John D. Jones’s Reviews

John D. Jones

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Relocation

    Posted by Britney, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.

    I have full confidence in John Jones as my legal representative. He helped me with relocation case and was successful in it. He is very knowledgeable both in and out of the court room. He is very honest and upfront about everything not to mention he speaks whats on his mind and I like that. Someone wrote a review about him being a "bulldog" in court and i saw that first hand. I have never had anyone fight for me like John has. I would 100% recommend him to anyone needed legal council!!!

  2. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Mary, a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Appeals matter.

    I was referred to Mr. Jones by another, successful Family Law Attorney in vegas who admittedly would not go in front of a particular judge stating, everyone hates her. He suggested I call Mr. Jones as he admitted having been successful in her courtroom. I was on the final leg of my proper person, Supreme Court appeal of alimony and child support. By this time I had been divorced for two years, had been through two attorneys and was paying nearly $50k a year in alimony. With eight more years to go. I needed an attorney that could hit it out of the park and take this home. I met Mr. Jones the night before court! Talk about a leap of faith. After our consultation I knew he was the right attorney for the job; his knowledge of appeals, family law, alimony awards, his vocabulary, and overall demeanor convinced me he could finish the job. And that he did. One persuasive court appearance, one hell of a convincing argument and one month of agonizing waiting later, he cinched the deal. The judge literally stamped his submission as Order and today my alimony nightmare is over. Sure, the EX came back and attempted all sorts of desperate measures, but Mr. Jones told me not to worry and shot him down. And he hasn't been back since. It was a long and expensive journey, and if it weren't for Mr. Jones I doubt I would feel the relief and peace of mind I do each day. He's intelligent, logical, persuasive and was even praised by the judge for being an excellent writer. That he is. His legal assittent Cheryl is equally professional and attentive. I had copies of opposing counsel's submissions within hours of filing. I was asked for my input before publication on all documents and kept apprised of all matters. Mr. Jones is a professional, competent, honest attorney and capable of managing your family court matters, from Supreme Court Appeals to no-contest divorce. Meet him and you'll agree.

  3. John Jones, the right choice for counsel

    Posted by Tiffany, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.

    John handled a tense custody case for me recently and did an amazing job. He was given very little time to respond to an action and I was so impressed by the way he and his staff pulled together to do the seemingly impossible. John has a perfect blend compassion and passion in front of a judge. I was touched by the classy manner in which the firm associated with my close friends and family in a time of distress. I would whole-heartedly recommend John Jones as he is articulate, efficient, empathetic, tough and as a bonus... his humor softens a tense situation.

  4. Compasionate and Professional

    Posted by JLF, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Business matter.

    John Jones has been my attorney for over ten years. To say that he is a good attorney would be a tremendous understatement. He is a leader among professionals.
    I retained John to file my divorce appeal. My divorce had been botched by two prior attorneys. John immediately answered my questions and took charge of the situation. My case was very complicated. It included a settlement for my portion of a business. His legal expertise and professional manor proved invaluable during the successful negotiations.
    Over the years he addressed many of my concerns such as childcare agreement enforcement, and child care expenses. John was compassionate and understanding. I felt as if he was a shield protecting me from all the aggression and vindictive behavior exhibited by my ex-husband.
    John also filed charges for nonpayment of court required payments toward my share of the business. All my questions and concerns were addressed immediately by him and his wonderful staff. He was successful collecting these payments.
    Recently, the business was sold. John was directly responsible for collection of my remaining portion of the business. During this whole process John responded to all my questions. Some responses were immediate in the form of a text.
    My decade long professional relationship with John is one of success and friendship. I would recommend him to anyone looking for possibly the most capable attorney in the city.

  5. Best High Conflict Divorce Attorney in Las Vegas!!! Hands Down!!!!!!!

    Posted by Jonathon L, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Litigation matter.

    John was the third attorney to take on my divorce case. My first 2 attorneys were too incompetent to be able to deal with my contemptuous EX (who was in Proper Person and thought was above the law.), to understand the complexity of the assets and business holdings that needed to be split, and the child custody battle. I had to find an attorney who could understand these basic things to me but not to most attorneys I would imagine. I paid over $25,000.00 between the first 2 attorneys and they weren't worth a penny of it. I hired John and he won every trial, EH, and even had my ex sent to jail for not following the Decree. He always returned my phone calls and kept me apprised of my bill and gave me exact billing breakdown. When I saw the previous post about that not being done, I can guarantee all new clients that it is done. I do know what I am paying for. I do know how many hours it took for him to handle a hearing or to do the background work on my case. He never hid a thing from me and I was so relieved that he understood it so very well that I didn't have to fight my case against my attorney again. John understands high net worth individuals, their needs, and their absolute need to have their finances understood and defended by him. I cannot give him enough praise as to how he has handled my case, the very fair amount of money that I have had to pay him, and the results that I have gotten are that I won every single time I went to court and John litigated on my behalf. I have never lost a hearing or a trial with John representing me. I think that the reviews left over the years, John's personal reputation amongst his peers, and my experiences with him over the last 3 years are enough to convince me that I have the best attorney possible for my case. John also has compassion and the ability to make you feel more at ease, calm, and peaceful while going through one of the hardest times in my life. He is fantastic. His knowledge of the law and the rules of conduct are impeccible. I would like to see him as a Family Court Judge in the future. He would be very good at it as he does understand the law and to a point more so than the judge usually does. I give him 5 stars all the way around!!!!

  6. Has become a part of my family.....

    Posted by TK, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    John supported me in my divorce with my ex-wife; there were children involved based on a long-term marriage with alot of emotion.

    Through the process John was always accessible, a great listener, knowledgeable of the court system and represented the needs of my family fairly.

    In the end, I had to go back to court several times and he assisted me in this process.

    I feel that since he knows all the details of my life actually very close to John and thankful for his support over the years.

  7. Tremendous Attorney with a breadth of knowledge!

    Posted by Michele, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Jones is a tremendous lawyer with a breadth of knowledge in his field that sets him apart from the rest of the divorce/family practice attorneys. I work in the legal field and have years of experience with attorneys and when it came time to handle my divorce, Mr. Jones was the only attorney I wanted working on my case. He is diligent, determined and focused on the issues at hand. During a time of personal turmoil, I felt that he was my solid rock working to ensure that I was protected and well represented. I highly recommend Mr. Jones!

  8. He is a Master!

    Posted by a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Alimony matter.

    I was introduced to Mr. Jones through a friend, and was could not be happier with the progress my case has taken. As a matter of fact, he took over from another attorney and for the first time, I finally feel to be in competent hands. Not only has he kept me informed every step of the way, but has gone out of his way to explain each process.
    Not only is Mr. Jones a paragon of efficiency with paperwork, but you should see him in the courtroom! You don't want to be on the other side if you are up against John Jones. He is truly a master.
    I would recommend him to anyone, and have personally recommended him to anyone who needs an excellent lawyer.

  9. Talk to other attorneys before hiring John Jones

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    John never returned phone calls. John never kept me informed. Black & Lobello will not give me a billable hours break down for his hours billed, after asking many times. I had to set up getting my husband served divorce papers in California, as his office would not respond. I almost lost the restraining order that I also got on my own. John made inappropriate jokes while we were in court with my exhusband. A simple phone call to my ex husbands attorney could have ended the situation in a matter of weeks. Instead my divorce took a year. There we no children. It was a nightmare.

    1. John D. Jones

      John D. Jones

      Lawyer Comment:

      From the description of the case, I am not sure if this person was ever a client of mine. It does not sound familiar at all. Why there would be a sudden negative posting is suspect. The allegation regarding not being provided a breakdown of bills is inaccurate as we send out bills monthly with a break down of every charge itemized.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  10. Professional, honest and thorough

    Posted by Jenn, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Jones.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John has handled both my divorce and custody battle. He has provided me with honest, trustworthy legal representation. He is a top notch attorney who won me the right to leave the state with my children. He operates at a level of honesty, integrity and thoroughness that is hard to find in this day and age. I would highly recommend hiring him for any family court matters.