Barbara Kay Hammers’s Reviews

Barbara Kay Hammers

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great job for me at a very reasonable price

    Posted by Steve, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara 1-3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Barbara has done a great job for me at a very reasonable price. She is very experienced, reliable and available. Barbara provides solid advice and support that you can count on. I always thought her bills were reasonable and I have looked at a lot of attorney bills in my business. She is efficient and focuses on what is most important. I did not see any unnecessary work or excessive time on her bills. Most important of all Barbara made me feel confident in a very difficult situation. You can't pay enough for that feeling.

  2. Mistakes and more mistakes

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara 1-3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Child Support matter.

    This firm spends more time reviewing themselves on this site rather than working on my case. I felt this firm may be ok to begin with but omg when the ridiculous bills came and many critical errors, i could not proceed with them.

    1. Barbara Kay Hammers

      Barbara Hammers

      Lawyer Comment:

      First, I would like to assure readers of these reviews that neither me nor anyone else in my law firm has ever posted a review on this site, bogus or otherwise. That would be inconsistent with my ethical beliefs and integrity.
      Second, it should also be noted that when a person hires me, we have a written fee agreement that sets forth precisely what our mutual obligations are as lawyer and client. My hourly rate is clearly stated in addition to the increments in which I bill (6 minutes). All other costs, such as filing fees, etc. are paid for by the client and this is also set forth in our mutual agreement. I believe an attorney has an obligation to be upfront about the arrangement for fees and what is expected of both the attorney and client, as both parties to the agreement have responsibilities. My obligation to the client is to perform competent legal services using my skill and experience, serving my client's best interest, giving legal advice and keeping them informed of the progress of the case. The client's obligation to me is to pay me for my services based on the agreement we made. If I spend an hour of time working on a client's case, the client is obligated to pay me for that hour of time based on the agreement we made when we started our attorney/client relationship.
      I send every client a detailed bill each and every month. Every charge is explained in detail for the client's review. Every client has the opportunity to review the bill and question any charge that is made. If there is a mistake or the client feels they have been charged for something they shouldn't have been charged for, they are welcomed and encouraged to call and discuss their concerns with me directly. If a mistake has been made, it is corrected immediately and a revised bill is sent. Unfortunately, sometimes clients don't keep their part of the agreement and fail to pay for the services they receive. When that happens, I will withdraw from their case. It is hard to imagine anyone going to work at a job that doesn't give them the pay check promised and continuing to go to that job for very long. Sometimes that makes a client want to "get revenge" by an attempt to tarnish the reputation of the attorney by making up a bad review and posting it on a site like Avvo.
      As for "many critical errors," it is impossible to defend against vague allegations. Most child support issues are really not that complicated as the court sets guideline amounts based on a mathematical formula and doesn't usually vary much from that guideline unless there are some really good reasons. The State of California believes that people should support their children as their first obligation and I tend to believe that is right, as long as all of the factors are correctly considered.
      I have a great deal of experience and expertise in dealing with child support matters. I have been named one of the top five attorneys in Orange County in Family Law for the past two years by OC Metro Magazine and was named a "Super Lawyer" by Los Angeles Magazine in 2012. Apparently my skills preclude "many critical errors" in my practice if I am given such recognition by my peers.
      It should also be noted that Avvo does not verify the accuracy of the reviews posted on this site nor do they confirm that the person posting the review was ever represented by the lawyer they are reviewing. Sometimes, the party that opposed the lawyer being reviewed will post a bad review to "get even."
      Divorce, Child Custody and Support issues can be tough, emotional, and unfair and the outcome of a court battle disappointing. Often, people are looking for someone to blame for their own inability to work through issues with an ex or to accept responsibility for decisions they made in the past that affect them in the future. It is never an easy process when people disagree over children and finances.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  3. Barbara Hammers

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I enthusiastically recommend Ms Hammers, as she cooperated with me and assisted her client and me in getting our matter settled amicably. She was well informed as to the legal and process issues, and, just as importantly, she was kind and considerate during a difficult time.

  4. Istwan Divorce

    Posted by Robert,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I thought Barbara did a very professional job of advising my ex wife thoughout the divorce process.

  5. Barbara Hammers

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dissolution is always a difficult process, especially when you represent yourself. In my case, Ms Hammers helped me navigate the process so that I could feel comfortable representing myself against her client. I found her helpful and ethical and would recommend her to anyone who wants both a practitioner who is knowledgeable about the law, but empathetic too. Wonderful to work with!

  6. Focused, determined and respected. Gave me results where others failed with hard work and a remarkable knowledge of family law.

    Posted by Marsha, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Barbara Hammers after wasting months of time and money with a senior attorney of a large law firm. She was referred to me by a good friend who had Barbara as a family lawyer the year before. I met and interviewed her and learned that she is a State Certified Family Law Specialist. I researched and found that less than 20% of family law attorneys are certified. That's because it's very hard to qualify, only the best of the best are certified.


    After a good interview I put Barbara in charge of my divorce. Two days later we met and she explained my situation in detail with several clear options. With her guidance I decided what I what I wanted to do. Within two weeks Barbara and her staff had accomplished more than my previous "high profile" lawyer had in four months. I was an important client to Hammers Baltazar and they let me know it by communicating, performing and getting results.


    The previous attorney regarded me as an inconvenience, he was also vague about the overall cost. Barbara was upfront about the probability of accomplishing what I wanted to do, how long it would take and about how much it would cost. A month after hiring her I saw the difference hard work from a determined, committed professional can make. Phone calls always returned, email promptly replied to. My questions anticipated.


    A wonderful communicator Barbara spoke clearly and concisely, skipped the legal jargon and made sure I was well informed. She knows how to deal with difficult people and with a warm smile can make her point in very few words. I had a challenging high net worth divorce with very complicated property and custody issues. Barbara and her staff organized box after box of data, sorted it, indexed it and made perfect sense of it all. Her ability to recall facts, figures and points of law is just remarkable.


    As our trial date approached Barbara, Armine and their staff prepared intensively, day and night for several days, to master every element of our case. Their level of commitment and hard work allowed me to be relaxed and confident when the trial began. All that work paid off with a flawless presentation in court. That's not to say there weren't a few surprises, but when they came she was ready.


    The trial took almost two weeks and after a few days it became obvious our opposing counsel was unprepared and frustrated. Outclassed they reverted to unprofessional and deceptive legal maneuvers that Barbara wouldn't tolerate. She put them in their place and then argued for, and received, substantial financial sanctions against them from the court. I knew then that underneath her well prepared, professional velvet glove presentation she has an iron fist available for use when it was necessary.


    Barbara explained to me early on that in family law actions there are no "winners". I understand now what she meant, it's is a very stressful life changing experience. My children and I couldn't be happier with the outcome of the trial. We are now safe and secure and have adjusted well to our "new normal" life. I have resumed my professional career and have a fresh perspective on my future.


    I will be forever grateful I found this wonderful, incredibly competent woman and her staff to represent my children and me during the most challenging and emotional event of our lives. I wholeheartedly recommend Barbara Hammers and her firm Hammers Baltazar for any family law matter.

  7. I would highly recommend Barbara K. Hammers!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Filing for a divorce can be overwhelming, time consuming and scary. I contacted Ms. Hammers through a referral from a friend. I am so thankful to have had her in my corner. She helped me along and communicated with me in a “language” that I could understand. I would highly recommend her to take care of your legal needs.

  8. Utmost regard for trustworthiness, hard work and results

    Posted by Brett, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Unfortunately, I've had the need for legal council while going through a divorce. I found Barbara to be honest, incredibly hard working and dedicated not only to look out for my own personal best interests, but the best interest of my family too. My divorce was emotionally challenging from both sides. Barbara worked with us to carefully create a solution that all parties agreed to. Looking back, is certainly wasn't easy. It takes a special person to wade such waters, and Barbara did it well. Barbara gives attorney's a good name.

  9. Not Recommended

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was a client of this attorney and they overbilled and did not prepare for trial. Be very careful hiring an attorney because they can ruin your life.

    1. Barbara Kay Hammers

      Barbara Hammers

      Lawyer Comment:

      I request that the person who posted this comment contact my office immediately to discuss any issues they have regarding billing done by any attorney in my office. Hammers & Baltazar prides itself on our customer service, integrity, and honesty and this is particularly true in our billing practices. If you feel you were billed for services that were not performed, I would like to discuss it with you and am happy to make any adjustments necessary. You satisfaction with our services is much more important to us than money and we strive to make all of our clients feel that they received good value for the fees they paid.
      While it is impossible to ever predict the outcome in litigation, the one thing an attorney can do for a client is be prepared for court, whether it is for an initial hearing or a trial. I work very hard preparing for any court appearance. Trials are particularly important as they are usually the time when the culmination of all of the evidence gathered becomes important and it is the point in which a case will finally be resolved. Because I know that trials will usually be the ultimate determination affecting a person's life, the preparation for them is done with painstaking care. Hence, I have never found myself unprepared for trial. Any client who has actually had me as their trial attorney knows this about me because I normally have the client working with me collecting information, gathering exhibits being used for evidence, strategizing, and preparing them for their testimony so they feel confident in court. By working with a client to prepare for trial, the client feels more comfortable about how things will go during trial and they can save some money by doing things themselves that would otherwise have to be done by our staff for a fee.
      If the person writing this review really had me as there trial attorney, they would know that not being prepared for trial is not a weakness in working with my office.
      This makes me suspicious as to whether this is a legitimate review or was posted by someone who had to face me and my legitimate client in the courtroom and lost. It should be noted that Avvo does not confirm any of the information posted in a review, nor do they confirm that the person posting it has ever done business with the lawyer being reviewed.
      Although, I am sorry the person who posted this review has a ruined life. Divorce or child custody issues can be devastating and our courts cannot always do justice to families in need of healing. I would encourage this person to seek professional assistance in working through those issues.

      Barbara K. Hammers, C.F.L.S.

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

  10. Highly Recomened

    Posted by Nancy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Barbara to be very knowledgeable, highly professional, and patient. My e-mails and phone calls were always returned promptly the same day or within the next twenty four hours.

    Through the entire process of my divorce she explained every step and made sure I understood the law and how it related to me and my case. Understanding a few of the laws about divorce helped reduce the stress for me during a very difficult time.

    I was completely satisfied and I highly recommend Barbara Hammers ... and if the need ever arises I will retain her again.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

949-631-2805