Michael John Gainer’s Reviews

Michael John Gainer

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Smart, thorough, experienced

    Posted by N M, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael Gainer was very helpful and informative. He went above and beyond. I felt supported, understood and empowered after our first exchange. He has a lot of experience and seems very thorough. Be sure to read the details about him on this site and on others.

  2. Michael Gainer, the GREATEST Attorney out there!

    Posted by Delmar, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    I put myself in a tight situation, while going through a nasty divorce, thinking I could do it myself. I could not do it myself! Mike came in and did an outstanding job getting me out of the hole I had dug for myself. Lesson to be learned, don't do it yourself go to Mike! He then help me again a year or two later to adjust my parenting plan and modify my child support to reflect my down grade in employment. He did a great job by mediating with my "ex" and things went flawlessly! I would trust Mike with my life, he has definitely been a life saver, and I cannot thank him enough for being there for me in some very tight and serious situations. THANKS!

  3. Highly Recommended!

    Posted by James, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Prepared a prenup agreement for me which was very thorough and complete. Very knowledgable, and looked out for my interests. Simply outstanding!

  4. Mike Gainer, the "Anti-Poplawski" Solution

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    MIke Gainer is an attorney who seems more balanced and transparent than your typical family law attorney. Speaking with Mr. Gainer reminds me of speaking to friends or family members who were judges or attorney generals - his outlook and advice is deeply considered and designed to be useful and well taken.

    Mr. Gainer will not trick you into using his legal services as some attorneys can by tailoring their emotional responses while inferring unlikely outcomes. Mr. Gainer speaks truth from a well considered perspective of experience and hard-won legal knowledge.

    His dialogue is coupled with wisdom, kindness and compassion for your situation - and a straightforward bias free assessment of how the court may likely view your plea.

    I recommend Mike Gainer without reservation as a competent and accomplished legal tactician and man of letters.

    1. Michael John Gainer

      Michael Gainer

      Lawyer Comment:

      I really appreciate the kind words. However, I do not condone bashing other attorneys I work with. Ms. Poplawski is an ethical, aggressive advocate on behalf of her clients. Ultimately, she fights the fights her clients have hired to fight. It may make things very expensive, but she is doing what she was hired to do. There are a lot of different approaches to resolving family law issues. Unfortunately, clients do not get to pick the other side's attorney. :)

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  5. One of Spokane's best Lawyers/Mike has been a blessing to us.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike has given us a voice in court. He articulately, professionally, and accurately advocates for us in court and is supportive throughout our continual case. He listens to our concerns and offers professional guidance that has proved to be invaluable. We no longer feel like we are just “another case” we feel like he genuinely cares about what happens. We are dealing with an opposing party and representation that is significantly confrontational and resistant to attempts to mediate and resolve issues outside of court. Mike has dealt with this situation with the upmost of professional and ethical conduct at all times. Our confidence in Mike is high and only continues to grow with each issue that he tackles involving our case.

  6. helped me get the ball rolling

    Posted by Dana, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.

    Mr. Gainer responded quickly to my first phone call and gave some good advice and peace of mind regarding my child custody matters as a father.

  7. IF you are looking for a good attorney

    Posted by Richard, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Gainer has been my family law attorney for the past 5 years. Integrity and experience are his strong suits. I highly recommend him to anyone who is in need of legal representation.

  8. Michael Gainer

    Posted by Michelle, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have refered friends to Mike. I always felt like he was and still is there for me. He took an impossible situation and made it bearable. He explained why things were being done the way they were and took the time to make sure I was comfortable with the information I was given. Thank You Mike your an amazing lawyer.

  9. Divorce, Family Law Client

    Posted by Ryan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Michael helped me through the difficult and emotional time of my divorce. He is always upfront and absolutely trustworthy. I came to respect Michael early in the divorce process, as it became apparent to me that he has a ethical standard seldom encountered. I would reccomend highly for anyone needing a Family Law Lawyer.

  10. Great trustworthy and an affordable attorney!!!

    Posted by Shawna, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Gainer.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Gainer handled my case very nice and was a great attorney at an affordable price. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a great family law attorney. I got everything I went for and was very pleased!!