Ryan Patrick Murphy’s Reviews

Ryan Patrick Murphy

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Regaining my license

    Posted by Freddy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan 1-3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Murphy was a very big help in getting my license back. He helped me put my driving record straight and working again. I would recommend him to any one with dui's/dwi.

  2. DUI attorney

    Posted by April, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan 1-3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I recently hired Ryan after being arrested for a DUI. Ryan did an excellent job with my case and putting my mind at ease during this stressful time. My DUI was reduced to a Wet and Reckless and Ryan took all the necessary steps to ensure my license did not get suspended. Ryan is professional, compassionalte, and well versed in his field. Hiring Ryan was the smartest thing I did after making a very stupid mistake. He saved me time, money, and my driving record. I would recommend him to anyone needing help with a DUI.

  3. An actually trial attorney, not some paperpusher or pushover

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan 1-3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Arrested for public intoxication in downtown Monterey. I had 4 drinks over a very reasonable amount of time and stepped out to meet up with my wife (after her training seminar). As soon as I step onto the sidewalk I was asked to sit down and be quiet. I was not told what was going on until after I had been placed in handcuffs and hauled off to jail (Monterey PD notorious for meaningless PI arrests, several articles on the topic can be found via google).

    I spoke with Ryan and he let me know that I had a strong case and I didn't do anything wrong (even if I was intoxicated, my wife drove and I wasn’t causing any sort of scene). He explained the entire process and never rushed me off the phone. He answered every question I had in a very responsive manner. After an attempt to get the case dismissed failed, we set it for trial.

    Ryan was able pull my time waiver, forcing the court to set a date for jury trial within 30 days. After that, he was able to keep out all of the evidence with special motions used to address the discovery violations of the prosecutor. Finally he prevented the prosecutor from getting a continuance on my case as earlier he pulled the time waiver.

    All in all, the court decided to dismiss my case complete.

    Ryan is a shrewd negotiator and skilled trial attorney. Bottom line, if you truly want a fighter, you want Ryan Murphy.

  4. FIRST OFFENSE DUI CASE

    Posted by David, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan more than 3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I got my first DUI 0.10 in August and Ryan P Murphy helped me through it with precise knowledge of The Legal System. If I ever run into any trouble again I will definitely be calling up Ryan P Murphy.
    He knows the area as well as the people, over all Great Experience. (Considering the circumstance).

  5. Violation of DUI Probation

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan more than 3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a DUI almost 5 years ago, and was recently caught driving with a .08-.09 blood alcohol level which was violation of DUI probation. I had a different lawyer for the first DUI, 5 years ago. I decided to get a different lawyer for this offense because the last one wasn't personable and hardly spent any time explaining details to me.
    The consultation with Ryan went very well. He explained everything so that I could understand what I was up against. He was always willing to take the time to discuss my case with me and answer my questions without trying to rush through the conversation, and is very personable.
    I was very satisfied with my decision to hire Ryan as my lawyer, and would highly recommend him to anyone.

  6. Ryan Murphy won best-cast scenario...Not Guilty!!

    Posted by Tracy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan more than 3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had interviewed eight lawyers, in addition to Mr. Murphy, and he was by far the most informative regarding specific zero-tolerance related concerns. I was amazed how nebulous this citation code was for many other seasoned attorneys. Even a very nice former judge was not as knowledgeable with the zero-tolerance codes as Mr. Murphy is. He was straight forward and to the point. He was able to tell me, step by step, what was needed and what he would do. This was just the precursor to the outcome in court. Mr. Murphy was able to get my daughter a Not-Guilty outcome on a VC Section 23136(a). With two .02 readings, Mr. Murphy was able to conclude a high calibration, resulting in a solid margin of error, in addition to clarifying, in the defense of my daughter, other conflicting events that transpired at the time. He represented my daughter in court, with both officers present, with the precision of an expert in his field. He will also complete the procedures necessary with the DMV for the return of her driver’s license. As my husband and I are in So.CA and our daughter is in Santa Cruz, it was extremely important for us to know she was in good hands before the judge, as I do believe she would have been “sent to the wolves”, given her treatment at the arraignment. I highly recommend Mr. Murphy for legal representation.

  7. DUI

    Posted by Mary, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan more than 3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I got my first dui this last March I wasn't sure what steps I needed to take in order to remain out of prison, and to ensure that the least amount of damage be done to my future. I called a few other lawyers, all of who seemed a bit daft, and then I called Ryan. He was the only lawyer I called that was able to blatantly tell me what I was up against, and what I needed to do. His rate was more than reasonable and his knowledge of the system was obvious. He was extremely professional, saved me a lot of cash in the long run, and reduced my charges significantly. Ryan was always available, always on top of it, and always informative. If I ever need a lawyer again, I'll be calling Ryan Murphy.

  8. Case Dismissed

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan more than 3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    First time DUI offender and I had no clue what to do, and here is the greatest part, I still don't know what to do. Ryan handled it all. My case was dropped and I still have my drivers license. A true no brainer. End of story.

    I will recommend his services to all of my knuckle-head buddies down the road.

  9. Ryan Murphy Saved Me Thousands

    Posted by Adam, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan more than 3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I got a DUI in Monterey County and was arrested and taken to jail. When I got out I thought it would be a good idea to get a lawyer and found Mr. Murphy online.
    I met with Mr. Murphy at his office and he explained to me what would happen and what he would do for me. He was very knowledgeable and I was confident he would help me out greatly (which he did).
    This was my second DUI as I had received one when I was 17. The court charged me with a second offense. I would have had to go to jail and pay a much larger fine. I blew over a .15 so would have had to take an 18 month class which is significantly more expensive than the three month class. I would also have to have an interlock device on my car (this has a montly fee).
    With his knowledge and expertice, Mr. Murphy was able to have this offense charged as my first. He saved me from having to do jail time and from paying a much larger fine. Along with getting the case reduced to my first offense, he was able to have the court charge me as if I had blown under a .15. This reduced the class legnth I would have to take from 18 months to three months. It also meant I would not need an interlock device on my car. This saved me not only lots of time but also lots of money. Not to mention, through all of this, I did not have to go to court once.

    When I got my first DUI I did not get a lawyer and was charged to the full extent of the law. After my experience with Mr. Murphy, I wish I had got a lawyer for that case also; it would have been great to have him represent me there too!

    Overall I recommend anyone who gets a DUI to get a laywer. Mr Murphy would be your best choice. His experience and care will surely save you time and money and make the experience an easier one for you.

  10. Ryan Murphy, a real advocate for his clients

    Posted by Gordon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Ryan Murphy.
    • I hired Ryan more than 3 years ago.
    • Ryan handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had the misfortune of being pulled over in Carmel for a DUI. I had a small quantity of marijuana on me in addition to a knife that I had brought along on a trip to the beach for carving sticks to make smores.To make matters worse, I had a fourteen-year old in the car, so I was also looking at a felony charge for child endangerment.

    The DA loaded up the charges: DUI, possession of marijuana, weapons possession, child endangerment, refusal to submit to a breathalyzer...I was, needless to say, worried that I would be dealt with harshly.

    When all was said and done, Ryan had everything reduced to a simple DUI. It was quite a piece of work, and he accomplished it primarily through informal negotiations with the DA. Ryan knows the law, and as importantly he knows how to negotiate with the DA's in Monterey County. Had we gone to trial, I would likely have had my ass handed to me, but Ryan was able to spare me that ordeal.

    I cannot recommend Ryan highly enough for any of your criminal defense needs. He is communicative, knowledgeable, timely in getting back to you, and a generally nice guy. I will be recommending him to any friends I have that end up in need of help.