Jonathan M Berman’s Reviews

Jonathan M Berman

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Affable, attentive and knowledgeable

    Posted by Gloria,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Berman.

    Mr. Berman is an excellent lawyer -- he's brilliant and extremely knowledgeable yet down-to-earth with a sensibility rooted in empathy, which makes him both likable and trustworthy. I really got the sense that he cared about me and my case, and that he did all that he could within the limits of the law, which, at times, was confusing for a layperson like myself. He made the law less confusing, however, through his concerted efforts to patiently explain things in a plain way that wasn't overly simplistic or patronizing but, rather, logical and "real." In addition to his empathy and compassion, he has a great sense of humor, which helped when I felt particularly overwhelmed and in a lot of pain. I highly recommend his legal services and expertise.

  2. Five Star Attorney

    Posted by HC, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Berman.
    • Jonathan handled my Child Custody matter.

    I highly recommend Jonathan Berman. I have had more than one attorney in the past for divorce and custody. Jonathan was the attorney that took the time to really listen and address the issues that remained. He was insightful and helped tremendously. I was frustrated with past attorneys, but Jonathan ensured a positive outcome as well as a very detailed parenting plan that made life easier for both parties. Finding an attorney is not hard, but finding one that will do the job right the first time is not easy from my experience. My only regret is I had not hired him sooner.

  3. I would never recommend

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Jonathan Berman.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Child Custody matter.

    John was our attorney in a complex move away case, John's answer was for me and my wife to sell our house, leave our new business and family behind and move to Portland cause the court would keep our daughter here and we didn't have enough reason for the move. That is when we decided to seek new counsel and guess what the move got approved thanks to our new lawyer who fought tooth and nail to get the results we were looking for. I would never recommend a lawyer like John who wasn't even willing to try and fight for the results his clients were looking for like John did. Be warned there are way way better attorneys in the area that will work with a team approach to FIGHT for their clients. John is a joke imo

    1. Jonathan M Berman

      Jonathan Berman

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Sir,

      I think that you may be in error. I believe that this site seeks, among other things, reviews from clients and/or former clients. To the best of my knowledge, I am not now, nor have I ever been, your attorney. I do not recollect being hired by you to do anything in the past 1 to 6 months. My apologies. I am, however, pleased to learn from your note that a positive outcome was achieved in whichever matter you are referring.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  4. John rules!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Berman.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As the partner of one of John's clients, I am truly grateful that he is in our lives. He has been an advocate, champion and a friend through a very trying time and has never once given up hope for our cause. The world needs more people and lawyers like John.

  5. Jonathan M Berman Review

    Posted by Neil, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Berman.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Berman was extremely professional and delivered information based on fact in what can be an unusual and difficult situation. I feel that John had my interests protected at all times and was honest in all aspects. I would highly recommend Mr. Berman in the practice of family law.

  6. You are making a mistake if you are not hiring Jonathan Berman as your divorce lawyer!

    Posted by Ira, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Berman.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jonathan was a fantastic family law attorney to work with. Going through a divorce was very stressful but Mr. Berman made it as smooth as possible. He was always very responsive to my emails and calls, and genuinely cared about the outcome in my divorce proceeding and custody dispute. He was a pleasure to work with and I highly recomment him!

  7. a solid choice

    Posted by Randy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Berman.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would like to start with the fact that when it comes to Attorney's, I have been very distrusting of them. When I interviewed Mr. Berman, I was impressed with the fact that even though it was after hours, Mr. Berman insisted on talking to me directly on the phone for as long as it took to answer all of my questions. The honesty that he provided was a very important factor in determining if he could do the job as stated. His knowledge, and compassion to not only towards myself, but to my wife was unheard of and really stood out for me. Mr. Berman told me his honest opinion based on the facts and even though I did not want to hear some of what he had to say, the honesty sold me, and I knew I had picked the right Attorney for the job. While money is important to consider, Mr. Berman and his team are priced very well and seem to be more focused with the legal task at hand. In my opinion, the money was very well spent as Mr. Berman is very thorough and keeps in constant contact all the way, even when his services are complete. I find Mr. Berman and his staff to be kind, respectful, honest, and very accountable in everything they do. I would highly recommend Mr. Berman and his staff for legal counsel. Another touching note that I would like to add is in my divorce case, my wife could not provide herself with legal counsel and Mr. Berman was so respectful of her position and displayed such professional compassion to not only her, but to everyone involved. I just don't see these types of qualities, and morals in a lot of Attorney's.

  8. I Recommend Jonathan Berman

    Posted by C.M., a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Berman.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Jonathan in June of 2011 for a custody matter.

    I have been divorced for over 11 years and have custody of our 3 children ages 17, 16 and 12 years old. In May of 2011 I received a surprise summon from my ex husband requesting custody of all the children due to mental health issues with our oldest daughter.

    Jon worked directly with my daughter’s counselor to determine what was in her best interest. He went over and above my expectations by providing me with numerous mental health resources for my daughter and he even contacted some of the programs for me.

    Jon was genuinely concerned about my daughter’s well being and the well being of my other 2 children.

    As an example, during one of my visits with him I received an emergency phone call from my ex husband who was traveling with my 12 year old son. My son was in Texas and was admitted to the hospital in what was later determined to be a diabetic coma. Jon helped me find the phone number to the hospital in Texas and even talked to the nurses to help me figure out what was happening. He told me how to get a discount on an emergency flight and gave me his personal cell phone number in case I had any problems at the hospital.

    My ex husband also owed me 10 years in back child support. I hired another attorney 2 years earlier to help me collect the funds however the only results I received was a money judgment. Amazingly Jon helped me collect all of the back support and he got my ex husband to drop the custody request.

    I couldn’t be happier with my experience and wouldn’t hesitate to use him in the future if the need arose.

  9. Exceeded all expectations

    Posted by DF, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Berman.
    • I hired Jonathan 1-3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When one wishes to climb Mount Everest they employ Sherpa’s, who are known as elite Mountaineers, and are use as guides for mountaineering expeditions in the Himalayas. When one goes through a divorce or child custody it feels as though you are about to ascend a mountain that is unconquerable; your quest for a good lawyer that can guide you through this is an important one that will have a great impact for the rest of your life. Mr. Jon Berman was my guide whose empathy, knowledge of the law and ability to exceed all my expectations, helped me conquer my trek through this rigorous mountain… called Divorce! I will forever feel in debt to Mr. Berman for going beyond the call of duty; thank you Jon for your patience and understanding- D.F

  10. We recommend Jon M. Berman

    Posted by Josephine F, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jonathan Berman.
    • I hired Jonathan more than 3 years ago.
    • Jonathan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When our son unexpectedly left us with his two young sons, we did not know where to turn.

    Their mother had not lived with the children in over a year & gave them to my son who then brought them to Portland from another state. We had no idea where our son was or what his plans were, we just knew he was not in control of himself and could not care for his sons, at all.

    A trusted friend recommended Jon. We met with Jon and he was absolutely wonderful.

    He sat with us for over an hour as we described our situation to him. He knew exactly what to do and answered every one of our questions and more. He was more then competent. He held our hand throughout the whole process of gaining custody. He worked diligently with the children's mother who lives out of state explaining the whole process to her and exactly what her rights were.

    If you are needing a lawyer who is friendly, honest, trustworthy & knowledgeable I highly recommend Jon Berman.