Joel Phillip Nichols’s Reviews

Joel Phillip Nichols

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thank you.

    Posted by Ann,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joel Nichols.

    My case with Joel Nichols has extended over the course of a year. As all cases are, it has been emotionally draining. That being said, my situation has dealt with horrifically difficult issues. Joel has given me prudent guidance throughout this time. The number of hours he put into my case were above and beyond, and his trial abilities are absolutely skilled.

  2. Kudos to a smart, hardworking and compassionate attorney.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joel Nichols.
    • I hired Joel < 1 month ago.
    • Joel handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Our family has spent the last year working with Mr. Nichols on a very difficult case involving domestic and child abuse. I have worked with many attorneys in the context of my own profession and have never seen anyone work harder to obtain the right outcome. He was a caring and compassionate advocate as well as an extremely smart and knowledgable attorney. He has my respect and my gratitude. I would recommend him to anyone. He obtained the outcome which guaranteed protection of both abused parties.

  3. A LAWYER TO STAND BY YOU!

    Posted by Ericka, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joel Nichols.
    • I hired Joel more than 3 years ago.
    • Joel handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have never been one to write testimonial's or fill out surveys, even though I have run across many individuals deserving of my gratitude and thanks. But, this time I feel compelled to give a testimonial of Joel Nichols because I am sure there are many of you out there that do not know where to turn when a life changing episode happens unexpectedly and has the ability to debilitate your mental and physical being.

    In 2009 I was fired by a large corporation in the State of Washington after working there for 5 years as an executive with exemplary appraisals and many accolades. The reason for my firing is still being challenged in the court systems 5 years later. I contacted Joel soon after I was fired, I had talked to another firm, but they did not want to take on such a big giant, stating that this particular corporation had "deep pockets and could go on forever." Joel spent hours with me, understanding this law suit could be a very complicated maze of rules, both due to public and private policies, explaining the process and the endurance needed, not sugar-coating anything. The structure of this corporation and the intricacies involved in the case should have been overwhelming for anyone to comprehend, but Joel spent hours of time reviewing hundreds if not thousands of documents and did his magic.

    This is a case that could have been monetarily, mentally and physically consuming, but Joel has supported all three and not once did Joel forget over the last 5 years who I was, how I was feeling, always in touch to keep me in the loop, but most important that he believed in my case and was fighting for justice for me.

    Everyone wants their voice heard and case won, but more important is that you are validated throughout your plight, and Joel not only has the ability to comprehend and articulate, his integrity, ethics, and his passion for his clients is unmeasurable. It is who he is!

    I encourage anyone who needs a lawyer to take the time to talk to Joel Nichols; I will guarantee you will come out feeling that you have chosen the right person to protect your rights.

  4. Review request

    Posted by Paul, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joel Nichols.
    • I hired Joel more than 3 years ago.
    • Joel handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joel provided me with exceptional service when defending me in a DWI case. He showed a very high level of professionalism and instilled trust and confidence in me that he would do all he could to help me in my case. Not only that but he is a very personable individual and our line of communication was excellent.

  5. Settlement Case

    Posted by a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joel Nichols.
    • I hired Joel 1-6 months ago.
    • Joel handled my Wrongful Termination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joel was recommended to me by a friend who is a labor attorney. Joel was able to quickly understand my situation, make specific action steps and followed through in a timely manner at each step of the way. I appreciated Joel's knowledge of the law and his ability to clearly explain to me what my options were during the process. Joel treated me with respect and was very responsive to my calls and emails to him. I would highly recommend Joel in this area.

  6. Unemployment Law

    Posted by Clarence,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joel Nichols.

    I had a question on a non compete clause and a release letter for severance for a former company I worked for. Mr. Nichols knowledge of unemployment law gave me clarity and peace of mind so that I can move on with my career. If you have questions about unemployment law. I recommend Mr. Nichols

  7. Excellent Legal Advice and He Won The Unemployment Claim For My Wife In Redmond, Washington

    Posted by Rob, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joel Nichols.
    • I hired Joel 1-6 months ago.
    • Joel handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My wife recently had a legal issue based upon leaving the company she had worked for in Redmond, WA. I found Joel on the internet along with several other potential lawyers. Joel responded quickly to my initial email even though it was during the weekend.

    After explaining the issue regarding both my wife and her previous employer to him over the phone Joel provided some immediate feedback as to what was realistic to expect as an outcome. My wife and I approach issues like this differently so Joel had to work with the legal issues and client personalities.

    After we met in person with Joel at his office, we hired him and he went to work. Joel struck the right balance in dealing with all of the parties and was able to win the appeal case.

    Good job!

  8. Not Trustworthy

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joel Nichols.
    • I hired Joel more than 3 years ago.
    • Joel handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Never kept us informed. Kept running up fees without consultation. Questionable charges. In the end his bill was more than twice what he had quoted. I had done business with Deno Millikan with great results in other matters. I have now taken all of my business and personal legal elsewhere because of Joel. I don't mind paying for good legal assistance but his secretiveness in adding on fees was inexcusable.

  9. Superb legal advocate. Very knowledgeable of the law, excellent attorney client rapport.

    Posted by Mark, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joel Nichols.
    • I hired Joel 1-3 years ago.
    • Joel handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I'm a Florida attorney with legal experiences in Florida DUI law as well as probation law. I hired Mr. Nichols to handle a DUI case for a family member in Washington a year ago. Choosing Mr. Nichols was basically a shot in the dark because of my unfamiliarity with the area. We couldn't have been more fortunate in the choice. Mr. Nichols effectively dismantled the state's case in short order forcing them into a reduction of the charge. That said, if not for other commitments and the distances and time involved between Florida and Washington, I would have been very comfortable in recommending to the family member to have Mr. Nichols take the case to trial. I based this on my knowledge of Florida DUI law with independent research on Washington DUI law coupled with Mr. Nichol's extremely competent explanation and advice on the merits of the case and the status of Washington law. I was very impressed with Mr. Nichol's ability to establish a rapport with the layperson family member.
    We were under severe time constraints while in Washington and recognizing this, Mr. Nichols kept us informed of each step in the process, met with us for two productive sessions, set up required appointments with other entities and generally made the whole process as smooth as could be expected. But this is only half of the review.
    A year later, due to absolutely bogus allegations of probation violation and with less than a week's constructive notice to the family member for a show cause hearing in a state almost 3000 miles away, Mr. Nichols again stepped in on very short notice (about 4 days) and again dismantled the state's charges, obviating the need for a personal court appearance. In my professional opinion, Mr. Nichols is very bright, articulate, extremely knowledgeable attorney and I would not hesitate to hire him again.

  10. Did an excellent job, and more

    Posted by Steve, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joel Nichols.
    • I hired Joel more than 3 years ago.
    • Joel handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Joel took on the state and a major corporation on my behalf and hit it out of the park. The judge seemed to have made up his mind before Joel finished his argument, ruling emphatically in our favor. Beyond that, he discovered a related case I may have against the corporation.

    Easy to work with, professional, diligent and capable. What else could you want from an attorney?

425-259-2222