Allan Scott Lolly’s Reviews

Allan Scott Lolly

Average Rating

Based on 78 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thrilled with his whole team!!

    Posted by Kimberly, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 1-6 months ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.

    Mr. Lolly and his office were absolutely fantastic to work with! My immigration case started out a bit complex but Mr. Lolly handled everything very well! He assured me that our case was not a problem and that we would be able to work around and/or resolve every issue we had. He offered me a free consultation which was important to me. It proved that he was confident in not only his abilities but those of his office. He reassured me about my case and we began. I began to work directly with his paralegal Taylor who was fantastic. She always responded to me questions and concerns (And i am sure there were many with my nervousness of getting things done) in the same day and always answered me back with great information. When she was out of the office, someone else stepped in to assure me the receipt of my documents and to answer questions. The team assisted me not only in securing a CR-1 visa for my husband but also advised me of how i could expedite my requests, how to handle the interview and now have offered guidance as to what should be done once he arrives. I was nervous to hire an attorney that was not living in the same state as me but i had read good things about his office. They definitely confirmed everything I had heard about them, Kudos to Mr. Lolly and his entire team!! Muchas gracias!!

    1. Allan Scott Lolly

      Allan Lolly

      Lawyer Comment:

      Muchas Gracias Kimberly. Very nice of you. Allan

      Posted 23 days ago. Flag

  2. This is a lawyer and a person I recommend highly

    Posted by Tyler, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 1-6 months ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Allan Lolly did exactly what we needed his staff was excellent and he went the extra mile to help my wife and I !! We now have the permanent resident card that we needed and my wife looks forward to working with him to apply for dual citizen ship . I can't say enough about how I would recommend him to any one that's looking for no noncence lawyer to get your residence or citizen ship .

    1. Allan Scott Lolly

      Allan Lolly

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks Tyler. You and your wife are great as a couple. I appreciate the comment. Allan

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  3. A Rewarding and Successful Partnership

    Posted by Stacy, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 1-3 years ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have used Allan Lolly's services to secure successfully two visas. I found him and his associates to be uniformly knowledgeable and responsive. There were aspects of the situation which were problematic, but he handled my questions with aplomb. US Immigration is an incredible bureaucracy, but he helped me wend my way through it.

    I thought the price for his services was very reasonable. I highly recommend him.

    1. Allan Scott Lolly

      Allan Lolly

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks Stacy. I appreciate your comments. Kindest regards, Allan

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  4. Experienced, Reasonable and Ethical Attorney

    Posted by Mike, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 1-6 months ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have known Allan for several years now and have worked with him both as a colleague and under his direction on legal matters. I have also been a client of his on my own matter. Allan has the highest ethical standards and cares about his clients. He is reasonable in the way he works with clients. I recommend him. Mike

  5. Do not have any dealings with Allan Lolly or the people he employs

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 1-3 years ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Allan Lolly made 3 serious mistakes that cost us a great deal of money and wasted time.

    1. Allan Lolly advised me that, before applying for US citizenship, I should give up my current green card and apply for a new one since I had traveled quite a bit outside of the US in the past years. I hired him to complete the forms for $2000 (in addition there were application, medical and other costs--some unexpected). When I finally went for my Immigration interview, I was told by the Immigration Officer, after this long application process that lasted several months, that there was no reason to have applied for a new green card since there was nothing wrong with the one I had had since 1977. This cost us a great deal both in fees, other expenses and lost work time.

    2. Ten minutes before going into the immigration interview I finally managed to get Allan Lolly on the phone. He told me as I was about to walk into the interview that my case might be thrown out and that we would then have to gofor litigation.

    3. Lolly was impossible to reach by phone after the first generous interview. We urgently asked to speak with him when it appeared that the information given by his paralegal, Taylor Collins, was different from that we later received from the US Government (this affected my ability to do my work) and also when we had burning questions regarding our interview with US Immigration, that were not covered in the handout he sent us.

    All phone queries took an extremely long time. We had the impression that we had to wait while the receptionist, Jennifer, seemed to actually be walking back and forth between her desk and the office of the paralegal to get answers to our questions.

    My husband and I initially chose Allan Lolly because he was very generous with his time during the free intake interview and discussed our case with us in detail. Also all recommendations we read except one, about Allan Lolly were positive. The one bad reference complained about difficulties in communications with the office and rudeness. This one negative reference proved to be totally accurate in the experience of myself and my husband.
    For just over a year I have tried to forget this most unpleasant and very costly experience, but I can not ignore my conscience any longer and feel it is important to warn others not to have any dealings with Allan Lolly or the people he employs.

    1. Allan Scott Lolly

      Allan Lolly

      Lawyer Comment:

      The facts and situation are inaccurate, particularly item 2 above. This is an example of fears and worries overriding sensibility. Immigration is a stressful experience, so it can happen that a client will become less reasonable because they are fearful. It's understandable and I try to work through issues and be patient. There is only so much time and energy to devote to the emotional aspect of a case when communication itself becomes difficult. Early intervention can help, but not always. I try and watch for this and be supportive. Most clients are great, but sometimes it happens that anxieties are so high we just try to get through the case as best as possible and move along. The comment in item 2 above was a factual statement by me. If her application is thrown out, the worst thing that could happen to her is litigation. This is true, but it does not mean we would need to litigate, but just that this is the worst possibility. What I said and what she heard are different. Fear takes over.

      This client hired to obtain U.S. citizenship in the shortest time possible, not just to have a green card reissued. She entered the U.S. as a visitor multiple times and did not show her green card for fear she would lose it. She spent a majority of her time outside the U.S. over the course of many years. This suggests she was behaving as a visitor and not a permanent resident of the U.S., regardless of the expiration date on her green card. It makes applying for U.S. citizenship and further travel uncertain, and U.S. citizenship was the goal.

      If someone holds a green card based on marriage, she can apply for U.S. citizenship in 3 years rather than the normal 5 years. So, it was important to make sure she had a good application for U.S. citizenship when the time came to apply for it and that the U.S. citizenship application be filed at the nearest opportunity. In her situation, a new green card based on her marriage to a U.S. citizen was the best choice. These issues were discussed prior to hire and the decision was to make a new application for a green card rather than rely on her present status.

      It makes sense that an immigration officer at an interview could take the view that her green card status was fine. I stated pre-hire this is a possibility. Another officer could take the opposite view based on her primary residence in the U.K. and travel pattern to the U.S. as a visitor, and she could lose her permanent resident status. Officers do not all agree and there is discretion. If the goal was to apply for U.S. citizenship securely in the shortest time possible, then a new green card based on marriage was the most secure route.

      More than a year later, the client is still grinding on issues that were explained to the best of my ability. It's this emotional aspect of my practice that makes things difficult, but I try. As it stands, this client is in a good position to apply for U.S. citizenship at the nearest opportunity. Services were correct and were discussed.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  6. Outstanding Service

    Posted by Sergio & Talhia, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 1-6 months ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.

    We had a pleasant process, while working with Mr. Lolly and his associates. They were knowledgeable and always helpful with whatever we needed. We highly recommend their services.

    1. Allan Scott Lolly

      Allan Lolly

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks to both of you. Allan

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  7. Marriage Visa

    Posted by Deborah, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 1-3 years ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.

    This review is long over due and for that I apologize to Allen Scott Lolly and Taylor. I first came in contact with Allan Lolly June 15, 2012 when my husband was denied his visa from the Nigerian Embassy. I was not really trusting of lawyers plus had money constraints which was why I decided to do my husbands paperwork myself in the beginning. It was upsetting for me to not only learn that they were trying to deny my husbands visa but were trying to revoke his whole application by claiming that our marriage was a sham. Their reason for claiming it was a sham was because we met on a dating site and I didn't wear a wedding dress. When I contacted Allen he was very attentive and listened to all that I had to say. He explained what was needed for my situation which was kind of hard to do because I was so emotional at the time. He really was patient with me and helped me to understand that although my emotions were involved, at this point what was needed was to plan an attack from a legal aspect and he was totally right. It took a whole year for the USCIS to contact me regarding my husbands denial letter and revocation of my husbands visa from May 2012-2013 at which time they said if we didn't respond within 30 days to the allegations then his application would be revoked. However, the time I received the letter we actually had less than a month to get all of the documentation together and sent to them. We only had three weeks when I received their letter. Basically we would have to start all over again from step one if my husband was revoked. We had initially started our application in 2010 after getting married in June it was now May of 2013 and they were trying to make us go back to square one. With this shortened time period and with Allen and his associates we managed to get all the documents and briefs together within the time limit. I have to say I was on pins and needles this whole time period because I didn't want to start all over again. I am happy to say December 6, 2013 my husband received an email confirming another appointment at the Lagos Embassy for and interview. He received his visa on January 2, 2014 and I am happy to say will be with me here in the United States on March 24, 2014. Thank you so much Allen Lolly I will be contacting you again in the future for any and all immigration needs. Your company was both very understanding and timely in everything that they did and assisted me with and for that I am so grateful. I was really new to all of this immigration run a round and documentation but you were very helpful in explaining to me step by step what the process was and what the outcomes could be or could not be. I appreciate your honesty and your candor in all you did for me and my husband. This write up in know way covers all that you and your associates have done, you have gone above and beyond for the both of us and for that we are both very thankful and grateful to you. I highly recommend this firm to all.

    1. Allan Scott Lolly

      Allan Lolly

      Lawyer Comment:

      Deborah, So kind. Now, I want to hire myself!! That was really nice of you. Thank you. Enjoy your family. Kindest regards, Allan

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  8. K-1 Fiancee Visa

    Posted by Andre, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 1-3 years ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.

    I would like to take this opportunity to say that the service offered by Allan Lolly Law Firm has been highly impressive. Allan's service has been excellent and every member of your staff has been courteous, polite and reliable.
    My first time applying for a K-1 Visa. Allan's Law Firm has made processing easy and less stressful for me.
    My Fiancee Visa processing was stopped due to document problems at the U.S. Embassy. Allan's Law Firm was quick to react and helped with the problem.
    I am happy to say her Visa was approved, she received her passport, and will be joining me soon.
    Thanks again Allan and to my case manager Cynthia.
    Andre

    1. Allan Scott Lolly

      Allan Lolly

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Andre. Kind regards, Allan

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  9. Successful CR1 Immigration Process (Montreal)

    Posted by Jorge Antonio, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 1-3 years ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.

    My wife (U.S. Citizen) and I (Canadian P.R.) just completed a successful spousal visa (CR1) process through the Montreal Consulate. I only have praise for Mr. Lolly's and his staff for their professionalism and for being so helpful and knowledgeable during this process.

    We started off our CR1 journey with a very frank conversation where we laid out a work plan that we adjusted as we moved along. Allan was always eager to listen to our situation and we adjusted our plans based on the observations we had. He was always handy to answer our questions and we appreciated how he analyzed them, and provided frank straight-to-the point answers. That is what my wife and I needed as we relied on his legal immigration knowledge and advice.

    Tami, the case manager that he assigned to us, was and is a great professional. She worked with us side by side and guided us through the complex documentation requirements for our immigration process. Our communication with Allan Lolly and his staff has always been fluid, helpful, and prompt. Their answers and guidance contributed to reduce the natural anxiety and uncertainty that naturally comes associated with immigration procedures.

    If you are reading this review, I can tell you by my experience and that of my wife that we are completely satisfied with the service that we received, the fair price, the professionalism, communication, and above all the effectiveness that resulted out of all this. I am joining my wife in NY very soon (March 2014) and having people like Allan, and Tami on our side made our journey more satisfactory.

    Please do your homework: invest the time to collect documentation, follow the instructions that you receive, communicate respectfully and efficiently, and ask questions. That is what we did with Allan and Tami and the positive results that we obtained speak for themselves.

    These are the reasons why we are writing this review and we wish you success in your own journey!

    1. Allan Scott Lolly

      Allan Lolly

      Lawyer Comment:

      Jorge, Thank you!!! I especially liked the part about even communication and asking thoughtful questions as needed. I'm here to help. Immigration is an emotional roller coaster for clients, but the actual decisions need to be strategic to increase chances of success. It's more like having a chess game with the government than simply reacting to events. I wish you both well. Kind regards, Allan

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

  10. Same Sex K-1 Visa Issued February 4, 2014

    Posted by Thomas, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Allan Lolly.
    • I hired Allan 6-12 months ago.
    • Allan handled my Immigration matter.

    We would definitely recommend Allan S. Lolly and Associates to anyone we know. We contacted Allan in late July as soon as we learned that immigration was federally accepting applications of same sex couples petitioning their fiances. We realized this was something too big for us to do alone and had already been very discouraged because we had attempted two B-2 visitor visa's already on our own and were denied. After the initial phone call to Allan, he promptly returned the phone call on the same day within a couple of hours. He was very supportive of our situation and explained to me that he was on board for equality of same sex marriage and he would work with us in every way possible. He reviewed our information and was very encouraging and he felt this is something we can accomplish. He also explained that there could be some difficulty relating to the law recently changing and also possible stigma concerning the Embassy in Manila. Most impressive was that I felt he really cared and told me to discuss this with my partner and let him know our decision. We signed the contract on July 22nd, received receipt notice from USCIS on August 20, sent to NVC on November 3rd, received by Embassy in Manila on December 3rd, interview January 6th, request for one missing document, and Visa ISSUED on February 4, 2014. Allan and Taylor worked with us every step of the way answering all questions, prompt with all responses, and made sure all our documents were completed and without error. Most important is that the visa was issued and in a short time although it seemed like a lot longer. Thank you Allan and Taylor.....we greatly appreciate your services and legal expertise..

    1. Allan Scott Lolly

      Allan Lolly

      Lawyer Comment:

      Very much appreciated. Thank you Thomas. Allan

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

Devoted entirely to helping family members immigrate. 23 years experience. Call.

858-483-0311