Robin Courtney Huggins’s Reviews

Robin Courtney Huggins

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very good attorney..... for a simple divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin more than 3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Ms. Huggins to represent me in my divorce with a child. During my initial consultation she seemed very aggressive and gave me advice that was different from the other attorneys I had spoken to. Her approach seemed very no-nonsense and thought we could accomplish my goals at one time as opposed to in parts as others had suggested. When I retained her, I was told that my case would be flagged as low budget and she would let me do things, if possible, instead of paying her firm to do them.

    I really liked Ms. Huggins. She was straight forward, honest and professional. She was always available within a reasonable time and immediately reachable when needed. When negotiating with opposing counsel, she fought for not only what I wanted, but what was fair and best for my child. I was pleased with the results, however, I was not pleased with what happened in the courtroom and a little surprised that she was asking for a recommendation while only having spent a few weeks on my case.

    I was kind of in the dark as to how the process works. As a result, it took almost 3 months from the time my ex was served from the time we filed the OSC. I was told that the judge could make child support retroactive to the date of separation (or the date I filed my OSC), but because she was not aggressive in any of my court appearances about child support, I did not receive a child support order for more than a year from the date I retained Ms. Huggins. Because my ex was not working, the judge did not make the order retroactive meaning that I am not going to be reimbursed for 20 months of day care or medical expenses let alone any child support when I have had full custody of my child. The total loss was close to $10,000.

    Less than a week before a court hearing, I received a call telling me that Ms. Huggins had "retired" from Kring & Chung and was given the name of the attorney that was going to replace her. I thought that it was incredibly unprofessional that she didn't bother to call me and let me know she was leaving, especially so close to a court date.

    If you have a case that is able to be worked out with negotiations and a soon-to-be ex that is reasonable to deal with, Ms. Huggins would be an excellent choice. In my case, while I understand that my ex's attorney was partly to blame, I feel that I paid a lot of money with not a lot to show for it.

  2. I highly recommend Robin Huggins!

    Posted by John, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin 1-3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I've had little experience with lawyers in general but I know competence and professionalism when I see it and I see it clearly in Robin. I was in the middle of a scary divorce and I don't know what I would have done without her. She deciphered what to me seemed an impossible quagmire of court menutia and paperwork and had a clear handle on my situation within our first meeting. Her paperwork was immaculate and she kept me well informed. I couldn't recommend Robin more highly.

  3. Review of Robin Huggins

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin more than 3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have had prior experience with other divorce attorney's that were problematic. They seemed more interested in the billable hours, and less interested in my case. The end result was much less than satisfactory.

    With Ms. Huggins, she is definitely an advocate for me and my case. Either her or her staff are always prompt in returning calls and emails, regardless of the day and time. Her advice is accurate. She is honest, fair and somebody you can trust. Overall, I am please with her services.

  4. Exemplary

    Posted by Stephen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin more than 3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Divorce can be a tramatic event, especially when there is children involved, domestic violence and an uncertain future.

    I learned about Ms. Huggins from a former colleage. He had sought her services some time ago to help manage through an ugly divorce. Everything my friend told me about her was indeed true. Ms. Huggin's patience, caring disposition, follow through, communication, vast knowledge and experience in the this specific field truly helped.

    As of August 2011, my divorce is final and I have 50% custody of my three children. I have been given the opportunity to start over; parent how I want to and rebuild my life again. I could not have achieved the above if it was not for Ms. Huggin's representation and support.

  5. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Nicole, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin more than 3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    In 2010, I began my relationship with Robin Huggins, due to several family matters, some of which included: domestic violence, child custody issues as well as the dissolution of my marriage. From the beginning, Robin was extremely straight forward, honest, and knowledgeable regarding my situation.

    Robin was thorough and up front throughout the entire court process. She presented all of my options, fought for my rights and kept things fair for my spouse and I at all times, which was extremely important to me.

    We dealt with a variety of legal issues, but during this painful time, things began to turn around and Robin was there to support the positive changes in my husband’s life as well as mine and my children’s lives. My husband and I were blessed to be able to work together through Robin. We are thankful that Robin showed great professionalism, while striving to meet all of our needs. She was honest, caring, and professional, possessed great communication skills and always did exactly what she said she would do. My husband and I ended up reconciling and we are excited to say that we no longer need Robin's services. We can honestly say that we would certainly use her again if needed and highly recommend her to anyone in need of help.

  6. Thank you!!!

    Posted by R. C., a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin more than 3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Weather you are the petitioner, defendant, man…woman, the process of dissolving one’s marriage, particularly when children are involved, can be a very trying time for everybody involved. This is why it is so important to have expert legal council.

    I spent weeks searching through the list of Orange County family law attorneys. I have been taken to court, in the past, over real estate issues… so, with respect to my search criteria, I knew what traits to look for in a good attorney. I didn’t want a lawyer that was too abrasive. Those types of lawyers usually put on a show in order to compensate for their lack of ability. Simply, I wanted someone that knew the law, presented his/herself well and held a poised, cool-headed demeanor.

    Most lawyers offer you a thirty-minute “free-consultation”. This is to cover up the true reason… so that the potential client, already quite vulnerable, can be slammed with a sales pitch. The fact of the matter is that the law is the law and Robin knows family law as applied to the state of California. When you see her for the first time you won’t be visiting her in order for her to “sell you something”. She has no need to resort to those types of tactics. Her expertise speaks for itself. She will simply fill you in on the process and, if you chose to have her represent you, she will execute that process effectively and efficiently.

    As I have mentioned… dissolution of one’s marriage can be quite stressful. It is essential to offset and minimize those negative effects by retaining an attorney that is an expert in the field.

    I made the right choice by retaining Robin’s services. If I had to go through the experience again, I would not hesitate, for a moment to retain her her services again.

  7. I trust Robin Huggins as my attorney

    Posted by Dad D., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin more than 3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When my wife filed for divorce I was totally caught off guard. I rushed out and got an attorney right away. My first attorney was aggressive but was not a family law attorney, so then I retained a very respected and well-known family law firm. I retained one of the partners in the law firm and some how got handed of to an associate. I would call my attorney and sometimes have to wait for up to two weeks to get back a reply back and there was always an excuse for it. To me this was inexcusable.

    Then a friend recommended Robin Huggins. From the start I could tell there was a noticeable difference and as a result I retained Robin Huggins as my new attorney. When I placed calls to Robin I would receive an immediate response back to my inquiries. I also felt she would take the necessary time in deciding a case strategy and go over it with me. I trust and respect Robin Huggins.
    Bottom line is you have to feel comfortable with your attorney in this life-changing event called divorce. And I feel comfortable with Robin Huggins as my attorney.

  8. An Awesome Attorney

    Posted by Victoria, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin more than 3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Robin was an awesome attorney to have on my side during my divorce. She wasted no time and provided me with so much support. I felt like a team of lawyers were on my case. She explained all my options to me, clearly and guided me in making the best decisions for me and my child. My situation was not like your typical divorce due to the fact my son has special needs. I don't know what I would have done without her! She's the BEST!!

  9. Recommendation of Robin Huggins

    Posted by Robert, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin more than 3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Robin 12 months ago and these past 12 months have been extremely difficult for me. I went through 2 reconciliations with my wife in an attempt to keep my family together. Robin was always understanding to my situation yet very direct and strong in her advice. With Robin's knowledge and skills I was able to get full custody of my daughter and terms of the divorce were very beneficial to me and my daughter - and the agreements were made prior to going into court!
    I highly recommend Robin to anyone going through divorce or child custody issues. Most of my friends have gone through divorce and they were all shocked at the results I got through working with Robin.

  10. Divorce

    Posted by Heather, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robin Huggins.
    • I hired Robin more than 3 years ago.
    • Robin handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am just beginning the process of going through a divorce and I already feel confident, comfortable, and encouraged by Ms. Huggins. Going through a divorce is not easy on many levels, but I have already seen that I can have peace of mind with the legal aspects knowing that it is being taken care of with the skills and professionalism of Ms. Huggins. From my first meeting with her, I felt like she was going to be an advocate for me and she has already helped me realize that I can have a voice. I know that I am in good hands with Ms. Huggins and I would recommend her without hesitation.