Thomas J Major’s Reviews

Thomas J Major

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Landlord-Tenant case

    Posted by Lexy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Major.

    Thomas did exactly what I hired him to do on a tenant-landlord case. He was thorough, he kept me from getting fines and paying tones of money for relocation to the tenant, Even after the case, he followed the case to make sure everything was fine. I would highly suggest his services.

  2. Young but wise

    Posted by L,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Major.

    My first impression of Thomas was that he was easy-going and had a good sense of humor. I was concerned that he might be too young or not aggressive enough but this gentleman is very knowledgeable and when it came time to speak in front of the judge, his presentation was impressive. In fact, his demeanor was more aggressive than I imagined it would be, which made me feel as if I had a friend fighting in my corner not just some hired help. And, of course, he won.

    I highly recommend him.

  3. Highly Recommend Tom Major

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Major.
    • I hired Thomas 1-6 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Major is expert in the area of the law of landlord tenant. He is willing to assist tenants and assist them. He is honest, nice to work with and responsive. He met me exactly at the scheduled time. I highly recommend him to any tenant in need of accurate legal advice.

  4. Hire Tom. He is the best!

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Major.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have a very bad tenant to deal with. I should have listened to Tom by starting the case earlier. First of all, Tom is very patient to listen to the details of my case and promptly filed the case after we started. Although there are some occasions that are hard to follow up with him, yet bear in mind, this is the case for most other lawyers too.

    Secondly, you can put your trust on Tom. On the court date, I let him deal with my tenant completely and we were able to settle the case quickly. He also tried his best to protect me by adding some provisions that I can never think of by myself. So I would say it is worthy of the money to hire him than to handle everything by yourself.

    Thirdly, his charge is fairly reasonable compared to the efforts he put in. My tenant gave me a hard time even after the case was settled. Tom was always available to help me in the follow-up matters. It is very hard to find an attorney who works for clients, not for money, but Tom is definitely one of those.

    I am surprised that there are not many reviews for him. I had recommended him to a friend of mine and would highly recommend him to all other people.

  5. Landlord Tenant expert won me a settlement!

    Posted by Hang, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Thomas Major.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Major is very intelligible and although I wouldn't say he was the most responsive lawyer, he is fair in that he does get back to you in the knick of time. Things were not looking bright with my case brewing into 3 cases for the same situation. Things looked so out of control initially (this was not Mr. Major's fault but my oppoent's persistence) but he was able to consolidate all 3 cases and settle them all in one day at court. You may feel a bit of unease during the moments prior to him "really boiling down to your case" but ultimately, he gets the job done. Also, you have to take into consideration that I was a very small client and Mr. Major being human, he is probably expected to allocate most of his attention to his bigger clients. So maybe if you are a big enough client, he will score excellent on all 4 categories above. Still, I am ecstatic with the settlement that he has won me.

    Moreover, Mr. Major practices law not for the money but as an expression of his passion to help people. I was so ecstatic with the settlement he has won for me that I offered him some extra payment as a token of my appreciation. He knew the situation I was in and told me I needed the money more than himself. This is a very good man and lawyer.

  6. Tom is the best!

    Posted by Vaughn, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Major.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Tom is down to earth and honestly one of the coolest people I've ever met. I received free consultations from him, on and off for months when dealing with issues with a landlord before we even began talking about a payment, and even then, it was because I felt guilty about all the work he put into my husband and I's case for free; moreover, his price was reasonable. I do regret not listening to his originally suggestion that we move out of our house ASAP, I wanted to work a deal with my landlord, Tom worked with what I wanted and never said I told you so, he diligently is working to clean a mess I made (by not listening to him originally).I can tell you with 100% confidence that he is a good person, and he adamantly cares about people and seeing justice prevail. He can be a little difficult to reach, but that's because he's always working, and I never have to remind him about the details of our case, he's always on it! Even if we lose this case,I'd hire Tom to be our next lawyer, that's how much I trust in his potential and he really is one of the coolest people you'll ever meet, have 1 conversation with him and you'll see just that.

  7. Search no more!! Tom is your guy!!

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Major.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Can't say enough great things about Thomas. So thankful I took a chance to meet him after reading these positive reviews online. While he may be young, he's incredibly dedicated to his work, knowledgeable in landlord/tenant issues, diligent, professional, and responsive... Most of all, he is honest and really cares about his clients and his work. Recipe for great lawyer!

    As a landlord who often deals with difficult tenants, it's such a relief to finally have someone I can go to as it is not easy to find good lawyers who genuinely care! Wish more lawyers were like him!

  8. Tenant gone wild?...Better call Tom...

    Posted by Jeffrey, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Major.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Thomas has handled my landlord/tenant disputes for me on several occasions now. I have some difficult tenants at times and Thomas has resolved all matters in a prompt manner and ALL to a successful outcome. He responses to my questions i may have via emails or personal calls promptly. Communication is very good and I am copied on all correspondences via the "Internet Cloud network" , which is really convenient for me. I highly recommend this young attorney as he is smart, professional and willing to work hard for you.

  9. Tom Major, Apartment Hero

    Posted by Tara, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Major.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Tom Major transformed my apartment from a place I put up with to a place I love in two weeks.

    I live in a pre-war building in New York and have a skylight that was leaking for four months. I tried everything - and I am a lawyer - but on my own I couldn't get the landlord to do anything. In August there was a horrible storm and it poured down into my apartment - that's when I called Tom and asked for his help.

    Within one week, the building sent a contractor to replace the wall and apply several coats of new drywall and paint. It is perfect. Other people in my building have the same problem and they still have leaks!

    Even better, after Tom worked his magic to get my wall fixed, when I had a problem with my shower a few days later, I made one written request and within 2 days all the fixtures in my shower were replaced.

    He is the greatest. He is smart and understanding and uses his innate powers of persuasion and reason to work everything out quickly and efficiently.

  10. THOMAS J. MAJOR, yes he can and will!

    Posted by Bella, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Major.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thomas helped me get unruly/loud tenants OUT. Few, back-n-forth discussions on day of court, tenants agreed to all my/our terms. Even the Honorable Judge stated, "Ms. Bustamante, you have a good attorney, case dismissed".
    ********I highly recommend Thomas J. Major, Esq. *************

201-474-0470