Gary K. Marshall’s Reviews

Gary K. Marshall

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. AWOL

    Posted by Eric,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gary Marshall.

    I contacted Gary Marshall in May 2013 to help me review the terms of use I had on my website, and was able to get an appointment and meet him right away.

    Gary Marshall was able to answer the questions I had, and I left him with a check that would cover another hour of his time so that he could put together a final version of the document we had discussed. I told him to give me a call if he felt he needed more time than that.

    So far so good, but after that I didn't hear back from him for over a week. He had cashed the check, but was not responding to any phone calls or emails. I only managed to get his attention after posting a comment on a public mailing list that he is subscribed to.

    Finally, after more than a month, he sent me the revised terms of use document. To my surprise, he had replaced the document with a template of his own that didn't contain many of the clauses I felt were important, and he was billing me for an additional hour (at $300).

    I proposed that he drop that charge, and thought the matter was settled--until in November I got a reminder for the bill (plus interest). Again, any attempts to contact Gary Marshall by email or phone have been unsuccessful. Very frustrating!

  2. Publishing Management consultant

    Posted by Jennifer, a Intellectual Property client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Marshall.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Intellectual Property matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I met Gary while we were on a non-profit board regarding a writers conference over twenty years ago . I have hired him with regards to intellectual property and business contracts over the last fifteen years. His expertise and knowledge have been invaluable to me. He is smart and easy to talk to with regards to contracts and provides the client with very informed information.

    Therefore, it has been easy for me to recommend him to authors or publishers who have questions about their contracts.

  3. 20 Years of Trust

    Posted by Peter, a Intellectual Property client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Marshall.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Intellectual Property matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I first met Gary in 1993 when we were both volunteering with the same non-profit organization. Gary served as Board Attorney. I later became president of the group, and found his advice to be precise and measured, always looking out for the long-term goals of the organization.
    My private business has used Gary on several occasions, from our initial incorporation to consultations on various projects. He's quick to respond, no-nonsense, on top of the issues I needed.

  4. Absolute Trust... unconditional

    Posted by Karlb, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Marshall.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My business originally hired Gary to draft our client contract for designing Web sites back when they were still very rare and there were a ton of gray areas to deal with legally. He did such a great job, we ended up using him for all our legal needs. He has handled litigation, HR issues, Intellectual Property issues, contract negotiations, etc. etc. I haven't felt the need to find additional resources. He has always been very responsive. His counsel has been very valuable... even if his advise is to not have him do any more work on a lost cause. He always takes our best interests to heart. After working together for such a long time, he knows what our level of acceptable risk is and factors that into his advise. In this way, he is like the family doctor who knows you better than you know yourself.

    Gary always amazes me with his depth of knowledge. Whether we are dealing with a Fortune 500 client, or a small business start-up, he is never stumped... nor does he ever back down. He uses his knowledge to take on any size issue... and cannot be bullied. I really appreciate this.

    So it all comes down to trust. I absolutely trust Gary's advise... no matter what the subject... if he feels strongly about a position, so do I. I would recommend him for any legal consultation without reservation.

  5. Excellent Advisor

    Posted by James, a Intellectual Property client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Marshall.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Intellectual Property matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gary has provided me with cost-effective, timely, and appropriate services. He's helped me do the things that my (very) small business needed. In particular he's assisted with contract negotiation, trademark registration, and copyright issues. I will always turn to Gary when I need help.

    I feel that Gary has the expertise to help any client but small clients in particular can benefit from his services. He's done a good job of communicating with me, meeting deadlines, and giving me enough personal attention so that I felt involved with the process. And he knows what he's doing, too. That last part is paramount, of course.

  6. Excellent high-tech attorney

    Posted by Adam, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Marshall.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I've been Gary's client for 15 years. He has pulled my ass out of the fire - and even better, prevented me from putting my ass in the fire - so many times I can't even count. For high-tech business in Seattle, you can't get any better.

    Specifically, he's helped me with the founding of multiple high-tech companies, acquisition of one my businesses, employment contracts, and business contracts that helped me avoid litigation. He's also helped me win a good out-of-court settlement, and he won a case for me that had the misfortune to go to litigation.

    By far the most valuable has been his clear and astute legal advice in the area of high-tech business.

    Highly recommended.

  7. Gary Marshall - fantastic attorney experience

    Posted by Jeff, a Media client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Marshall.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Communications / Media matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Having Gary represent me was the best legal decision I made this year. I had a dispute with a rather large company and he managed my relationship with them fantastically. He made it go from adversarial to cooperative all the while keeping me relaxed and feeling good about my situation, yet honest about the realities of my circumstances.

    He was sensitive about my finances and worked with me on structuring payments. Gary did a wonderful job of keeping me informed and I never felt left out of the loop. He even went out of his way by giving me freebie's here and there that he didn't have to do.

    I got the sense Gary really cared about me and my situation and genuinely did his best job in the most efficient manner possible. I would without hesitation recommend Gary Marshall.

  8. Smart, careful and caring

    Posted by David, a Trademark Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Marshall.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Trademark Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I've known Gary for 20 years, and have hired him on various tech and IP projects.

  9. Gary == Awesome

    Posted by George,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Marshall.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I've worked with Gary on a number of business and personal legal issues, and have found him to be smart, to the point, responsive, and super helpful in all cases. He's got a great breadth of knowledge and an approach that works for those of us who aren't actually lawyers. :-)

I'm ready to help. Contact me today. Ask about my new client discount.

206-524-0655