Howard Lawrence Williams’s Reviews

Howard Lawrence Williams

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. One of the two best decisions I ever made was hiring this firm

    Posted by Tom, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Williams.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I'm not proud of this, even though it was more than a year ago now, but I was charged earlier this year with a third-time DUI that had happened 9 months before. The case had never gotten filed by the D.A., and even though I had gone to court when I was told to, the cops came to my house 9 months later and arrested me in the middle of the night. I was told by the cops that I would have to spend 120 days in jail at least because that is the standard 3rd DUI sentence under law.
    At that point, got a lawyer to handle this case for me, and then checked into rehab. Howard Williams was the lawyer, and I honestly didn't know lawyers like this existed. He had to persuade me to fight the case even when I just wanted to do the jail time and get it over with. He didn't strong-arm me into fighting, but he did get me to trust him and I chose to follow his advice and fight rather than pleading out.
    Bottom line: NO JAIL TIME! He was able to get me the ankle monitor and a much shorter sentence instead, and I was allowed to still go to work every day. I had served 10 days jail on my SECOND DUI, but NONE on my third! The other more important bottom line: he also recommended I check into rehab because he said it would make his job easier, and I'm happy to report that I'm clean and sober, coming up on a year now.

  2. Results speak for themselves

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Williams.
    • I hired Howard 6-12 months ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Howard to handle my DUI case. I didn't have a lot of hope, honestly, since my blood alcohol level was .18. Howard said there were a couple of issues he had to pursue before he could advise me on what to do. He did two different hearings where the cop had to testify and cop finally got angry and gave us some great testimony. All I had to plead to was reckless driving and got to keep my license!

  3. Great lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Williams.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    All the lawyers at Lieber Williams were gerat. Howard and Gary did a great job with my case and Jason kept me informed. Howard was the one with the plan and it was carried out perfect. They aren't the absolute cheapest out there but the results were worth the cash. I'd go with Howard again without a doubt

  4. Smart attorney and great result

    Posted by Randy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Williams.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case was a DUI situation which, for me, was incredibly important because I could not afford to get a DUI conviction otherwise I would lose my job (I need a driver's license and I do a lot of work in Canada, who won't let you across the border with a DUI conviction). Howard outlined a strategy he would follow to maximize my chances of getting the result I needed, and it worked. I honestly don't know everything about how he did it, but I do know I got my charge reduced to a "dry reckless" and didn't lose my license. I'm very grateful.

  5. Helped me with difficult case

    Posted by Hao, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Williams.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had no criminal record prior to this dui and I'm glad I got a reliable and trustworthy attorney like Howard Williams. I had a passenger with me when I totaled my vehicle by crashing into a residential front yard. Luckily, the injuries were not serious. However, the judicial system really tried to make my life difficult by charging me with an injury felony even though the insurance company had proof that no medical claims were made against me. I also had a high alcohol reading that would send me straight to a 9 month dui class program which would ruin my work and study schedule. Luckily Howard was the only lawyer who took my call patiently and drafted a sound battle plan. After 6 months of negotiation, Howard successfully made the court reduce the felony to a misdemeanor by dropping the injury charge. The 9 months dui class was cut down to 3 months and the jail time was replaced with the weekend work program.

  6. Thank you Howard!

    Posted by Mariana, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Williams.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I got into a situation that I don't even want to go into, but suffice it to say it's the one and only time I've ever faced a criminal charge in my life (or ever will). I did consultations with 3 other attorneys, but chose Howard Williams because the other guys seemed like they were willing to say anything to get my money. Howard was very knowledgeable and went over many different approaches he would take on the case depending on how things played out, etc. It was obvious that he had done this hundreds of times before and knew the details of how the system works and how to get good results for people. I chose him, even though he cost a little more, and I'm so thankful that I did. My case was not easy but he was able to get a result that I didn't think was possible (and I'm not sure I deserved!). I would recommend him to anyone who needs a criminal attorney.

  7. Thank you!

    Posted by Joe, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Williams.
    • I hired Howard more than 3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thank you so much for all you have done for me in my DUI case. Your work was superb and the not guilty verdict proved this. I am very appreciative of how hard you worked for me, just as if I were family. I am happy to have had you on my side.

  8. Highly Recommended!!!

    Posted by Marie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Howard Williams.
    • I hired Howard 1-3 years ago.
    • Howard handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This was my first and only DUI, and as you can imagine, I had no clue about where to start, how to find a lawyer, or what the process was going to be with the DMV and courts for the next few months which really freaked me out. As a working professional, I had to make sure I kept my license to get to and from work otherwise it would cause major issues for me. I had originally signed with a different lawyer because I had asked a friend if he knew any criminal defense attorneys I could call and he recommended me a lawyer, so naturally I took his word for it and signed without much other research on other firms in the area. HUGE mistake!!!! Not only was this lawyer overpriced, asking for $7500 for the case which I stupidly agreed to, telling me what I wanted to hear, and just your typical "sleazy" lawyer, he did absolutely nothing on my case for months and months and just kept continuing my court dates. When I'd call for updates, he barely knew who I was or what my case was and I quickly lost more and more confidence in him representing me properly. I ended up firing him and started shopping around for other lawyers, but ultimately I had the most confidence in Howard Williams from Lieber Williams & Labin, who handled my case. Unlike the other lawyers I talked to, Howard spent an initial hour with me on a FREE consultation. The others didn't want to hear much detail about my case until I signed their retainer and paid them. They just told me what I wanted to hear which is that they could win my case. Howard went over the ins and outs of my case with me, told me what his strategy was going to be and why he felt that was the best strategy to go in with, where the police had made mistakes and how we can use that to our advantage, what he REALISTICALLY thought he could do with my case, and outlined to me all of the next steps so I knew what to expect. I felt so much better and finally felt like I had someone on my side who could truly help me.

    My whole case took about 6 months to close out and every step of the way, Howard updated me with what happened at each and every court date, and how the case was progressing. The best part is, Howard ultimately got my charges reduced so I didn't end up with a DUI on my record and at a lower cost than what I paid my first lawyer to do nothing!!!! All I can say is the system makes this whole process painful enough, and you need someone on your side who is competent, knows the courts, and knows how to do the right thing for your case! I got through mine thanks to Howard at Lieber Williams & Labin. I know I'll never be drinking and driving again, but I feel really lucky that I was able to come out with the outcome I did and I know it took a really good lawyer like Howard to get me the deal I got. I would definitely recommend this firm, to anyone in my boat or with a criminal case on their hands!

Contact us today for an appointment or consultation.

415-305-1936