Patricia A Newman’s Reviews

Patricia A Newman

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. This attorney changed my son's future...

    Posted by Angela, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Patricia Newman represented me against my son's father in a very nasty custody battle. She's hardworking, diligent, extremely intelligent and knowledgeable in her area of expertise. I feel blessed each night when I put my young son to bed that I was referred to her. Pat was available to me nearly always and when she wasn't available she'd get back to me within the same business day. Pat seems to pour her heart into her work and seems to enjoy what she does. She never made me feel inadequate for asking questions, sometimes the same question repeatedly. I found her to be friendly and honest, which is hard to find. She prepared me for worst case scenario, yet remained optimistic and kept me feeling positive as well. I highly recommend Pat Newman to anyone in need of assistance. When other issues arouse in my case that was not her area of expertise she referred me to the appropriate attorneys necessary to satisfy all areas of legal work that were necessary in my life due to the separation from my child's father. After my son's father hired an attorney of his own, she was extremely professional in the manner in which she dealt with his attorney. Pat was also very professional in dealing with doctors that became involved in our case that were less than accommodating and quite frankly difficult to deal with, yet she again maintained her professionalism. While waiting for appointments, I'd notice other clients leaving her office seeming as satisfied with her as I am. I pray I will never need her assistance again; however, if need be I wouldn't consider calling anyone BUT her. Pat's dedication to my case paid off and I have custody of my young son. If you're looking for an attorney that will work hard and give all of herself to your case do not hesitate contact Patricia Newman.

  2. A Powerful Advocate On Your Side

    Posted by David B., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was devastated when my wife walked out on me. I was also not completely rational, and would have been inclined to give away far more than I should have. Pat saved me tens of thousands of dollars, and probably saved my house. Thanks to her guidance and experience, I was able to make it through one of the most difficult experiences of my life. Pat was able to help me see things that I'm sure many other attorneys would have missed. (I interviewed several before hiring her.) Her attention to detail was amazing. Her understanding of complex financial and technical issues was exceptional. Her overall skill as an attorney is outstanding. She allowed me to complete the process and retain my dignity; a difficult accomplishment in such a toxic environment. I cannot say enough about her; she was truly an excellent advocate.

  3. Extremely Knowledgeable and Well Qualified

    Posted by Leo, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This was the second time that I worked with Patricia. I hired her 7 years ago to take over my divorce case when my previous attorney had been letting deadlines slip. Last year it became crucial that I file for full custody of my daughter.

    I initially thought that my case was pretty solid and that we were sure to win. But Patricia works her cases from every angle anticipating all possible objections that could be raised by the other side and prepares her strategy accordingly.

    I admired Pat's in depth knowledge of the law, her professionalism and court presence. She always kept me informed regarding every aspect of my case. I never felt like i was "just another case" or that my phone calls were perceived as inconvenient or annoying. She had the difficult task trying to overcome a tilted scale, that was not in our favor: I was a father pursuing custody--but WE WON!!

    Along the way she was bombarded by all the ridiculous motions filed by my ex-wife's 'rookie' attorney. Hence, she worked tirelessly to successfully defeat them.

    I have been totally pleased with Pat's services and I HIGHLY recommend her to you all.

  4. Patricia Newman is a terrific attorney!

    Posted by William, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I needed a divorce lawyer, I was extremely fortunate to have found Patricia Newman. I just used the Oregon Bar Association's referral line, and her name came up. At our first meeting, I was impressed by Patricia's no-nonsense manner, her knowledge of the law, and her sense of what I'd call informed empathy. She felt for me, yet she did not let that interfere with her accurate assessment of my situation and my prospects.

    Patricia discussed my case thoroughly with me, informing me not only of the applicable law, but also, out of her extensive experience, of my options and the ways the case would probably proceed. She gave me an hour of her time so that she could become acquainted with my case and so that I could decide whether I wanted her to represent me. By the end of that session, I knew I'd found someone who would fight on my behalf and who would give me her honest opinions about my choices--while honoring my right to make my own choices.

    Over the next year, as my ex-wife's lawyer dragged her feet, that I should listen to Patricia's advice. She predicted every step, and she was able to strategize ways of bringing the case to as quick a conclusion as possible. At every step I knew that I was in capable hands, and I always felt well informed. To the extent that I followed Patricia's advice, my case came out well. In the couple of instances when I chose my own way, well, Patricia allowed me to make those choices (of course, she advised me to act otherwise), but in the end I wish I had followed her advice. Still, I value the fact that she never tried to strong-arm me into a choice I wasn't ready to make.

    A couple of years later, my ex-wife declared bankruptcy, and one of her creditors tried to collect from me. I immediately contacted Patricia, who was able to give me some general advice before connecting me with an excellent bankruptcy lawyer. Patricia is very well connected within the Portland legal community, and she uses her network to her clients' advantage.

    Overall, I think I got the best divorce attorney I possibly could have, and I think that Patricia Newman is not just an attorney--she deserves to be called "Counselor." She has my gratitude and my highest possible recommendation.

  5. PATRICIA NEWMAN –-MADE AN ALMOST UNBEARABLE TIME IN MY LIFE BEARABLE!

    Posted by Lisbeth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thanks to Patricia Newman’s experienced professional guidance and skillful leadership, I can gratefully report that after living a good 3 years in ‘loose-ended, divorce/child support/parenting plan.version16 limbo- land’, I reached the light at the end of the tunnel and happily have emerged on the other side, practically reborn, and with a so-called ‘new life’. From the onset, Pat won my deepest respect for her level-headed, intelligent, thorough approach in the analyzing, strategizing, preparation, and ultimately the court-negotiating and- resolution process of my re-opened case, - or ‘can of worms’, is more like it! As referenced complimentarily in another review, Pat’s demeanor, as I experienced it, -composed, candid, rational, firm and direct, yet caring, personable and very understanding, proved instrumental and necessary paired with my conflict-shy, people-pleasing tendencies and opposition’s extremely difficult nature. Additionally, I wish to echo what other reviewers have touched upon also, the fact that Pat, has an incredibly beneficial knowledge of area Family Law Courts and their Judges, and with this knowledge, tailors her case strategy accordingly. In the end, the positive, reasonable outcome of our case, clearly evidenced Pat’s diligent expert superb legal navigation in this matter- that happened to be very much my reality! I am grateful for your effort -thank you Pat!

  6. My Experience with Patricia Newman

    Posted by Tishia, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I met Pat when my husband was going through his child custody case with his ex in 1998. My ex and I, at the time, had a parenting plan in place for our own children. Pat did a wonderful job with my husband's case and we received, and still have, joint custody of his daughter, Kylie. Pat helped us understand that the best way to raise Kylie was by working together with her mom to raise Kylie.
    2 years later, in 2000, my ex and I started having issues with our parenting plan and I called Pat for help. Pat worked with my ex (he insisted on representing himself) and me to work out a plan for custody of our 3 boys. After many difficult months, (my ex can be a very difficult person to deal with, to say the least) Pat was able to create a joint custody parenting plan that was fair and she was able to get my attorney fees paid by my ex for all the time he wasted in court and out. She did an amazing job for me and helped me deal with the stress and anger I had while going through the whole process.
    6 years later, 5 days before Christmas, I was served with papers from my ex stating that he had filed for full custody. He had been arguing and fighting with the boys and blamed me for "ruining his relationship with his children". Frantic, I called Pat, and I can honestly say, she saved my sanity. She led me step by step through everything that needed to be done while keeping me focused on the most important thing, the children. During the next 2 years of unbelievable actions and delays that my ex and his attorney put us through, Pat kept me informed, focused, calm, and was with me every step of the way. She kept me grounded when I thought I was going crazy. She remained calm when my ex and his attorney did everything in their power to waste time and money. 2 years, 2 months, and 5 days later, I had full custody and my attorney fees paid by my ex...again.
    Going through a custody battle is one of the hardest things to deal with...for all parties involved. Mine was the worst thing I have ever gone through in my life. Having Pat by my side through the whole ordeal made it so much easier. She is professional, thorough, and willing to work hard for her clients. I have dealt with other attorneys in the past and I can say without a doubt, that Pat truly cares about her clients.
    I have and will continue to recommend her to anyone who needs help.

  7. Pat Newman - The Best

    Posted by Catherine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From the moment I met Pat Newman, I knew she was the lawyer for me. She impressed me deeply with her professional knowledge, her knowledge of the courts, lawyers and judges in the area, and with her thoughtful intelligence. She gives sage advice, explains the complexities of law clearly, and is the perfect person to have "in your corner". I recommend her highly.

  8. Patricia Newman: Professional and experienced with compassion and understanding of your difficult position, she cares.

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Pat acted in a most professional manner from a business standpoint without losing sight of the fact that you are in a struggle for the most important aspect of your life, your child. She was very sensitive yet firm to impress upon you the need for coherent, calm and rational decision making when in your heart you are in a lot of pain and want to make decisions based on anger and resentment. Her preperation and attention to detail was superior as was her court presence. She is familiar with most of the other family law attorneys and the judges that hear family law cases and these relationships have a tremendous impact on the outcome of your case. Pat did a terrific job from start to finish.

  9. HONESTY WITH RESULTS!

    Posted by Sam, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Patricia helped make my life livable again!

    Patricia handled my divorce and bankruptcy with sensitivity, calm, and results. When I felt like the world was falling apart Patricia helped chart a legal course of action that resolved my issues and met my needs. I owe a great debt of gratitude to Patricia. She helped me at a point in my life when I felt no help was possible. Her expert legal skill is only matched by her compassion. I will forever be grateful and my life better for the experience of working with her.

  10. Back bone and perspective

    Posted by Jessica, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Newman.
    • I hired Patricia more than 3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have referred many friends in the unfortunate situation of needing a family law attorney for their custody case.

    My custody case still looms as one of the darkest times in my life and I wanted so much for things to just stop being "bad." It was under that cloud that I was referred to Pat through an EAP that my company subscribes to and called her from their recommendation. I knew the first time I met her that she was the lawyer I needed: candid and direct, knowledgeable and experienced, humorous and understanding.

    She navigated the most terrifying time of my life with me and kept me focused on the most important part of my case: my daughter. She helped me identify when my ex and I were making decisions based on our fear of losing our daughter and not on her best interests. She let me know when I was doing well and guided me through the overwhelming legal hoops of custody. In the end she helped me negotiate Child Support and a Parenting Plan that agreed with my personal ethics yet still kept me and my daughter safe.

    She was candid with me when I was being unnecessarily fearful and kept me calm when overwhelmed emotionally by my circumstances. Pat's demeanor nicely countered my passivity. She helped me feel brave when I was not and gave me calm moments because I trusted her to guide me in the right direction.

    At the end of my case Pat also gave me good advice for future dealings with my ex over our daughter's life and that advice still helps me 2 years later.