Matthew Thomas Marin’s Reviews

Matthew Thomas Marin

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A very helpful lawyer!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Professional and courteous, Matthew Marin demonstrates ability to handle all aspects of a criminal case, and I was able to continue my day-to-day routines in between court dates as he handled the process start to finish.

    Even after he was able to get my case dismissed, he even went the extra mile, and filed a motion to have the record expunged (with success!)

    Helpful and flexible, Matthew Marin can certainly get the job done.

  2. Couldn't Have Asked For A Better Lawyer!!! Absolutely Amazing!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was arrested in the state RI for the possession of prescription drugs and marijuana in December of 2012. It was my first time EVER having a run in with the law, let alone being arrested by RI police. I was extremely frightened and confused on what I was to do next!! I was charged with possession of prescription drugs (Adderall, Klonopin, Gabapentin, Suboxone) and two quarter ounce bags of Marijuana. I had to contact the RI Probation department every week according to my bail, letting them know that I was staying out of trouble and that I was going to drug counseling. I was Born and raised in Massachusetts, so I wasn't familiar with the laws in RI or how strict they were with drug charges. I later found out that I was being charged with 7 felonies in the state of RI and I was in desperate need of an attorney. I called around RI for lawyers who had dealt with cases like mine and I found a few I was interested in. I met one lawyer who I really didn't click with at all. I wasn't happy with the way he presented anything to me. I called Matthews office and spoke to him briefly when he told me to set up an appointment to meet and talk about my options. From the moment I met him I knew I was in good hands. He listened to what I had to say, asked me all the right questions and told me what my best options were. Six months after I was arrested, Matt suggested I try and get into RI Attorney Generals Diversion Program. It was a 6 month program that "enabled qualifying offenders to accept responsibility and be held accountable for their actions while avoiding the stigma of a criminal record. The program offers the opportunity for the offender to earn the dismissal of criminal charges by participating in drug treatment and mental health programs, providing community service at nonprofit agencies and paying restitution to the victims of these crimes". He presented my case to the AG's office and I was accepted into the program. Thankfully 6 months later, I was contacted by Matthew and was told that I had completed the Diversion Program successfully and that my record would be sealed. Matthew did an excellent job in helping me through this very scary and troubling time. He is a man of his word and will fight for you if you're willing to fight for yourself! If you are in a bad situation and are in need of a good attorney, I would highly recommend Mr. Matthew Thomas Marin.

  3. Best lawyer

    Posted by Brian, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He was straight up a honest and got what I wanted done
    He was one of the best lawyers I ever worked with

  4. You can count on this lawyer to take care of his responsibility

    Posted by Jason W, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Matthew is a great lawyer, he explains in detail the possibilities and never seemed to hype anything up or make any claims that he couldn't back up, he got me out of a pretty big jam with just probation time and suspended sentence. very nice guy to work with and he is on top of his game. Although I hope I never have to need him again if by chance I need a lawyer he's my man first choice. I have had other paid lawyers in the past that told me a bunch of crap just to get my payments and when judgment day came their stories turned upside down. I highly recommend using Matthew.

  5. Professional and knowledgeable

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Matt made me feel comfortable and kept me informed throughout my case. I was charged with shoplifting and I spoke to a few lawyers before choosing Matt, and I am so glad I did! Matt was the only lawyer that took the time to explain what would happen and walked me though the legal process. Matt was able to make the whole thing go away. I had to pay a small fine and after one year my record is expunged. I couldn’t be happier with the outcome.

  6. Professional, trustworthy, knowledgeable.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Having never had the need of an attorney as well as never having been involved with the judicial system I didn't know what to expect. Attorney Marin made this frightening and confusing process less of the ordeal I suspect it would have become with a less competent attorney. Mr Marin was not only highly competent, but he took the time to answer all of my questions patiently and knowledgeably. Mr. Marin was available by phone and email and never failed to respond to my inquires in a timely manner. I don't believe the outcome would have been a positive one if I had not hired Attorney Marin.

  7. Highly recommend Matthew Marin

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I highly recommend Matthew Marin as a lawyer. He handled a vandalism/malicious injury to property case I recently had. After promptly meeting me after an initial phone call, he took the case over. After getting a no-contact order from the judge, Mr. Marin constantly kept me updated while being in contact with the victim. This case was expunged thanks to Mr. Marin's expertise and knowledge of how to handle such cases. As previously stated, I highly recommend Mr. Marin as a lawyer and consider him extremely competent and professional.

  8. Best lawyer in RI, period!

    Posted by Jay, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Marin got my life back for me. Expunged my criminal record and put me back on the board for meaningful employment. For ten years i had a masters degree that i couldnt even use. Now that my record is clean, the world is ripe for the taking. All thanks to Matt Marin. Could not possibly give a higher praise!

  9. A great, knowledgeable, and personable lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I first reached out to Matt on a Sunday after an incident. Matt was quick to get back to me and got the ball rolling almost immediately. Throughout the entire experience I always felt as though I was in good hands, Matt was responsive and went over in detail every aspect of my case. Matt took the time to answer my questions and made sure I understood my options from the beginning. It is often difficult to find a lawyer who will make you feel like a priority, but that is how Matt makes his clients feel. Matt is a true professional, you will not go wrong with him as your lawyer.

  10. Look no further for representation......Matthew Marin should be your #1 choice!!!

    Posted by Nick,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Marin.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Matt Marin handled my vandalism case. The charges were dismissed. I want to make sure that everyone knows just how awesome Matt Marin is, from the moment I walked in to consult with Matt he made me feel like I had the best representation I could find. He made me understand every step of the case. He kept my highly informed every step of the way and was ALWAYS available when I needed him! I would recommend Matt to anyone looking for an attorney. My overall rating was 5 stars out of 5 but there should be an even higher rating for this lawyer. I couldn't be happier with my choice to hire Mr. Marin.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

401-228-8271