James D Hicks’s Reviews

James D Hicks

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. land use dispute resolution

    Posted by Dave, a Land Use & Zoning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Land Use / Zoning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Hicks was assisting the lead attorney on our case and subsequnetly took it over as our primary contact. The issue was adverse possession. Mr. Hicks explained what was going on in laymans terms and tried to establish common ground between planiff and defendant. While that never happened the case was eventually voluntarily dismissed by plantiff as Mr Hicks had provided thorough enough documentation and rebuttal that plantiff
    dropped case prior to ever going to court

  2. Hardwood Floor Installation Issues

    Posted by Kambiz, a Construction client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Construction / Development matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Hicks did a wonderful job for me on my case! He was the first best attorney I have ever hired. I have work with several attorneys in the past but Mr. Hicks is very knowledgeable and cares a great deal about his clients. Above all, he is very trustworthy and ethical!!! I highly recommend him on any related case.

  3. Need legal assistance?

    Posted by Robert, a Construction client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Construction / Development matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Through James Hicks, I was able to resolve a problem I had with a stubborn contractor. The problem went on for five years, but after contacting Mr. Hicks, it was taken care of in about three months. I would strongly recommend Mr. Hicks to anyone who is having a problem with a contractor.

  4. Highly professional

    Posted by a Construction client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Construction / Development matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jim Hicks helped my small condo association obtain very satisfactory settlements from both developers and insurance companies following a waterline break in a neighboring building that flooded our property causing a compromised retaining wall. Jim was very knowledgeable about the process and procedures of dealing with all parties involved. He created realistic expectations, logical strategies, and kept us informed every step of the way. He was professional and encouraging through a long process involving multiple defendants.

  5. Very satisfied with builder warranty settlement

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thanks to Jim’s help, we will be able to correct an expensive construction issue at our home. He was indispensable in a negotiation over the builder’s warranty, helping us get a very good monetary settlement from the builder's representatives, without going to court. He’s a smart attorney with a solid understanding of Washington real estate law and related insurance issues. Jim is straightforward and diligent in his research and his consultation. We really appreciated the way he took us through the process, thoughtfully answered our questions, and successfully concluded our issue with no misunderstandings. Jim was well worth his billing rate, and our overall bill was very reasonable, considering how much of our own money we won’t have to spend fixing our house. It was money well spent.

  6. Kudos to James D Hicks at Levy von Beck & Associates

    Posted by Joel, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Although I was skeptical at first, I was delightfully stunned at the quick results James D Hicks obtained in having two serious legal matters vacated. He was extremely knowledgeable and saved two LLCs many thousands of dollars. Having been in business for over 32 years, I don't think I have ever seen this quick and effective a result to a legal problem.

  7. very satisfied

    Posted by john, a Construction client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Construction / Development matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    we had the best experience with mr. hicks. he knows how to handle any situation that may accur. very easy to talk to and get along with and he also listens to you when you think you have a better idea even though you really dont.

  8. JD Hicks

    Posted by Laurence, a Mediation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Mediation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jim was on top of every issue and provided good advice and enabled us to extracate our company from a mess in which we had become embroiled. His knowledge of insurance law and construction law prevented us from a large liability that could have loomed and potentially led to our insolvency. He has successfully handled debt collection for us as well as helped in defending us in third and fourth party claims for product liability. I recommend he and his firm highly.

  9. Outstanding Performance!

    Posted by Linda, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Jim has handle several of our company's employment related cases. In each one, he has been hands on, to the point, and gets the job done. I recommend Jim highly to any organization.

  10. Scott Merritt review

    Posted by Scott, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Hicks.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jm helped me with a legal battle I had to pursue with a condo association in order to force them to repair a building that was sinking and cracking. He was able to bring the matter to arbitration within 6 months of filing, and I won reimbursement of attorneys fees and lost rental revenue on the unit. More importantly, he was able to force the association to take action to shore up the structural integrity of the building. This was as good an outcome as I could have reasonably hope for.