Carolyn Elefant’s Reviews

Carolyn Elefant

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Fantastic

    Posted by Carolyn, a Environmental client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elefant.
    • I hired Carolyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Environmental / Natural Resources matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Carolyn Elefant has been an exceptional attorney for my New York community. Her extensive experience with FERC policy is well known among other prominent attorneys. Without a doubt the progress and successes my community has achieved is due to her hard work, commitment to our case, and expertise in NEPA Law and the FERC process. She keeps a constant open line of communication and answers any questions her clients may have promptly. She is extremely thorough and the reason my community has a fighting chance!

  2. Very knowledgeable, capable, hard working lawyer

    Posted by Deborah, a Energy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elefant.
    • I hired Carolyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Energy / Utilities matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Our case against the Millennium pipeline would, in my opinion, be lost or at best hanging on by a thread if we hadn't found Carolyn. We had retained a lawyer earlier who did very little except offer advice about what we should be doing early in the process. We were at a key point in our case, she jumped in, figured out what had to be done, worked long hours to put together a comprehensive document explaining all of the information/arguments we had raised, citing past decisions that clearly supported our position, and pointed out the procedural errors in FERC's handling of our case to that point. She's responded to every question we've asked, setting up a clear communication system, telling us exactly what she would like to do and why, or what she doesn't think is either worth our time or could backfire. She's never missed a deadline or not had time to get our feedback on anything that she does or submits - and often sends emails in the middle of the night so we have time to get back to her the next day. We now feel that we have a decent chance of winning against the tremendous odds any group faces when they try to stop a gas company from doing something. In my opinion, that is only because we were lucky enough to find her when we badly needed a lawyer who knew what to do and got going on it immediately.

  3. Knowledgeable and thorough legal counsel!

    Posted by michaelmojica, a Environmental client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elefant.
    • I hired Carolyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Environmental / Natural Resources matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a resident in Minisink, NY. A 12,260 hp compressor station was proposed to be sited on my road, which is zoned agricultural/residential. The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) has federal jurisdiction over the project. Our community sought expert counsel from a number of law firms and chose Carolyn Elefant.

    One, generally, does not need an environmental lawyer to get the Commission to mitigate a simple portion of a project. However, if the intent is to win or mitigate key portions of the project, then one needs a more than capable environmental attorney. One needs an able and knowledgeable environmental lawyer for difficult issues. Carolyn Elefant knows how FERC works from the inside because she is a former FERC attorney. Her expertise with the Natural Gas Act, NEPA, APA, and the Commission Policy Statement have been crucial in our fight. Additionally, her expertise with FOIA, Privileged, and CEII material regarding due process rights has also given us an edge in our docket.

    Carolyn has been very flexible with us in handling our particular situation and the various resident political and business backgrounds has been a challenge but yet she has kept us working as a cohesive team for a common goal. I've been up past 2AM working on responses to Environmental Assessment (EA) and other documents and she has been working on our main response document past 4AM. She does what is needed to get the job done! Recently, we needed Carolyn to file a comprehensive Motion for Stay on our behalf to FERC with only a few days notice; we needed to be nimble with a quick response. Carolyn's quick and thorough motion response shows her agility to respond to the given situation. Only a person, like Carolyn Elefant, with intimate knowledge and expertise on how to respond with appropriate legal cases that backup the key arguments can deliver when it matters most.

    Another reason we chose Carolyn was in anticipation of a challenge before the U.S. Court of Appeals. Our case is setting precedent at FERC. Due to Carolyn's legal responses our case has drawn a rare FERC 3-2 split decision. Whatever the outcome of our case in the next few weeks, I would whole-heartedly recommend Carolyn Elefant to anyone (and, in fact I have).

  4. Amazing Lawyer

    Posted by John, a Energy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elefant.
    • I hired Carolyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Energy / Utilities matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My name is John O. I reside in Minisink, New York. Last year our community became outraged at the proposal of a gas compressor station, by Millennium Pipeline, smack in the middle of our residential neighborhood. Upon hearing about this proposal members of our community came together to try and fight this project. After months of fighting and educating ourselves we knew it would be impossible for this small community of regular people to be able to take on this enriched gas company without the help of a lawyer who was knowledgable and has had proven expertise in this area. After researching lawyers we unanimously agreed upon the services of Carolyn Elefant as the only clear and obvious choice. Carolyn has helped put our community is a position where we stand a fighting chance of beating this gas company. We wouldn't have a chance without her and Im forever grateful for her service to our community. I highly recommend Carolyn Elefant as your choice for a lawyer as she will certainly increase your chances of success dramatically.

  5. A Client's Dream Attorney

    Posted by Karen, a Federal Regulation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elefant.
    • I hired Carolyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Federal Regulation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Carolyn Elefant has been a tireless advocate on behalf of our citizens group in certificate proceedings at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission in a compression station siting case. Not only is she extremely knowledgeable about the Natural Gas Act and the National Environmental Policy Act, she is a brilliant strategist, and a superb writer and speaker. Most importantly, she exhibits a passion for her work that I have rarely seen in my many dealings with attorneys. I am an attorney myself, and have been a client of several different attorneys over the course of my lifetime. In my opinion, Carolyn is the kind of lawyer that all lawyers should strive to be like. She truly is a client's dream attorney. She is trustworthy and ethical. She is responsive, returning phone calls and E-mails promptly. She takes the time to answer questions thoroughly, and keeps us informed of developments in the case. Moreover, she cares about obtaining justice for our group, and has shown her willingness to go the extra mile or two to aggressively represent our interests. If you need a FERC and/or NEPA attorney, you could not go wrong with Carolyn Elefant. I wholeheartedly recommend this outstanding attorney.

  6. Lynda Farrell, former client, Executive Director Pipeline Safety Coalition

    Posted by Lynda, a Energy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elefant.
    • I hired Carolyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Energy / Utilities matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Carolyn brings the expertise of having worked internally at FERC to the public realm aiding clients in a time and cost efficient means only achieved by experience. When I first met Carolyn I asked her why she left FERC and went into private practice. Her response has proven to be a characteristic of Carolyn that any client would benefit from; she replied, "I just got so tired of seeing people disenfranchised that I had to leave and use my experience and knowledge to help them." Carolyn took our case against Williams Transco in eminent domain with sensitivity, passion and success. She fended off eminent domain in a federal court. As the judge closed the proceedings, he acknowledged Ms Elefant in her defense of "The Brandywine 5"
    Carolyn continues to be a steadfast advocate for the people and a valued resource for Pipeline Safety Coalition (PSC). With the knowledge that is a fledgling nonprofit, she is willing to help whenever we need her expertise.

  7. Minisink Residents / Compressor Station

    Posted by Laurie, a Environmental client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elefant.
    • I hired Carolyn 1-3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Environmental / Natural Resources matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Carolyn Elefant has worked countless hours on behalf of our community. She has had outstanding communication with our group and has made an effort to learn about the details of the problem (big gas company putting a compressor station in the middle of a residential area). Her experience with FERC gives her insight and knowledge that has become invaluable to us. Although we don't yet know the outcome of our case, I can say with absolute confidence that if we lose, it will have nothing to do with any lack of talent or effort on her part. She has fought this project from every angle, all the while taking our comments and suggestions very seriously. We interviewed - and worked with - other attorneys earlier in the project and hiring Carolyn Elefant has made a world of difference in our cause.

  8. The Brandywine 5... Edward E. Kirkbride

    Posted by a Environmental client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elefant.
    • I hired Carolyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Environmental / Natural Resources matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Carolyn Elefant, Esq. was a courageous, principled and outstanding counsel in defense of us and our environment before a federal judge in federal court. She carefully prepared each of us with background and information so that we understood and could testify with confidence. She helped us as defendants in an Eminent Domaine case for the taking of our land to stand tall before the judge against "a nautural gas giant" to plead our rights and to obtain a fair hearing. At this moment we do not know how our case will resolve but I feel we could not have had a better operson and better lawyer represent us at the bar.

    Thank you, Carolyn Elefant, Esq.

    Edward E. Kirkbride,
    Architect & Planner

  9. Regulatory Advocate

    Posted by a Federal Regulation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carolyn Elefant.
    • I hired Carolyn more than 3 years ago.
    • Carolyn handled my Federal Regulation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have worked with attorneys of all types and find Ms. Elefant to be a tireless and brilliant intellect willing to go the extra mile to provide the best counsel to her clients. She combines experience, intelligence and desire in her advocacy on behalf of her clients, never settling for anything other than excellence.