Barbara Kay Hammers’s Reviews

Barbara Kay Hammers

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Protect Yourself

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Unfortunately this lawyer has been one of the most unprofessional and unresponsive attorneys I have worked with. Numerous errors were made on documents filed with the courts, her communication is unprofessional, her response time is unacceptable. You will end up spending enormous amounts of money and likely have it dragged out excessively.

    1. Barbara Kay Hammers

      Barbara Hammers

      Lawyer Comment:

      I once again reiterate that Avvo does not confirm that a person writing a review has ever been a client of the attorney being reviewed. I suspect this review was written by the opposing party in a case I am currently handling. The reason I believe this is that this particular person has deluged me with emails as they are representing themselves. Just about the time this review was written, I informed this person that I would not allow my client's bill to be run up by their voluminous emails requiring my attention. The response I received was suspiciously close to the complaints in this very review. In fact, it was this person's former attorney who made a typographical error on an order submitted to the court and one of the complaints this person made was that I needed to file something to fix it. There were also complaints from this person that I ignored or otherwise didn't respond to the emails sent to me. This may have some validity, as I did not respond to many of the emails in order to keep my client's bill under control and because I did not want to engage in a war of words defending all of the accusations made regarding my client's actions that were simply not true. Often, you can get someone to stop the harassing emails by simply not engaging in the game. Contrary to the allegations in this purported "client" review, I have a policy that your calls will be answered by my office within 24 hours. If a client doesn't get a return call from my office within that time (excluding weekends and holidays), they are given $200. All the person has to do is point out the failure to respond. However, that does not apply to opposing parties or their lawyers.
      I strive to give my clients the best representation and legal services I can. I pride myself in doing a good job and keeping my clients informed of the progress of their cases. While I'm not perfect, I'm very cognizant of the importance of doing a good job for the clients I serve.

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  2. Highly recommended

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbara handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I first began working with Barbara Hammers in 2006 in regards to a very volatile custody situation. Barbara guided me through some very tough and emotional situations including numerous false allegations from my child's mother. Barbara handled each situation with complete professionalism and a high level of ethics which resulted in me being awarded joint legal and physical custody of my daughter. My family cannot thank Barbara and her entire firm enough for the effort and ethics they have shown through some of the roughest times in our lives. I would highly recommend Barbara Hammers to anyone going through a custody dispute as she is extremely knowledgeable and dependable.

  3. Very disappointed

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara 1-3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We lost custody of our child thanks to Ms. Hammers after starting off with custody. We've seen other reviews referring to "staff" and her office is only her and another attorney who is in another city...a hotelled office and the receptionist works for the entire office of different people and can never locate her. She allowed the other attorney to steamroll her before even going to court. Her fees are clear thirty days later after you find out that she's been working on other cases at the same time. We expect she'll spend a half an hour responding to this. If you're a noncustodial parent, you are going to get screwed. Be prepared to hand over your entire monthly paycheck to the other parent.

    1. Barbara Kay Hammers

      Barbara Hammers

      Lawyer Comment:

      First, it must be pointed out that Avvo does not do any verification of a person giving any attorney a review on this site. Anyone can post a review by claiming to be a former client, even the opposing party or anyone else with an axe to grind against that attorney.
      As for this review, I have have not had a client lose custody of their child for any reason while I was representing them since the case of Christina Adams v, Jack A (209 Cal.App 4th 1543). When that happened, I appealed the case to the higher court and won a complete reversal for my client. He now has sole physical custody of his son. It would be a very rare case for a parent to lose custody of their child based solely on the actions of their attorney. There is much we don't know about the facts in this review. Surely there must have been some reason a court decided to remove a child from a parent's care other than the quality of their attorney. I have been practicing in this area of law for 17 years and have seen many excellent attorneys and many very poor attorneys but never have I seen anyone start out with custody and lose it completely without their being some reason that reflects on that person's ability to parent their child.
      As to the issue of my staff; I have two offices, one in Costa Mesa, which I have had for 7 years and one in Santa Monica, which I have had for 12 years. Both of my offices are professional offices with real furniture, reception area, offices, etc. I do not now, nor I have never worked out of a "hotel" as suggested by this reviewer. I have a receptionist, legal assistant and secretary, numerous paralegals and associates I utilize when necessary, and a partner, Armine Baltazar, who works mainly in the Santa Monica office. My staff works only for my office. You may call anytime and reach me at either office if I am in. If I am in court or otherwise engaged, Rhonda or Mila will set up a time for you to speak to me when I am available.
      Anyone who knows me knows I am an assertive, professional and strong personality. I am candid and direct and will always tell my clients the truth whether they like it or not. I am never "steamrolled" by any attorney, or anyone else for that matter. It makes me wonder if this reviewer knows me at all.
      I do admit however, that I do have more than one client. I have many clients and I work on their cases also. I never bill a client for time spent working on another client's case. My billings are precise and detailed. If I happen to be in court on two matters on the same day, which happens occasionally to most family law lawyers, the client is only billed for the time it takes for their case, not someone else's case.
      Lastly, if you are a non-custodial parent who is required by law to pay child support, there is a State guideline that is calculated using the variables that include how much time each parent spends with the child and the income of each party. The court doesn't have much discretion in making that award. There are some things that can be argued to raise or lower the amount, but for the most part, child support is one of the most predictable of all of the issues a person faces in litigation.
      If you have any questions or concerns, please call either one of my offices and speak to me or feel free to drop in to either location to confirm for your self that neither is a "hotel." We look forward to serving your family law needs. visit us at www.hammersbaltazar.com
      And just for the record... it only took me 20 minutes to respond to this review :)

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  4. Great job for me at a very reasonable price

    Posted by Steve, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Barbara has done a great job for me at a very reasonable price. She is very experienced, reliable and available. Barbara provides solid advice and support that you can count on. I always thought her bills were reasonable and I have looked at a lot of attorney bills in my business. She is efficient and focuses on what is most important. I did not see any unnecessary work or excessive time on her bills. Most important of all Barbara made me feel confident in a very difficult situation. You can't pay enough for that feeling.

  5. Mistakes and more mistakes

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Child Support matter.

    This firm spends more time reviewing themselves on this site rather than working on my case. I felt this firm may be ok to begin with but omg when the ridiculous bills came and many critical errors, i could not proceed with them.

    1. Barbara Kay Hammers

      Barbara Hammers

      Lawyer Comment:

      First, I would like to assure readers of these reviews that neither me nor anyone else in my law firm has ever posted a review on this site, bogus or otherwise. That would be inconsistent with my ethical beliefs and integrity.
      Second, it should also be noted that when a person hires me, we have a written fee agreement that sets forth precisely what our mutual obligations are as lawyer and client. My hourly rate is clearly stated in addition to the increments in which I bill (6 minutes). All other costs, such as filing fees, etc. are paid for by the client and this is also set forth in our mutual agreement. I believe an attorney has an obligation to be upfront about the arrangement for fees and what is expected of both the attorney and client, as both parties to the agreement have responsibilities. My obligation to the client is to perform competent legal services using my skill and experience, serving my client's best interest, giving legal advice and keeping them informed of the progress of the case. The client's obligation to me is to pay me for my services based on the agreement we made. If I spend an hour of time working on a client's case, the client is obligated to pay me for that hour of time based on the agreement we made when we started our attorney/client relationship.
      I send every client a detailed bill each and every month. Every charge is explained in detail for the client's review. Every client has the opportunity to review the bill and question any charge that is made. If there is a mistake or the client feels they have been charged for something they shouldn't have been charged for, they are welcomed and encouraged to call and discuss their concerns with me directly. If a mistake has been made, it is corrected immediately and a revised bill is sent. Unfortunately, sometimes clients don't keep their part of the agreement and fail to pay for the services they receive. When that happens, I will withdraw from their case. It is hard to imagine anyone going to work at a job that doesn't give them the pay check promised and continuing to go to that job for very long. Sometimes that makes a client want to "get revenge" by an attempt to tarnish the reputation of the attorney by making up a bad review and posting it on a site like Avvo.
      As for "many critical errors," it is impossible to defend against vague allegations. Most child support issues are really not that complicated as the court sets guideline amounts based on a mathematical formula and doesn't usually vary much from that guideline unless there are some really good reasons. The State of California believes that people should support their children as their first obligation and I tend to believe that is right, as long as all of the factors are correctly considered.
      I have a great deal of experience and expertise in dealing with child support matters. I have been named one of the top five attorneys in Orange County in Family Law for the past two years by OC Metro Magazine and was named a "Super Lawyer" by Los Angeles Magazine in 2012. Apparently my skills preclude "many critical errors" in my practice if I am given such recognition by my peers.
      It should also be noted that Avvo does not verify the accuracy of the reviews posted on this site nor do they confirm that the person posting the review was ever represented by the lawyer they are reviewing. Sometimes, the party that opposed the lawyer being reviewed will post a bad review to "get even."
      Divorce, Child Custody and Support issues can be tough, emotional, and unfair and the outcome of a court battle disappointing. Often, people are looking for someone to blame for their own inability to work through issues with an ex or to accept responsibility for decisions they made in the past that affect them in the future. It is never an easy process when people disagree over children and finances.

      Posted almost 3 years ago. Flag

  6. Barbara Hammers

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I enthusiastically recommend Ms Hammers, as she cooperated with me and assisted her client and me in getting our matter settled amicably. She was well informed as to the legal and process issues, and, just as importantly, she was kind and considerate during a difficult time.

  7. Istwan Divorce

    Posted by Robert,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I thought Barbara did a very professional job of advising my ex wife thoughout the divorce process.

  8. Barbara Hammers

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Dissolution is always a difficult process, especially when you represent yourself. In my case, Ms Hammers helped me navigate the process so that I could feel comfortable representing myself against her client. I found her helpful and ethical and would recommend her to anyone who wants both a practitioner who is knowledgeable about the law, but empathetic too. Wonderful to work with!

  9. Focused, determined and respected. Gave me results where others failed with hard work and a remarkable knowledge of family law.

    Posted by Marsha, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Barbara Hammers after wasting months of time and money with a senior attorney of a large law firm. She was referred to me by a good friend who had Barbara as a family lawyer the year before. I met and interviewed her and learned that she is a State Certified Family Law Specialist. I researched and found that less than 20% of family law attorneys are certified. That's because it's very hard to qualify, only the best of the best are certified.


    After a good interview I put Barbara in charge of my divorce. Two days later we met and she explained my situation in detail with several clear options. With her guidance I decided what I what I wanted to do. Within two weeks Barbara and her staff had accomplished more than my previous "high profile" lawyer had in four months. I was an important client to Hammers Baltazar and they let me know it by communicating, performing and getting results.


    The previous attorney regarded me as an inconvenience, he was also vague about the overall cost. Barbara was upfront about the probability of accomplishing what I wanted to do, how long it would take and about how much it would cost. A month after hiring her I saw the difference hard work from a determined, committed professional can make. Phone calls always returned, email promptly replied to. My questions anticipated.


    A wonderful communicator Barbara spoke clearly and concisely, skipped the legal jargon and made sure I was well informed. She knows how to deal with difficult people and with a warm smile can make her point in very few words. I had a challenging high net worth divorce with very complicated property and custody issues. Barbara and her staff organized box after box of data, sorted it, indexed it and made perfect sense of it all. Her ability to recall facts, figures and points of law is just remarkable.


    As our trial date approached Barbara, Armine and their staff prepared intensively, day and night for several days, to master every element of our case. Their level of commitment and hard work allowed me to be relaxed and confident when the trial began. All that work paid off with a flawless presentation in court. That's not to say there weren't a few surprises, but when they came she was ready.


    The trial took almost two weeks and after a few days it became obvious our opposing counsel was unprepared and frustrated. Outclassed they reverted to unprofessional and deceptive legal maneuvers that Barbara wouldn't tolerate. She put them in their place and then argued for, and received, substantial financial sanctions against them from the court. I knew then that underneath her well prepared, professional velvet glove presentation she has an iron fist available for use when it was necessary.


    Barbara explained to me early on that in family law actions there are no "winners". I understand now what she meant, it's is a very stressful life changing experience. My children and I couldn't be happier with the outcome of the trial. We are now safe and secure and have adjusted well to our "new normal" life. I have resumed my professional career and have a fresh perspective on my future.


    I will be forever grateful I found this wonderful, incredibly competent woman and her staff to represent my children and me during the most challenging and emotional event of our lives. I wholeheartedly recommend Barbara Hammers and her firm Hammers Baltazar for any family law matter.

  10. I would highly recommend Barbara K. Hammers!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbara Hammers.
    • I hired Barbara more than 3 years ago.
    • Barbara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Filing for a divorce can be overwhelming, time consuming and scary. I contacted Ms. Hammers through a referral from a friend. I am so thankful to have had her in my corner. She helped me along and communicated with me in a “language” that I could understand. I would highly recommend her to take care of your legal needs.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

949-631-2805