Travis J Tormey’s Reviews

Travis J Tormey

Average Rating

Based on 41 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Responsive and knowledgeable.

    Posted by JoAnn, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Tormey knows law. What worked with my family was that he was responsive. When I needed to speak with him (asap) he was there. This included weekends and adhoc times during the work week. I will highly recommend him to anyone.

  2. The Tormey law firm was very kind and professional

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When my son was arrested for distribution of marijuana and MDMA, our world was a nightmare and we were scared. When we met Travis he reassured us that my son would be okay. When it came time for court we thought that our son was going to be on probation, or even worse, however, Travis was able to get my sons case dismissed. "Exactly what we wanted!" Thank you Travis for all your help. I also would like to thank Samantha she was very helpful. I would highly recommend the Tormey law firm they were excellent!

  3. Expungement

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired this law firm to handle something very sensitive. They did an exceptional job, Samantha was as good as it gets. The response time and follow up were unmatched.
    I will recommend The Tormey Law firm to anyone looking for an efficient and professional lawyer.

  4. Travis Tormey is a True Professional Who Kept Me Out of Jail

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • Travis handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    When my back was against the wall and all hope seemed lost, Travis Tormey did what was needed to keep me out of jail and help me avoid a criminal record.

    I was charged with stalking and harassment in New Jersey, with the very real possibility that I could be sent to jail. Travis Tormey handled my case from start to finish. He obtained crucial evidence, including phone records and police reports. He also kept me informed of major developments in my case so that I would be prepared for trial. Thankfully, when the time came for trial, Travis was able to convince the prosecutor to downgrade the criminal charges to a municipal ordinance, which is basically like a traffic ticket or a noise violation.

    I stayed out of jail and I maintained a clean record because of Travis Tormey.

  5. Unresponsive Lawyers.

    Posted by DP, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My spouse whom I was about to divorce charged me with simple assault. I initially did not get an attorney because I maintained my innocence of assaulting my wife. Looking back I felt as though the courts, and police were not all that interested in getting down to the truth of the matter when it comes down to "domestic violence" cases, as a result I had a Final restraining order against me from a New Jersey Court.
    Afterwards, I did retain an attorney with the Tormey Law Firm. I had the same experience as another Poster, Ray M. Paying cash up front, and then case was handed off to an "Associate Attorney". They took my case and money, heard nothing from them for 2 weeks. They were essentially waiting on this report from the courts with police reports and other details of my case.
    The lawyers essentially expected my wife to drop the charges, telling me to sit tight and wait. Well, as the court date draws near, wife shows no sign of wiling to drop charges, I continued to maintain my innocence, and even volunteered to take lie detector test in front of the courts. Unfortunately, according to the lawyer, Municipal courts do not do Lie Detector tests. On court date lawyer keeps making excuses of why prosecutor did not suggest alternative options to my wife, in the end my lawyer keeps telling me we don't have much of a case, and suggested I plead guilty and just pay the fine to avoid "Possible Jail" time.
    All the scrambling that I've done to put together evidence package to maintain my innocence was for naught.
    Another thing is during the 2 weeks this Law Firm sat on my case, I had an opportunity to repeal the Final Restraining Order, this option was never brought up, when I confronted the Associate Attorney about this, he got defensive.

    So basically, the client does all the scrambling, lawyer does as little as possible, and collects fees. Courts, lawyers and police all look at these cases as a job, they want to resolve cases as quickly as possible, collect the fines, fees, etc... Getting the truth is never their priority.

  6. Saved me a whole ton of problems

    Posted by Steven,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.

    Travis is a fantastic lawyer, I recommend him to anyone who is trying to beat a marijuana possession charge. On August 21st 2014, Mr Tormey was able to reduce my charges from marijuana possession and paraphernalia down to "loitering in a drug zone" which is only a misdemeanor, there was no probation or license suspension involved. I could not have asked for a better outcome.

  7. Travis Tormey Review

    Posted by Craig, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Travis on line. This was worrisome for me as you really dont know what type
    of professional you are going to get. Travis was helpful and had his colleague Will defend
    me. Will was superb. He was sharp and made a strong presentation. I would not hesitate
    to hire them again. I am extremely satisfied with their services.

  8. A nightmare case, with a happy ending.

    Posted by Jeff, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thank you Attorney Tormey (and firm) for your outstanding effort in resolving my case. I can wholeheartedly recommend his services to anyone needing strong legal representation.

    My case ended up being a "worst case" scenario. It truly was a nightmare, and caused me many sleepless nights and constant worry about the outcome. Fortunately it had a happy ending, thanks to the guidance and representation from Attorney Tormey. Here's why I am so pleased with his firm finally resolved my case:

    At the first hearing, the prosecutor said he would drop the charge based on input from the policeman... but the policeman could not be contacted, so they scheduled another hearing. This was the first disappointment. But Attorney Tormey gave me confidence that we could get this resolved smoothly, based on his experience. He had done this before, and I felt like I was in good hands.

    However I had moved to Germany! I wanted to return home to my family, and not spend thousands of dollars constantly flying back and forth. Attorney Tormey explained how he could represent me, even though we're six hours apart. It worked well because he provided prompt and clear communication about the status of my case, what had happened at each hearing, and what I needed to do for next steps.

    At the second hearing, the prosecutor agreed to dismiss changes if I took a class. So I did.

    At the third hearing (after I had completed the course) the prosecutor changed his mind!! This was highly unusual and I was crushed - I thought I was finished with this torture, and yet the clould continued hanging over my head. Attorney Tormey was great - he explained honestly that this was highly unusual, and that he shared my frustration. I really got the feeling that he cared, especially when I learned that he had consulted with other attorneys about this strange turn of events. He clearly made every effort to help me.

    Now I needed a good strategy to get this resolved. Attorney Tormey explained my options, and how much different courses of action would cost, and we developed a plan. Without going into further details, I can happily say that the approach worked, and at the next hearing the charges were dropped. He obviously executed the plan well, and in the end I never even had to appear in person (aside from that first hearing).

    There were a lot of ups & downs to get to this result, and I was constantly worried. But I always felt like I had the best chance for a good outcome with him - and the Tormey Law Firm came through. They led me through the process, were professional in their defense of my case, and I felt that the cost for such excellent service was very fair. Thanks again.

  9. Elite NJ Marijuana Attorney! 5 Stars!!

    Posted by Jon, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • Travis handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Second time in 18 months Travis has gotten me out of multiple marijuana charges with just court fines. No probation, no loss of license, just pay the fine. (Decent little fine tho hear in NJ). But by nj state law with all my charges was facing a potential 2 year loss of license, probation and even jail! I enjoy the occasional smoke so probation was something that was terrifying. That was no obstacle for Mr. Travis Tormey and his team as I left court with just a fine and no other punishment.

    Hiring Travis made my entire situation way less stressful. Travis is an excellent defense attorney and from my experiences with him shows very strong knowledge of constitutional rights, yet blends that with superb negotiating skills in court as well as tremendous charisma in front of the judge. Travis and his team do a great job of not only taking the stres out of the process but as well as getting you the best legal representation you could hope for. Also very nonjudgemental and didn't seem to think negatively of me as a person, not that it matters.

    If you are facing marijuana charges in nj I highly recommend Mr. Travis Tormey as an elite attorney. He will do a great job and most importantly does not make false promises but delivers the goods on game day.

    Excellent attorney, and the head of a tremendous team.. 5 stars.

  10. An Excellent lawyer!

    Posted by Alaji Ali,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Travis Tormey is trustworthy, patient, efficient and an overall excellent lawyer.
    He helped to get my tickets dismissed and saved me a ton of stress and setbacks.
    I would recommend him to anyone looking for a lawyer that will represent them with the highest level of Intelligence and efficiency.
    Thank You Travis!