Michael J Cicala’s Reviews

Michael J Cicala

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Smooth real estate purchase

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Cicala.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Cicala handled a real estate transaction for me and my wife. It was a difficult process with getting the mortgage and finalizing the documents, but he made it much easier. Great service.

  2. extremely inteligent regarding his practice and the law

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cicala.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Mike several years ago for my divorce case and I can't praise his work enough, he was very understanding of my situation in life and put things into perspective for me, as I clearly was not in the right state of mind at the time to think logically on my own. Not only did he help me financially, but he also helped me put on my man boots and understand my life situation. He is extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of his work and predicted word for word what my ex-wife's attorney was going to say in court. In my opinion his experience made this process a lot smother than if I was to hire someone else. Thank you for your kindness Michael Cicala!!!

  3. Multiple Closings and Traffic Ticket

    Posted by Michele, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Cicala.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My husband and I have used Michael for multiple house closings. The latest sale of our permanent home for a vacation home was handled smoothly without causing any of the usual stress associated with selling and purchasing homes. Michael even drove to South Jersey for the close without adding any additional billing. Prior to the real estate close he successfully represented me for a traffic ticket. I was cleared of all violations. Michael has also offered countless phone consultations which to me have demonstrated he has a vast legal knowledge base. I have referred Michael to friends for estate planning, guardianship issues and real estate law issues.

  4. Professional Real Estate Closing

    Posted by Alexis, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Cicala.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael Cicala represented me on a real estate closing for my first house. Michael and his knowledgeable office manager/legal assistant guided me through the entire process answering all of my countless questions. His knowledge and professionalism was evident when he was working with the real estate agent and responding to her pressure due to the complex process in obtaining a mortgage.
    I returned to use Michael's services to obtain a will and have recommended him to friends and family.

  5. Made a difficult situation much easier

    Posted by Ronald, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Cicala.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired this lawyer to handle a divorce after consulting with some other attorneys. He knew what he was talking about and wasn't looking to run up my bill by fighting over stuff that wasn't important but still protected my interests. He made the divorce process easier for me and got me out of a bad situation. He was quick to respond to my phone calls even when he was out of his office regardless of what time I called. We had a good working relationship.

  6. Has difficulty in communicating with his clients

    Posted by Bob, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Cicala.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I siigned his retention letter 02/20/08 for a small claims against a car rental company., We appearred in court in March 08, asked for postponement for outside settlement, repeated calls and faxes have been ignored, too busy with other cases was the reply I recieved in 12/10 today is 04/02/11 still no reponse,called Morris County Courthouse to find out that a Judge dismmised the case on 06/030/2008 with no further info. Still awaiting his reponseR

    1. Michael J Cicala

      Michael J Cicala

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client had unreasonable expectations from the beginning of his litigation, which I attempted to explain to him numerous times during our attorney-client relationship. I filed all the required pleadings on his behalf and obtained a judgment in his favor. At that time, he decided he no longer needed my services in an attempt to avoid the contingent fee which would have been due based on my services. Under his own direction, the judgment was vacated and he failed to appear in court to answer the trial call. His matter was dismissed after he proceeded pro se. I believe this review demonstrates his full inability to understand his own litigation regardless of how many times it was explained to him.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag