Steven Warren Smollens’s Reviews

Steven Warren Smollens

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Lawyer - fast great responses

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Smollens.

    This Lawyer is great, he answers questions so fast and is very helpful.

    Thanks Mr Smollens!

  2. I received valuable information and good advice

    Posted by Manny, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Steven Smollens.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

    I had a minor question regarding estate of my late mother and received good advice and even call.
    We had conversation and in my opinion Mr. Smolens knows the subject. Thank you.
    Regarding your questions?
    I never hire this lawer, But that option is not available

  3. TALKED MORE ABOUT MONEY

    Posted by David,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Smollens.

    ALL ABOUT MONEY

    Absolutely ridiculous. I called this lawyer today to discuss my case and to determine whether I would hire him. This lawyer did not even know what the facts of my case were before he started dishing out large dollar amounts. Then he foolishly used the word "toxic case" which contradicted two (2) court orders from Judge H and Judge S on my case that proves my case was NOT toxic. In fact, Judge S sided with us in our argument that the IMD tenant's facts did not establish "actual living purposes".

    1. Steven Warren Smollens

      Steven Smollens

      Lawyer Comment:

      I declined to become involved in a Loft Law claimed non primary residency holdover proceeding two years after the case began and take over for a lawyer representing you who also represented the prior owner just as the proceeding is lingering in discovery. A tenant may have a credible explanation for being in the premises on a daily basis from morning until evening and not sleeping over in an IMD building that has not gained a residential certificate of occupancy. I explained to you my estimate of time for getting up to speed, for concluding discovery, for trial readiness and for trial, as you advised the tenant was dug in and would not even consider a surrender of tenancy rights in exchange for a financial settlement. I honestly informed you what I estimated your costs through each stage. You disputed my expert opinion. An attorney may determine a client cannot afford to become involved with a new attorney so far into a lawsuit. I am sorry you feel I owed you representation, but I am sure based on your negative comments that you do not appreciate the time and skill and expense of an expert attorney and rather than move on and consult another lawyer you went after me, even though we never were engaged as an attorney and client.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

    2. Jack Richard Lebowitz

      Jack Lebowitz

      Lawyer Comment:

      I flagged this "review" because I believed it violates community guidelines. The commenter was clearly NOT a client, he was just a prospective client shopping for an attorney. Mr. Smollens, is an excellent attorney I have endorsed because of the extensive high quality FREE advice he has offered to askers on Avvo.com in his area of expertise. This is no different than askers on this site leaving "snarky" reviews because they don't like the free answers they get.

      Mr. Smollens undoubtedly did not charge "David" for a consultation where David heard that it would cost more than he thought and have less of a chance then he thought to accomplish his goals. His remedy, if he has one, is to find another lawyer willing to take his case for less money, or suck it up, not to leave "reviews" on this site. By the way, attorneys are ethically obligated to discuss the costs of representation. Almost no attorneys work for free, it's their business or profession, so this fellow getting bent out of shape about the costs is out of line. I've flagged this "review" and am also bringing to the attention of Avvo moderators who should remove it.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

    3. Olga Someras

      Olga Someras

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have also flagged this review. Mr. Smollens should not be punished for giving an opinion regarding the merits of the case or an estimate as to how much it will cost, simply because he disagreed with the potential client. Mr. Smollens is a highly knowledgable attorney, especially in the field of landlord tenant law, so if Mr. Smollens told me, during a free consultation mind you, that my case was not very strong, I would be thanking him for his opinion, not going after him and retaliating against him.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  4. extremely helpful

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Smollens.

    mr smollens really answered all my questions completely. he was thorough and very helpful. he relieved much of the stress in a tenuous landlord/tenant situation. he took the time to point out specifics, and didn't just skim the problem in the least.
    highly recommended *****

  5. Savvy attorney

    Posted by G,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Smollens.

    I found myself in tangled a very serious legal matter. I explained my problem on the site and got an immediate response from Mr. Smollens. He gave me clear and sound advice on the situation and the importance of seeking counsel right away. I am grateful and fortunate that Mr. Smollens took the time to give me sound advice and direction on the matter.

  6. Kind man.

    Posted by Mary, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Smollens.
    • Steven handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I haven't met Mr. smollens in person. I called Mr. Smollens many times and was so grateful yo have gotten through to him. He made me feel at ease with a very hard situation I have been put through. I haven't hired him because I am waiting for him to come back from vacation. He was very kind to me. At these moments that's what I needed after encountering horrible people in my home. I would recommend him based on our short conversations.

  7. Not recomending Steven Smollens.

    Posted by N/A, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Steven Smollens.
    • Steven handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I spoke to Steven Smollens and sent him some document to review.
    He tried to convince me to hire him by answering many questions on Avvo.
    I am not going to hire him at all and not recommending him.He is very expensive and first the money should be consider then the case. When I said I cannot efford so much money to pay ,He ask if I can ask some one to borough the money to me. I am talking about thousands of Dollars just for eviction case.

    1. Steven Warren Smollens

      Steven Smollens

      Lawyer Comment:

      From Steven Smollens:

      I do not know who you are. I answer anonymous questions on AVVO. I do not solicit documents from strangers. But as with any attorney, although I cannot say this happened to you, because I am not familiar with you or your complaint, a potential client may be rejected if the attorney recognized that the potential client cannot pay the fees expected. Landlord and tenant cases are costly in New York. If you bother to check out one of the leading cases on fees in Housing Court matters, you will see that a judge believes fees of $450/hour and greater are considered reasonable. If you were turned down before engaging an attorney, then the ability to pay fees is a consideration.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  8. Great and Knowledgeable Lawyer!

    Posted by Thomas, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Smollens.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Wow, Steven is a great lawyer! He want above and beyond to help me with my landlord/tenant matter. He answered my questions thoroughly and is extremely knowledgeable and diligent.

    I would recommend him to anyone.

  9. One in a Million Attorney who cares for his clients

    Posted by Sheila, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Smollens.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would add "ditto" to every positive review on this site. Steve Smollens represented me in a tenant/landlord matter in NYC. He negotiated a remarkable settlement for me. I could not have gotten to first base with this case without him. His expertise was obvious from the first phone call to him. It was also immediately apparent that he was on my side and didn't hesitate to evaluate my situation and explain it to me so that I understood it. He is the most "real" attorney I have ever dealt with. A straight shooter, knows his field expertly and put my worries to rest. I would highly recommend him. I appreciated his honesty, integrity and experience and know he would do the same for you.

  10. Talented Lawyer, and a kind indidual!

    Posted by Sasha, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Smollens.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This is the second time Mr. Smollens has assisted me with my rental apartment. I am just so in awe of a consummate professional who donates his time so kindly. I am in the unenviable position of being a low income tenant which lacks the funding to hire an attorney. Mr.Smollens is fast to respond to my questions, in a clear, concise and non -judgemental manner. His advice to me just could have saved me my home.