Susan L. Jeffries’s Reviews

Susan L. Jeffries

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Extremely efficient lawyer

    Posted by Arthur, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Jeffries.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Susan Jeffries was recommended to me by a friend who is also an attorney. He said she taught classes on divorce law. She actually new the law much better than my wife's attorney, and corrected his paperwork several times. She used assistants when she could to keep the cost down, and I thought she was very reasonable. We enter marriage with the greatest hopes, and are sad and frustrated when it comes to divorce. Moving past a divorce is important, and sometimes we later realize we are actually in a better situation after the divorce.

  2. Professional review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Jeffries.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I am a professional psychologist who has had the opportunity to work with Susan Jeffries and her associates. My patients have felt very supported by her and her associates, and would recommend her highly to others. My clients have felt well supported in separation, divorce and child custody cases,

  3. Over Bills You... Handed me off to an inexperienced attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Jeffries.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This firm is very cagey in their billing practices. I was billed for various "consultations" between Susan and the attorney she handed me off to. Many charges for all kinds of "administrative" costs too. Just running up the tab. She also talks on & on when you meet her, even when you are supposed to be working with the "junior" attorney. Again all that time gets billed.

  4. denise fowler, client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Susan Jeffries.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    handled my case fast and thorough

  5. Expert legal help with compassion.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Jeffries.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have had occassion to use this law office during two different but equally difficult cases. Both times, they put my family first, listened to and addressed my concerns, and offered excellent and highly effective legal representation. It was a long and difficult process, with many ups and downs, but I would have no hesitation about using this firm again in a heartbeat if the need arose. Of all the attorneys I have been involved with in all of these isues, this firm is by far the best, and also the most sincere. Make no mistake - these cases are almost always difficult, emotionally draining and financially expensive - but I recieved more help and compassion from this firm than from all others combined. I recommend them highly.

  6. Competent, Persistent, and Compassionate Representation

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Jeffries.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As my advocate, Susan L. Jeffries was dedicated, caring and compassionate; yet focused and tenacious in her representation. Her meticulous attention to detail, and knowledge of the legal system, was quite encouraging. I am enthusiastic about her work and reassured by knowing that should the need arise I am in the best of hands.

  7. Will run you into bankruptcy

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Jeffries.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Charged a hefty retainer and escalated the situation with the ex. When I tried to discuss the turn of events, Susan turned rude and hostile. I immediately switched attorneys and she refused to refund the balance on the retainer and sent an invoice with bogus charges to use up the retainer.
    Susan is the 'rain maker'. She will bring you in, discuss the case with you and then hand it off to a junior attorney. Typical for most law firms.

    She gets 1 star because I cannot go any lower!

    1. Susan L. Jeffries

      Susan Jeffries

      Lawyer Comment:

      We always try to settle cases as calmly as possible, but that is not always possible, especially at the beginning of the case, when feelings are raw and true facts can be surprising. The "situation with the ex" can escalate when the attorney, with client's approval, first presents a proposal that "the ex" dislikes and disagrees with. It makes makes him/her mad because client has never disagreed before, and he wants to shed the attorney so he can continue taking advantage of the situation. We would never present an opinion or position without clearing it with the client first. If I knew who this client was, we would like to see if we can resolve the concerns. SLJ

      Posted over 5 years ago. Flag

    2. Susan L. Jeffries

      Susan Jeffries

      Lawyer Comment:

      We try very hard to resolve our clients concerns. The firm has not been able to identify this client.

      Posted over 5 years ago. Flag