Mariko Lisa Mulligan’s Reviews

Mariko Lisa Mulligan

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. In the Best Hands for the Best Possible Outcome

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.
    • I hired Mariko 1-6 months ago.
    • Mariko handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I feel uncommonly lucky to have found Lisa Mulligan when I needed a criminal defense lawyer for the first time in my life, a situation I would have never anticipated before and felt entirely unprepared for. During the initial visit to her office I met a smiling, gentle and discreet person ready to give her unreserved and sharp attention to her client's case. She listened with sensitivity and understanding of a professional psychologist, nonjudgmental, astutely looking for all factual details that might have both positive and negative impact on my hearing at court. She considered potential extenuating circumstances and people we might turn to for professional opinion that could influence the course of action undertaken by the prosecutor. Her explanation of what I could expect at every stage of the court proceedings and what the most likely outcomes might be helped me to regain lost sense of control. Her calm, competent, sympathetic presence greatly helped to reduce overwhelming anxiety and gave me ability to cope smoothly with demands of the case and my normal everyday responsibilities.
    Subsequently Ms. Mulligan arranged the schedule of upcoming court hearings so that it a month-long visit to my aging mother. She kept me informed of all developments occurring in pursuance of the plan she had prepared. She was always accessible, promptly responding to e-mail or phone calls, ready to meet face to face. Throughout the case I felt secure knowing that I am in experienced hands expertly working for the best possible outcome. Eventually she was able to obtain the order of continuance which, after a specified period of time without violation of criminal law, ends in dismissal of the case and leaves my records clean.
    THANK YOU Ms. Mulligan!

  2. Best in the Northwest!

    Posted by David, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.
    • I hired Mariko 1-6 months ago.
    • Mariko handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The Meriam Webster's Dictionary defines the word excellence as, "exceptionally high quality," and "a quality that gives something special worth." This description perfectly and effortlessly defines Lisa Mulligan. When I was allegedly charged with Domestic Violence, I knew I was wrongfully accused and I needed someone to believe and fight for me. When I first met with Lisa, she immediately put me at ease and gave me the confidence I sorely needed that the case would be handled appropriately. That is exactly what took place in the case, and I am freely able to write a review about Lisa today because of it. When considering Lisa Mulligan to represent you, keep in mind that you are going to have a first-rate attorney in your hands. I HIGHLY recommend Lisa Mulligan to anyone, and you should have full confidence that you are retaining someone that will give you the upper echelon of service.

  3. Best lawyer

    Posted by a Identity Theft client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.
    • I hired Mariko 6-12 months ago.
    • Mariko handled my Identity Theft matter.

    I hired Lisa to help my sister for criminal case, I have to say Lisa helped us with her best effort and we were able to go through with our case smoothly. Lisa is a pretty, patient and of course very kind person, she doesn't judge clients and she give respect to client under any circumstance. Her working skill is professional and sharp, I strongly recommend Lisa for anyone that is see
    king for criminal lawyer.

  4. Justice has been served.

    Posted by stephen, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.
    • I hired Mariko 1-3 years ago.
    • Mariko handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    It is so very important to chose an attorney that you have chemistry with. Lisa is very attentive and listens and understands. She expects honesty from her clients and no games. She really practices what she preaches and with such devotion for getting her clients true justice.
    In my case she represented me perfectly resulting in dismissal of a false charge.
    Thank you Lisa

  5. Strength of character, Strength of Knowledge, Strength in Negotiations and Wonderfully Kind Person

    Posted by TIM, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.
    • I hired Mariko 1-3 years ago.
    • Mariko handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Mulligan is a great example of a truly caring and Trustworthy Person and lawyer. My case was caused by a mistake I made with a Relationship that had ended. I have never been in trouble with the Law before and had never had to deal with a situation were I may of had to face Jail Time. Ms Mulligan was understanding, Responsive, knowledgable. She helped keep my mind at ease, Kept me informed continually and always was on time. Since I lived 200 miles away she worked very hard to limit the impact on my Personal and work life. There was never one time that I felt rushed in a conversation via phone or in person. From the First phone call before my arraignment She showed complete caring and patience. She also was very upfront with all of the Legal ramifications both Positive and Negative. She was 100% knowledgable with how each and every court date would go. The ability to overlook and understand that good people make mistakes was refreshing and greatly appreciated. The outcome of my case was dismissed and Charges dropped. This wasn't because I wasn't at fault in my case but the fact that Ms. Mulligan understood the specifics. She was able to work with the DA and judge for the best outcome possible. No Jail, No Bail, No impact to my present or Future. It was Nice to find a lawyer in the legal system that didn't give the impression it was only about Money. If you are looking for a Lawyer that is genuine in her profession and as a person Ms Mulligan will be the best Choice for your needs.

  6. The Caring Counselor

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.
    • I hired Mariko 1-3 years ago.
    • Mariko handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Mulligan is clearly an effective attorney. I believe her strong advocacy skills and attention to detail hastened dismissal of my case. But two things in particular struck me.

    She has unusual empathy for her clients. Ms Mulligan really seemed to have concern for my plight. She listened to me, and took the time necessary. At no point did I feel rushed. My case was not among the more serious charges she has handled. Yet she gave it the care and attention to achieve the best possible result, and in a timely manner.

    Furthermore, she was accessible. I have occasion to deal with various professionals (only a criminal defense attorney once, thank goodness), so I know how difficult they can be to reach. E-mails and phone messages were always promptly returned - that is, if she didn't pick up right away as often was the case.

    The ordeal of this criminal charge was stressful, But Ms. Mulligan's demeanor and responsiveness gave me such confidence I was in the best of hands.

  7. Traffic Crime

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.
    • I hired Mariko 1-3 years ago.
    • Mariko handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Professional, yet very kind, and dependable. Lisa worked hard to negotiate the best possible outcome for my case. I was very pleased with the resolution.
    I highly recommend her to anyone in need of legal advice or defense.

  8. "Mariko" IOU !!

    Posted by Miike, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.
    • I hired Mariko more than 3 years ago.
    • Mariko handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have had a warrant for my arrest for over 10 yrs.And decided it was time to deal with it,after several calls to the county in Eastern Wa, where the offense acured no call backs weeks went by and I got a call it was unknown caller,I took it anyway and the sweetest voice said that at some point I had inquired online for a attorney.We spoke for awhile I gave the details and asked all the questions I could, and she said that she would do some things and get back to me, but gave me what she thought it would cost to get started and I knew by the things she said, and her voice, that I was going to finally have my name cleared. I was looking at some jail time ,my son and boss were not gonna be happy. After a meeting and a few calls she had a brillant motion ready to send off and set a date.I really was not looking forward to it and was quite scared.But she had done research and thought that I would have options and that I would have time to get things in order before the cuffed me up! She went way outer of here way for me she also gave me assurance that everything was going to work out .The Judge really had the upper hand because I had not done anything to comply to his sentence the first time I plead out.So she was perfect in court said all she could in a foriegn court and a good ol boy atmospher it was a fragile setting cuz he could of lock me up right there..Make a long story short she tought he was a little on the no mercy side but I think that without the work and presence of Lisa that judge could of made the probation officer real happy by giving the max time plus fines and additional probation plus evals.But the Honorable split the differance and let me go home and do my time at home and closed the case,She was great I have started my time and I feel glad to get this past me.Most important I real want to say some words about Lisa from the heart,I feel that she went over and beyond her obligations as my lawyer she real did make me feel that everything was going to be fine.And she really knows how to get the job done and gave me the courage and positive outlook, without holding back on what could happen and what I could do even after sentencing she still has been finding out what I could do in response.But I have decided that it was a victory and will always feel that if there is anything I could do for Lisa no matter what it is I would be honored.She is now someone that I feel lucky to have met and would refer her for any criminal issues you have big or small.With her you stand a chance in this STATE. peace thx Mariko s

  9. Best decision I ever made

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.

    This being my first time needing a lawyer, I searched Avvo and stumbled across Lisa. I couldn't have made a better decision. Our first meeting was very professional and productive. I knew instantly this was the right choice. As I explained my story at no point did I feel judged, there was only an attentive listener. It was clear she was sincerely interested in defending me. Lisa's confidence and calm demeanor eased this very stressful time in my life. With her extensive knowledge of the law, she guided me into a course of action to not only protect myself but build a strong case.

    She made attempts to diffuse the situation prior to court and once before the initial hearing. Unfortunately this was unsuccessful but once a continuance was granted she quickly built a case [50+ pages] comprised of testimonials and other specific information. Lisa's communication was clear and easy to understand. She took the time to explain EVERYTHING, ensuring that I was comfortable and confident with our case.

    After the second hearing I was pleased with the results and I'm now in a better place thanks to Lisa and her expertise.

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  10. Sent from Heaven

    Posted by Ruby, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mariko Mulligan.
    • I hired Mariko more than 3 years ago.
    • Mariko handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lisa was a miracle for me and my family, I found her on the internet and she treated us like she had known us for a long time. She is very professional, fair, not afraid to share the truth about what you are facing with the law and the court systems. She smiles on the outside, looks meek; however, on the inside she is tough and gets results. Thank you so much Lisa for our positive outcome. I would recommend Lisa and would use her great services again (I hope that is not necessary). Great attorney! Knows her stuff! Highly respected in the courtroom.