Melinda J. Markvan’s Reviews

Melinda J. Markvan

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awesome

    Posted by JamieB, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melinda Markvan.
    • I hired Melinda 6-12 months ago.
    • Melinda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mindy was a great help during this tough process! I felt very comfortable from the beginning and it made talking about the issues a lot easier! I was informed throughout the process on what to expect and was a great help because I was lost and clueless at times. Over all I don't think i could of done it without her and I owe her a Huge Thank you

  2. Review for Melinda J. Markvan

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melinda Markvan.
    • I hired Melinda 1-3 years ago.
    • Melinda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Atty Markvan to represent someone in a divorce proceeding. She is very thorough and knowledgeable about the law and seeks to build consensus with the opposing counsel to reach an amicable settlement.

  3. Courteous and Professional

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melinda Markvan.
    • Melinda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Melinda is an extremely respectful and courteous person. She made the process calm and as painless as it could be. She worked quickly and was very knowledgeable about laws and regulations even as they were changing during my divorce proceedings. I would absolutely recommend her to anyone requiring a divorce lawyer.

  4. Extremely Competent and Sympathetic

    Posted by Chad, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melinda Markvan.
    • I hired Melinda 1-3 years ago.
    • Melinda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Melinda after consulting with several local divorce attorneys in my area. During the initial interaction/consult, I was very emotional, and she calmly listened to my case and was able to succinctly and clearly describe the process and outline my legal options in a way that no one else could. She was clearly knowledgeable, competent, and importantly to me, compassionate to my situation. I knew immediately she was the right lawyer for me.

    Majority of our interaction was via phone or email. She was always available and responded to my inquiries in a timely fashion. She drafted my separation agreement, and handled my non-contested divorce case with great attention to detail and kept me informed every step of the way.

    I recommend Melinda unreservedly. You will not be disappointed if you hire her.

  5. Mindy, A Lawyer You Can Trust

    Posted by Rick, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melinda Markvan.
    • I hired Melinda 1-3 years ago.
    • Melinda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am most grateful to have used Mindy as my lawyer in a difficult case involving a business, investment properties, child custody issues etc. Opposing council convinced my ex that she should get the moon, inciting what could have been a very amicable case into a year long struggle. The only way to get this settled was to win on the motions filed against me, including my ex having to pay her own legal fees. Mindy was incredibly well prepared, insightful, as well as verbally skillful. She then negotiated a very fair settlement that we both could live with.

    I had interviewed a number of 'high powered' attorneys that competed regularly against opposing council. They estimated my divorce costing between $90-$110k, 10% of my net worth. That wasn't acceptable. I am so grateful for finding Mindy, and got divorce for a small fraction of that cost. She outperformed her competition at every turn. I would highly recommend Mindy, and wish all lawyers we like her.

  6. Client Review For Attorney Melinda J. Markvan

    Posted by Jack, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melinda Markvan.
    • I hired Melinda 1-3 years ago.
    • Melinda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Other thank serious illness or death, divorce is one of the most traumatic things that can happen to a family. Through the yearlong process of briefs, court appearances and difficult back and forths, Mindy provided the calm guiding hand that was desperately needed.
    She was responsive when she needed to be on legal issues as well as responsive on personal issues. She blends the expertises of law and psychology to great effect. Last but not least, the outcome was one we had set as an objective and accomplished to the benefit of both parties.

  7. Very smart and capable.

    Posted by Ellen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melinda Markvan.
    • I hired Melinda 1-3 years ago.
    • Melinda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My son went through a difficult divorce, and Mindy made things work out. She is knowledgeable and easy to work with. She tries to solve problems rather than keep things going. She is good with human relationships, which is so important in times of stress, and she is capable of helping to resolve problems. She can work with both men and women, and is soft spoken and polite. She knows her business, answers you quickly, and keeps you informed.

  8. Great Divorce Counsel with a Personal Touch

    Posted by Justin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Melinda Markvan.
    • I hired Melinda 1-3 years ago.
    • Melinda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Melinda (Mindy) was recommended to me by a family member who has worked in a law-firm for over 30 years. From our first consultation, I felt very comfortable with Mindy and appreciated her personal interest and attention in my case. Compared with other attorneys I interviewed, she had a balance of knowledge, sympathy, honesty, and drive that I appreciated.

    Throughout my difficult and emotional divorce, Mindy kept me well informed (including me in all correspondence with courts and opposing attorneys), listened to and addressed all of my concerns and ideas, and worked diligently as a straight-forward case became complicated. Her dedication to working in my best interest in all aspects from her fees to my settlement goals was consistently apparent, even when she was forced to present me with news/information I was not happy to hear.

    My case lasted nine months and I was happy to have Mindy with me the entire way. I would gladly recommend her to anyone who finds themselves in the same delicate and complicated situation I encountered. Though she is still fairly young, she works hard for her clients and has the ability and resources to make clients comfortable in a difficult process.

  9. Strongly Recommended!

    Posted by Marc, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Melinda Markvan.
    • I hired Melinda more than 3 years ago.
    • Melinda handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Divorce is not an easy time. Knowing concerns will be competently addressed is not only reassuring, it's essential. With consummate professionalism Ms. Markvan assisted me through these proceedings. She was accessible and responsive by email and phone. On court day, her presence and legal acumen ensured my position was secure and well represented. Her proficient drive is coupled with personal warmth towards clients. I would strongly recommend her services to anyone faced with the challenges of legal breakup or arbitration.