James Henry MaGee’s Reviews

James Henry MaGee

Average Rating

Based on 84 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Honest Layer, Yes there is at least one.

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came in looking for a bankruptcy lawyer, but felt like I met a friend. I explained my situation and Jim informed me that WA law worked in my favor and that I did not need to file for bankruptcy. He could have talked me into a bankruptcy and made money off me but he instead told me the truth.

    For a refreshing change in todays business dealings please give Jim a try.

  2. A new start in my life...Service was great!

    Posted by Dorothy, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I want to thank you and your staff for all the help of getting my life back on track. I feel a weight has been lifted and I have a new start to a better future with my family. God Bless and keep up the good work.

  3. Good experience

    Posted by david, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would highly recommend James and his staff that will help walk you through the process of a bankruptcy. Once it was filed it went very quick and I have been very happy with the results. Thank you again.

  4. Knowledgeable

    Posted by Andy, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    His office was very professional from start to finish. He spent the time to review all of the details of my case and make sure I understood as well. His office staff was prompt and took care of any questions.

  5. James MaGee is an excellent attorney and the kindest!

    Posted by La Sonia, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. MaGee was very honest and helpful. I came into the office feeling pretty desperate and without options for my financial situation. Mr. MaGee put me at ease, gave me the facts and even covered for me when I missed my bankruptcy hearing. I would recommend his services to anyone.

  6. What a lawyer should be, James Magee is

    Posted by Peter, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bankruptcy is hard for anyone. this was my second time in 8 years and what we as clients have to realize is that yes, we are paying for a service. we are not paying for this experience to dissappear. It is my job to do the footwork to provide what he needs. Whether by our own undoing or unforseen happenings, the lawyer, "this laywer" understood my situaution and recognized the struggle of this process. James & staff are here to guide, inform and do what we cannot. James and staff make it clear the documents needed, the time frame for submission, the cost, the time and the place. It's our job as consumers to learn from this so as not to repeat. If we work for nothing, we earn nothing. James Magee and his staff provide everything I needed to feel at ease, respected and understood.

  7. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Barbara, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Extremely knowledgeable and responsive to our needs. Excellent office staff, dedicated professionals. Managed our problem with caring and concern. I felt very comfortable going before the trustee, knowing everything had been cared for before we went into the courtroom. On the day of the hearing he was there to assist us and bring the case to an affirmative conclusion. I highly recommend Mr. MaGee, fantastic attorney.

  8. Rude and inconsiderate!!

    Posted by Bianca, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We called in to schedule an appointment, and our appointment was scheduled for the next day at 6?6:30 pm. we got there at 6:15 pm because we know there is always some paper work that needs to be filled. Right after we got there another couple came in with kids and they were also scheduled for 6:30 pm. I guess a little mistake is not a problem. Anyways... He finally saw us at 7:05 pm and during our conversation while I explained why I left the country for a year to take care of my brother who had terminal cancer he came up with the most rude and unthoughtful comment I ever heard from somebody: "It would have been better for you if your brother had waited another year to get sick". My brother passed away last September and I would give anything for him to still be here with us.
    I could not believe he made that comment! There are a lot of lawyers out there, and I know they hear all kinds of different stories from people but that does not give them the right to be disrespectful. I do not recommend him to anyone. If he can be that rude with his clients, I wonder what kind of representation he does for them? Be aware, take your time and make sure you hire a decent attorney to represent you. It`s hard enough on itself having to go through a bankruptcy process. You don`t need the aggravation of an inconsiderate lawyer to make matters worse.

  9. Great Attorney!!

    Posted by Andrew, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Bankruptcy (Chapter 7 in my case) was a difficult decision for me, and i thought it was going to be extremely complicated to deal with. I decided that a having a lawyer would probably make it easier, and right i was! I had my consultation with James, he was very knowledgeable, and eased my feelings about bankruptcy. Him and his staff made things very easy. Always keeping me informed weekly through phone or Email. Answered all questions i had, no matter how many of them i had. The moment i had all my papers ready to go, him and his staff were scheduling me in for court. There was no waiting around. They did an awesome job.

    If you want to file for bankruptcy, and don't want all the hassle of trying to figure out what to do, James and his staff are the way to go!

  10. The "Best Attorney" and the "Best Team"

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James MaGee.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Filing for bankruptcy was the hardest thing I ever had to do because I have had excellent credit all of my life and filing really made me feel like a failure. Mr MaGee and his team were very knowledgeable and trustworthy, they kept me informed and assured me that my life was not over. I no longer felt as though I had to keep my head down and felt confident that I could rebuild my credit. It amazed me at how many credit offers I received before my case was even completed. The offers are still flooding in but right now I am focusing on keeping my bills current. I know that the door is open for me to rebuild my credit because of the many offers that still keep flooding in but for right now I will take it slow. If you are looking for an Attorney with Integrity and very knowledgeable, then I highly recommend the law office of Mr James H MaGee.