Todd C. Burnham’s Reviews

Todd C. Burnham

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Quite Possibly The Best

    Posted by Barb, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.
    • I hired Todd 1-6 months ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I interviewed 4 other Denver attorneys before speaking with Todd on the phone and knew he was the right choice after 5 minutes. At stake was a multi-million dollar estate. Todd chose the right experts, managed his plan of action perfectly, and I ended up with long term maintenance AND greater than 50% of the marital estate. This was my first and only divorce after a long marriage. I haven't hired other divorce attorneys before but Todd was everything and more I thought I hired.

  2. Burnham Law Receives our Highest Praise

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.
    • I hired Todd 6-12 months ago.
    • Todd handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Life happens. It’s those unexpected things that catch you off guard! You often feel like you have properly planned for those possibilities that may happen to you on a personal level. But, in reality, we usually convince ourselves that these events happen to others and somehow we are exempt. Not true.
    Well, it did happen to us! Major medical issues began to catch up with us financially and we were starting to feel the pressure of trying to keep our heads above water. We needed some guidance, but to whom do we turn for advice? Fortunately, we did have a place to turn to in this time of anxiety and uncertainty. It is called the “Employee Assistance Program”. This happens to be one of the benefits offered by our employer for the type of situation we now found ourselves confronted with.
    We were referred to the Burnham Law Office in Erie, Colorado. We were put in touch with Todd Burnham for a phone consultation. After an explanation of our situation, Todd broke the news that in his professional opinion, we would more than likely be a candidate for Chapter 7 bankruptcy. First, he would need to review our current financial information before proceeding with that course of action. We were mortified of agreeing to such an action! This was totally against our beliefs and values! We prided ourselves in never missing any type of payment or obligation in 37 years of marriage. This suggestion was not what we wanted to hear! No amount of convincing us otherwise seemed to break up the stigma or barrier we had established in our minds to file for bankruptcy!
    Sensing our disparity, Todd suggested that we take a little more time to reassess our situation and let reality sink in. Furthermore, he invited us to meet in person before drawing any conclusions. Through a face to face discussion, he was attempting to put us more at ease and relieve some of the anxiety we were experiencing. We reluctantly agreed.
    We arrived at the office for our appointment and was heartily greeted by a smiling and comforting face belonging to Erin Bajcar, Todd’s legal assistant. Erin is certainly a people person and a perfect match for her position. That first impression of her greeting had such an impact on how we perceived their business and we hadn’t even met Todd in person yet!
    In our personal meeting, Todd reviewed our financial information and laid out a course of action that would allow for a “fresh start”. He encouraged us to take out as much emotion in our thought process and treat it like a business decision. With Todd’s patience, our confidence in his judgment began to prevail. Moving forward, we realized the decisions were in the best interest of our financial future.
    As we continued through the process in the days ahead, Erin made sure that everything was done in a timely manner. She patiently answered questions and made sure we were informed clients. We are eternally grateful that we were led to this office and the compassion and respect in which we were treated. The staff at Burnham Law receive our highest praise and recommendation, hands down!
    If you ever find yourself in such a situation as we did, and are not sure as to which direction to go, let your common sense take over and seek professional advice and assistance from a reliable source that is far removed from your situation. A solution will present itself and level heads will prevail. Your future depends on it!
    A truly grateful Burnham Law client!

  3. Happy with our choice

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My husband and I spoke to Todd about modifying a parenting plan in my divorce case. The first thing we noticed was how friendly everyone in the office was. During the meeting Todd was very honest and upfront about the pros and cons of the entire situation. He was very confident in the outcome of the case which eased our worries and decided to retain him. Todd and his associates kept us well informed and in the loop with all decisions necessary to proceed with the case. Overall we were very satisfied with the outcome of the case and the work that Todd and his associates provided; you can tell they take pride in what they do and it shows in the quality of their work. Thanks, Todd.

  4. Went above and beyond!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.
    • I hired Todd 6-12 months ago.
    • Todd handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thanks to Mr. Burnham and his team I was able to fight for my son's return after he was abducted by his mother. Their commitment and dedication given to my case was outstanding and relentless. If you have a family or divorce situation I strongly suggest consulting with this law office. I couldn't recommend Burnham Law any higher.

  5. Todd Burnham and The Burnham Law Firm

    Posted by Aura, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Todd Burnham was highly recommended by a friend that was going through a high conflict divorce. He immediately got involved in my case. He is quick to action and is highly effective in all of his planning and advise! He cares about his clients and works EXTRA on every case. He is available 24/7 for legal advise and responds to my emails, phone calls and texts immediately! He has staffed his firm with the most efficient team to complete all that is needed in every aspect of the law. He has you covered no matter what comes up! He is an excellent trail lawyer. I am honored to have had his firm represent me. I would not hesitate to call this firm!!!!

  6. Outstanding and Knowlegable Advocate

    Posted by Phil, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    After being Divorced for 18 months my ex decided that she didnt like our division of assets and hired an attorney. I started recieving threatening letters from her and her attorney and needed someone to respond to these threats. After talking to my friends I was refered to Todd as he had just completed a very difficult divorce and custody issue for one of them. I met with Todd and immediately knew after my consultation that I had found an advocate that understood my concerns and related to my situation. Todd immediately jumped into the fight responding to the threats I had recieved and responding with a measured, thougtful and aggressive response. I have been in Law Enforcement for 20 years and I immediately recognized the quality in Todd's legal filings and letters. He is very knowlegable in the area of Family Law and Divorce. During my 15 month process Todd on several occasions called to discuss new case law or statute's that would favor my case. Todd stayed informed and updated on all new changes to these laws. Todd has an attention to detail and deadlines that I appreciated. I never had to worry about missing a deadline or detail as he was alsways on these requirements. In the end Todd got me a very favorable settlement just before trial, but was fully prepared to go to trial. Todd protected my assets and child custody agreement and helped craft an agreement to make sure I didn't have to endure this in the future. I now consider Todd a friend and highly recommend him for all legal needs. I would use Todd again without hesitation and personally refer him to my friends and family regularly.

  7. EXCEPTIONAL TRIAL LAWYER AND MAGICIAN

    Posted by Brandy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.
    • I hired Todd 6-12 months ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was faced with a divorce with two minor children and, unknown to me, a husband who was a drug addict and who became increasingly abusive.  Todd’s approach is perfect:  you get the carrot or the stick!  He approached the case with the utmost concern for the children and immediately filed a TPO and then won the subsequent Permanent Protection Order hearing.  It was as though within two weeks he changed my life and children’s lives like pulling a rabbit out of a hat!  

    He then valiantly tried to put together a reasonable, gradually increasing parenting plan with random UAs prior to unsupervised parenting time.  My husband’s lawyer was a boisterous older lawyer who kept name-dropping and Todd just played it so cool and seriously knew what was going to happen in Court.  He was a proponent of the children having their father in their lives, and was an advocate to that extreme, but on developmentally-appropriate terms.  When my husband and lawyer refused and threatened to take it to trial he said, almost verbatim: “Gentlemen, I have lined this case up from day one to go to trial like every other case I have.  I am trial-ready now and the amount of time you spend rushing to pull your case together, I will be spending perfecting my cross examination with your client’s multitude of inconsistent statements and behaviors.  Or we can agree on the reasonable parenting time once he proves he has maintained sobriety, maintenance and child support.”  Then, the best part, was: “And based on the disparity in income I will get the attorney fees for the additional time I spend developing my cross examination.  So, the question is, do you want to pay me?”

    Case settled 30 minutes later.  Me and my children are protected and we have financial security for the foreseeable future.  Todd Burnham is an amazing attorney and worth every dollar.

  8. Current Parental Responsibility Evaluator

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.

    As a PRE for over 15 years I have been exposed to many attorney's in CO and I find Mr Burnham to be one of the most dedicated and outstanding attorney's in the area. Mr Burnham works hard for his clients and at the same time is dedicated to the best interest of the children. Mr Burnham is a great communicator in and outside of the courtroom. Mr Burnham cares and that is a quality that is so appreciated by evaluators who are also in this business to embrace the best interest of children.

  9. Agressive

    Posted by Dave, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.
    • I hired Todd 6-12 months ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Aggressive. This is how Todd works, and exactly what was needed here. I hired Todd at the last minute, he put together a very professional case in a matter of days. He is worth it.

  10. Exceptional Family Attorney

    Posted by Brian, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Burnham.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.

    As a divorced father of two small children, my custody situation has been a very painful and difficult experience in my life, of which why it was very important to have the best attorney representing me. I chose Todd Burnham to represent me and I’m very thankful I did. He always looks first at the best interests of the children, and he utilizes his excellent judgment and experience to be an invaluable advocate, mentor and friend. His fees are reasonable and fair. Todd provided me with answers to my questions, was consistently accessible and available to me, and brought together an excellent ancillary of professionals that assisted me during this enduring process. His office staff as well as his associate attorney, Gavin Halligan, were welcoming and responsive to my calls and questions in a positive and supportive way. I felt that my situation was as important to Todd as it was to me, and for his attention to detail, professionalism, and dedication to me as the client, I am deeply appreciative of the work he has done (much of it under difficult circumstances to say the least), and I would highly recommend him and his office to anyone in the midst of a divorce or custody dispute. I am indeed grateful to have worked with The Burnham Law Firm.

Call now for a free consultation.

303-990-5308