law represents, and kindly advises you how and why, you may or may not be better off fighting some battles, and surrendering others...
    Finally, Jackie's support staff in her practice, were all very kind, knowledgeable, and were always there like a family, talking you through and down the ledge at times..:). Because of the tremendous amounts of stress divorce causes, I was not always the model client...:):) Sorry everyone.:)
    Jackie, thank you so much for all that you have been to me, and for the fantastic attorney and human being you are. Sometimes attorneys focus a lot more on the money owed to them, rather than negotiating a fair settlement, and reassuring their sad and distraught client. ......YOU are not one of those attorneys. In the end, you felt more like my sister, than my attorney, and my daughter and I love you for that.....
    You will always be remembered and appreciated.......

    "Satisfied Mom of a 3 year old, going on 30"



    satisfied result.

  7. Excellent, Empathetic and Fair...Will Do What's Best for Your Child

    Posted by Philip, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 1-3 years ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Child Custody matter.

    I hired Jackie Harounian after reading an article she wrote for the Huffington Post dealing with father's rights. I initially called her office late on a Friday night in what I would best describe as a panic after being served with a divorce summons with a laundry list of 23 demands, including full custody of my 14-month-old daughter. I was the primary caretaker for my daughter, staying home to take care of her five days and nights a week. So the prospect of losing custody terrified me.

    To my surprise, Jackie called me back personally that night and calmed me down by explaining the law and walking me through the steps I would need to take to ensure I retained joint custody of my daughter.

    Throughout the entire process, there were ups and downs brought about by the changing relationship between my spouse and me. There were times when I felt sad or panicky or wavered on the direction I wanted things to go. And Jackie was great about keeping things focused on what was in the best interest of my daughter. She negotiated a very fair settlement with opposing counsel that focused on providing what was best for my child. And I guess that's what I really loved the most about Jackie. She was very honest about the law and the things that I would be entitled to but she was also very sympathetic to the child's best interests. That's something that other attorneys out there sometimes lose sight of.

    If you are looking for someone to destroy your partner in your divorce, Jackie is probably not the right lawyer for you. I have no doubt that she could do that if she wanted to, but she is more about creating a fair outcome for her client and his/her kids and positioning clients to move forward with their lives after the divorce. She did that for me. Despite having oscillating feelings towards my child's mother during the process, I feel that the way my case was handled by Jackie (with particular focus on the best interest of my child and fairness for me as her client) has allowed my ex-spouse and me to be better post-divorce co-parents.

    I thought Jackie's fees were more than fair and in line with the expectations I had at the start of the process. Everyone I dealt with in the firm was beyond respectful and empathetic, from the front desk to the paralegals, to Jackie herself.

    If you are looking for a caring, strong attorney to help you through your divorce and to help you maintain a strong presence in your kid's life (while also creating a fair outcome for yourself) I highly recommend Jackie and her firm.

  8. Great Lawyer and an excellent person!

    Posted by Antonio, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 1-3 years ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Jackie does a fantastic job. She helped me through my divorce and made it very painless at a time like that. She is honest and caring also. Her staff is great also. I would highly recommend using her for all your needs.

  9. Custody battle won

    Posted by Syeda Ahmed, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 1-3 years ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Seeking legal counsel from Ms. Harounian was literally a turning point in my life. Through her compassionate and specific advice, I got back almost everything that I was about to lose- my children and my self respect. Ms. Harounian is an expert in her field, who despite her demanding and hectic schedule, manages to answer emails and take calls, from humblest of clients. As people, we may fail to get justice from one another, and go to Family Court to fight endlessly in civil litigation. And in our plight to punish the people who wronged us, we eventually also punish ourselves each day by being reminded of the past and carrying it into the present. We forget what really matters as we fail to see the future that we would rather work towards creating for ourselves. Ms. Harounian's neutral and honest legal counsel made me realize that settling a miserable custody battle can be a healthier life choice in light of the whole family's benefit. We cannot undo mistakes we were partly responsible for, but with the right advice, we can prioritize what is important and focus on what we should move forward with. Ms. Harounian taught me all of this. I wish Ms. Harounian and her firm only greater prosperity and success, and I personally wish her continued love, wisdom, and progress. She is a leader I look up to with admiration. In these modern days, there is a name and classification for everything. All I can say is my family and I are grateful to this lady who showed us the way. Ms. Harounian's representation of me cannot be quantified by her retainer, she is far more superior and I would say that the peace she instilled into my life is priceless. I am confident that there are many clients who feel exactly the same way as I do, and i want to end by saying "I love you Jackie. Thank you for helping me get my kids back".

  10. Best lawyer and highly recommended

    Posted by Marissa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jacqueline Harounian.
    • I hired Jacqueline 1-3 years ago.
    • Jacqueline handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I cannot say enough good things about my divorce lawyer, Jackie Harounian. I got everything that was important to me in my case, and I only compromised on issues after getting a full explanation from Jackie. My divorce is now over, and I survived, as did my children. My ex and I are actually on better terms. I am so glad I listened to Jackie's advice. Thank you, thank you, thank you.