Michael Lee Dewitt’s Reviews

Michael Lee Dewitt

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. SOLID!!

    Posted by Lori, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was surprised to see all the other reviews here simply because I thought I was Mikes only client!

    It seems like he is always on the phone with me or answering a complex email of mine. Mike is knowledgeable, honest, fair and committed. I stayed in a seemingly hopeless situation in my life for many years because I thought there is no way anyone will be able to cut through this red tape. Just an hour after meeting Mike my years of fears turned into hope. I knew I found a lawyer that could do what needed to be done. My case is very complex and would challenge anyone. Mike is not derailed by this and has an astute ear to the details.

    He is strategic, thoughtful and skilled. Strategic in that he gives sincere thought to the details and knows when and how to execute. Thoughtful in that his attention is undivided when working on a given task. Skilled in that he is able to meet you wherever you are at and really connect. He has been a true solid rock for me.

    I am in the middle of my case but at least I sleep well at night knowing I have Mike on my team. He has my child’s best interest in mind and that is what I care about.

    Having a Lawyer like Mike is half of the battle won, the other half is up to you, trust your lawyer and the process and then rest.

  2. Wonderful and Compassionate Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am grateful for having found Michael Lee Dewitt to be my attorney for my Legal Separation, which includes issues of domestic violence. He put me at ease in our first meeting. I concur with what other clients have mentioned about his smile and his genuine caring attitude. I got the sense immediately that he “knows his stuff” and that I was in good hands. I had talked with a few other attorneys before him, and what strikes me most about Mike Dewitt is that he is compassionate. He listens attentively to my concerns and treats me like a person of value, not just someone whom he is doing business with. No cookie cutter approach! This is so important for me because I have been going through a very upsetting experience with my husband.

    Mike is helping me to navigate the complexities related to my case. I strongly feel he is there to assist and advise me for the best possible outcome. Mike is prompt about answering phone calls and emails, and, as others have mentioned, oftentimes answers after office hours, including weekends. He diligently keeps me informed about developments and my "next steps." He also appreciates that money can be an issue for clients. I am generally so emotional about my case that I oftentimes neglect to think about my financial situation. Many times, Mike has and continues to remind me of ways to cut or minimize costs, which I deeply appreciate. At the courthouse, Mike is a guiding light! He calms my nerves and gives me guidance when I need it most. Although he is my attorney, I also think of him as my friend. I highly recommend him!

  3. Thoughtful!

    Posted by Erin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I worked with Mike Dewitt on two occasions regarding a divorce/custody. I'll probably end up using him several more times throughout my child's life. He was great about explaining all my options and helping me choose the one that was right for me. I didn't take advantage of the option, but he does "unbundled" services for those that want guidance from an expert but choose to do the paperwork themselves. That saves people money and I always find that thoughtful!

  4. Third party custody

    Posted by Sarah, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I worked with Mike on a third party custody case recently. My case was headed for trial when he started on my case. Although we were trying to avoid trial, Mike thoroughly helped prepare for it. He wrote an excellent trial brief for us, and navigated the rest of the trial preparations. We were able to avoid trial at the last minute, and he helped finish the case. Mike was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and easy to work with. I would recommend him to anyone.

  5. Michael Dewitt was Worth Every Penny!

    Posted by Laura Lee, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    When I saw Michael Dewitt last week, I was reminded of just what a great attorney he was when I needed a good divorce attorney most. After 33 years of marriage, terrible illness, debt and the works, I was beaten down and broke. Michael helped me pick up all the important pieces and encouraged me to take the rest one day at a time. It has been 3 years now, and just the sight of him conjured up gratitude over his empathy, kindness, wisdom and time spent to do what I could not do alone. Michael partnered with me by listening closely, researching like cases and giving me options with good direction. I hope I never need another divorce attorney, but the good news is I found out he does so much more. In fact, his entire office at Taylor Law is a working machine for their clients. Michael was worth every penny!

  6. Very helpful!

    Posted by Ann,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently saw Michael for a legal matter and found him to be very informative, detailed and helpful. He was easy to get along with and my issue was resolved with his advice. I will definitely use him in the future. Thank you Michael.

  7. Third Party Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have been working with Mike since April 2012 with a third a 3rd party custody case. Mike is always "on the ball", quick to answer when I have an issue and I most of all appreciate that he is so well level headed and a great listener. He has great advise and is always 2 steps ahead of the game. My case is not yet final, but even is it does not turn out the way as I plan I will be so greatful that I have had Mike Dewitt on my side!!
    I would recommend Mike to anyone, He Rocks!!!

  8. Effective Lawyer & Nice Guy

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    In 2004, I had a domestic violence charge against me, child custody, child-support, property dispersal & a highly contentious dissolution. Mike defended me in criminal court, walked me through the dissolution process and was instrumental in getting me a reasonable settlement. Moreover, Mike was always honest with me (good news & bad) and he was always there to let me know what options I had. At this point I consider Michael L. DeWitt a friend and a great sounding board. Going through a dissolution is hard but Mike always answered my phone calls, and emails. It was nice to know that whatever the issue was that my attorney was going to get back to me.
    In 2007 Mike updated my Last Will & Testament. He emailed me the questionnaire, I filled it out, he asked a couple of extra questions and we were done. Very easy, fast and efficient.
    Last year to the beginning of this year, Mike helped me helped me with a paternity issue. He got me the information I needed. When I submitted it to him, he was quick to get it into court, and signed off by a judge. I got my name on his birth certificate and was able to take my place as my sons father (paperwork wise, I’m a good daddy).
    Three weeks ago, I met with Mike for a consult. He gave me options and direction on a different legal matter. Simply put, I trusted/trust him with the most important things in my life (my children) and he’s never been a disappointment. Oh, and this is off the subject, but he also makes a mean cup of coffee (Preferred Clients Only). Thanks for all the help Mr. DeWitt.

  9. Best attorney in Thurston County

    Posted by Barbara, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    God answered my prayers when I found Mike. I had an attorney prior to him who never returned my calls, didn't keep me informed, didn't give me advice. I had a very difficult case when Mike took over. I talked to multiply attorneys prior to Mike. They all told me it was going to be close to immpossible to get things reversed. When I spoke to Mike and told him my situation he gave me hope. He told me it was not over with yet. He was right. Although he doesn't garuntee he will win every case, he will work hard to do so. Not only did he give me hope but he got everything completely reversed for me. My case was a very difficult one. Mike is very trustworthy, ethical, knowledgeable, and friendly. Mike will stay in communication with you at all time. When you have a question or need an update he will answer you within 1 business day. He has been my attorney for almost 2 years and most of the time I can say that he has answered me within the same business day. Sometimes he even calls after business hours just to give me an answer. If he doesn't know the answer he doesn't pretend. He investigates and then lets you know. I would not trust anyone else with my family law case but Mike. His prices are reasonable and he is aware of how expensive things can get so he tries to do things the best way at the best cost. If you want an attorney that works for you then Mike is who you're looking for.

  10. An Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Pam, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Dewitt.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mike just handled an awkward situation for me. I am pleased with the outcome, and very happy with how he handled everything. This matter involved the court, and Mike knew the best way to reach the people that mattered. One thing I respected about him was that if he didn't have all the answers, he was not shy about asking people who did know.

    He's bright, and he's fast. If I asked a question, he got me an answer within a day. I live out-of-state, so communication was important to me. He was honest and straightforward with me about every phase of the process. Even thought I wanted the issue to "just go away," Mike never let me feel that could happen. He was totally honest with me.

    Mike has an engaging personality. He's upbeat, even when I was feeling discouraged. Some attorneys are grim to the point of being depressing. Not Mike. He always has a sunny smile for everyone. This is more important than you can imagine!

    He did his best to keep my expenses to the minimum, too.

    I would recommend Mike DeWitt to anyone with a Family Law matter.