Matthew J. Blit’s Reviews

Matthew J. Blit

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I felt safe and taken care of

    Posted by Sujeilee,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Blit.

    Matt J. Blit represents to me the meaning of loyalty and trust. He listened when no one else would, he had no judgement. He is patient and a great listener, always got back to me. I came to Matt after my case was presented to him, I had been sexually harassed and really had no idea or clue what to do in my situation. I went to a lawyer and they said that I had no case. Then i talked to a very good friend and she spoke to someone and next thing you knew Mr. Blit called me and asked if I could come in to talk about my case.
    He was very welcoming and understanding from the beginning and made me feel comfortable talking about what had happened to me. I was a nervous mess and scared and he just took me in. Always keeping me in the loop and up to speed.He took my case on pro bono, and I was in shock and grateful. Fast forward to a few months later... He won our case and always made sure that he was clear with what all the documents meant and what all the terms meant.
    I will always be grateful to him and how he took care of my feelings and my fears.
    No one deserves this more. I will forever be grateful to him.

  2. My "go to" lawyer

    Posted by Susan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Blit.

    I need Matthew for a personal injury lawsuit back in 2009. He really made me feel comfortable and was in touch with me throughout my entire settlement. I used him a second time in 2012. He is my "go to" lawyer for needs. He's also a great person!

  3. Amazing Representation - Excellent Attorney, Truly Cares and Gets Results!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Blit.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

    I have never written any type of review before but felt compelled to after being represented by Matthew Blit. I was in a very bad place at my job, my supervisor thought that it was perfectly ok to strip me of any respect or dignity. I was incredibly anxious, not eating, not sleeping and dreading waking up each morning to go to work. I was referred to Matthew Blit by a friend who was a former client of his. I actually read about a case in which he won a huge verdict against a company and figured it couldn't hurt to meet with him. After meeting with Matt everything changed. My friend was right, he was a miracle worker. Matt stood up for me and terrified my employer (along with opposing counsel!) and they finally took the action I had begged them to take for months. Matt turned my whole life around and wound up getting me a very nice settlement. Most importantly he got me my dignity back and I feel compensated and whole for all of the reprehensible behavior and workplace treatment i had been forced to tolerate for over a year. From the bottom of my heart, THANKS Matt!

  4. A Terrible Experience

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Matthew Blit.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    I had a very bad experience with this attorney. He represented me in an employment case and did an extremely poor job. He was rude, disrespectful, and untruthful. He cannot be counted on and I strongly recommend that you find somebody else.

  5. Outstanding Reresentation From Start To Finish

    Posted by Joanna, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Blit.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Discrimination matter.

    I sought for advice on employee rights when I had a situation with a high-profile former employer. After some research, I consulted with several skilled attorneys from reputable firms --all four attorneys offered legal representation after carefully evaluating my case. I chose Matt not only because of his outstanding reputation and experience in handling cases against high-profile celebrities, but also because he understood the true meaning of “ human dignity” (and prioritized that over money). He is a staunch advocate for employee rights/workplace fairness and patiently answered my questions, explained the process in simple terms and kept me informed every step of the way. There were no surprises. Professional, efficient, trustworthy, brilliant, calm, cool and collected. I wholeheartedly recommend Matt to anyone that needs legal help relating to employment rights.

  6. Best Law Firm in NYC !

    Posted by Tammy, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Blit.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    We were greatly pleased with the work Matt Blit and his amazing staff did for us. They went way above and beyond what any lawyer has ever done for us..Answering our phone calls whenever we had concerns..always keeping us on top of the situation...and always with such a great attitude..We had to deal with some very nasty people in our case and Matt made everything go so smoothly!! We highly recommend Levine & Blit for exceptional service and always being there for us...We will definitely use them again if need arises. Thanks for all your hard work!!!

  7. Avoid this ethically challenged attorney at all cost

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Matthew Blit.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Hired this lawyer specifically so the SOL on my multiple claims wouldn't expire and he let them expire. Prior to that our communication was adversarial, he was hostile, he lied about doing work he said he did, instructed his associate to lie to me as well and all in all a horrible experience. I am currently in the process of suing him for malpractice and this matter has been sent to the Grievance Committee for Review. I think unless you're desperate for representation, you should steer clear of him.

    1. Matthew J. Blit

      Matthew J. Blit

      Lawyer Comment:

      Obviously, this review is very upsetting to me. However, it is completely fabricated but AVVO's policy prevents them from removing it. I invite you to check with the Grievance Committee and see for yourself that there is nothing pending against me and that there are charges of misconduct against me. Additionally, there are no mal practice actions against me either. That you can also check with any court or google search of my name. I hope you research the true facts and ignore this person's false statements.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  8. The Best of the Best

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Blit.

    My ex-employer was a large nationwide company and I always thought they had the best lawyers that money can buy until I met Matthew Blit. My first lawyer before Levine & Blit gave up, he could not handle the case. I did not want to let my boss get away with what she did to me, so my old lawyer referred me to who he thought was the best, Matthew Blit at Levine & Blit. Matt was the best! He knew every move their lawyer would make, he discussed it with me ahead of time and blew my old company away at depositions! My old boss got so mad at the deposition after Matt tripped her up on the documents and numbers she stormed out and cursed at him. I always warned her about Karma! Needless to say we settled and I am ecstatic. I love Matt!

  9. Best representation I could have had!

    Posted by a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Blit.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had the great opportunity to be represented by Mr. Matthew Blit for my hostile work environment, harassment and sexual orientation discrimination case. Mr. Blit was both professional and caring while dealing with the case. I always felt respected and listened to, and that I was an active member of the team. I could not have had better representation.

    I highly recommend Mr. Blit to anybody who desires an effective legal team.

  10. His solution was right on target.

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Blit.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recommend Matthew Blit without reservation. He is an excellent lawyer. He is trustworthy, has a strong legal mind and is a great strategic thinker. He explains every step of the process to give you a good understanding of what is going on. I had an employment problem. I spoke with three lawyers who all said they couldn't help until I got fired. Blit said he could help me pinpoint the problem and address it head on with an appropriate solution. His solution was right on target. Happy to say I still have my job and the discriminatory actions seem to have subsided. He is the first person I will call, if I have a problem in the future.