Charles Lorin Fife’s Reviews

Charles Lorin Fife

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Charlie showed me the way to a differed sentence after being handed my second DUI charge. The prosececuting atty barely flinched

    Posted by Michael, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles 1-6 months ago.
    • Charles handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Lost and beaten, my life needed a change, and I couldn't blame the cops for my 2nd DUI charge. I was my own worst enemy. Not knowing what to expect, I quickly found it easy to talk to Charlie Fife. He quickly surmised my situation and then gave me some of the most sound advice I had ever heard. After following his instruction, court day turned into a "show and tell", instead of my lynching. Mr. Fife went to work and did his job. He showed confidence in me and addressed the judge directly regarding my case. I received a differed sentence! I left the court house with a sense of dignity I received, as represented by Charlie Fife.

  2. Highly Recommended - Worked a Miracle for Me!

    Posted by Samuel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles 6-12 months ago.
    • Charles handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was introduced to Mr. Fife via a different defense lawyer I had hired who brought in Mr. Fife as co-counsel. I was facing jail time and other issues with a second DUI/refusal - Mr. Fife was able to take both of these charges (criminal and DMV) and get them completely eliminated due to a technicality in the Colorado DUI statutes which most people (including the police officer) do not know exist. I am so grateful to be able to continue with my life and not have any legal issues. I would highly recommended Charlie Fife!

  3. This guy walked me ! He had the judge switching the legs of the prosecutor.You won't find better!

    Posted by Chandler, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles 1-6 months ago.
    • Charles handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This is the Bulldog you were hoping for, Like everyone facing a trial I was scared and skeptical ,and Charlie really came through,able to cite relevant case law like he had it scripted in front of him. I would not only recommend you hire this attorney , I wholeheartedly tell you it would be a mistake not to.

  4. Beware the secretary! I called to hire the young guy and she switched me to this loser

    Posted by Denver, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles 6-12 months ago.
    • Charles handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I wanted to hire the young dark-haired lawyer, and somehow I ended up with this old guy with white hair.
    This guy LOST my case and he totally sucked! I tried to hire the young guy named Danny who is really good, and i totally did NOT want this old guy! WTF, I was totally sober and I paid a ton of money to this guy, now I have no drivers license and i have to jump through hoops.

    Please take my advice, you want the young guy with dark hair. If the secretary or whoever tries to set you up with an old guy with white hair, JUST SAY NO and put your foot down!

    You want Danny for your lawyer. Do not let the old guy named Charlie get your case, he charges more, he lost my case, and he's a creep.

  5. This is the kind of lawyer you need

    Posted by Anthony, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles 6-12 months ago.
    • Charles handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Charlie Fife was very honest, talented, and aggressive. He was able to win the DMV Hearing (on the appeal). He got the arresting officer to admit he was wrong in asking for a blood test. As we prepared for trial, Charles was confident the entire time that we would have a positive outcome. By filing motions, he was able to show the DA that we would most likely win a trial. DUID reduced to reckless driving. I received very low fines and a class, no probation. All of my calls and emails were returned quickly. The fees charged by Charles Fife are more than worth it. He works hard for everything you give him. I told him what I wanted and he made it happen. You couldn't ask for a better lawyer.

  6. Thank Goodness !!!

    Posted by Rachel, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles more than 3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had never been in trouble with the law before, and was very scared and frightened. The prosecutors tried to intimidate me into taking a plea agreement, and I almost did. I was charged with a DUI and reckless driving. My friend recommended Mr. Fife. He was able to get the reckless driving dropped. I thought I was going to have to spend time much time in jail, but that didn't happen. His rates were affordable, and I was able to work out a payment plan that worked for both of us. I was a single mother at the time, and fearful of what impact this might have on my family life. Mr. Fife made me feel like I could get through this and everything would be okay. I would, hands down, choose Mr. Fife for legal representation under any circumstance. Hopefully, I will not be in that position ever again, but if I were or a friend or family member were, I would recommend Mr. Fife without hesitation.

  7. Aggressive and Effective

    Posted by Lindsay Comins, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was charged with a hit and run and was coerced by a detective into submitting a written "confession". Charlie got me off with a single appearance in court, charges brought down to careless driving and a few hours of community service; he took care of the entire case quickly and turned what would've been a painful, exhausting and expensive situation into a breeze. I spoke with several other attorneys that charged slightly less but told me that there wasn't a whole lot they could do to help me except hopefully reduce points on my license; they also told me I would have to appear several times in court. At the time, I was living out of state and would have had to fly from NY back to CO at least twice to get this finished. Charlie saved me a lot of time, headaches and, most importantly, a lot of money! Highly recommended!

  8. Cleared up all my driving issues and I was able to reinstate my license

    Posted by Max, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hiring Charlie Fife to handle my legal affairs was one of the smartest decisions I have made. He, along with his expert and incredibly thorough legal team, represented me with outstanding professionalism and credibility. Charlie made handling my legal situation as convenient and stress-free as it could have possibly been. He is an incredible attorney with great attention to detail and follow through, and I would strongly recommend him to anybody seeking high-quality legal help.

  9. No way

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles 1-3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was in a very minor accident and I wanted to go with the public defender but my family wanted me to hire a lawyer.
    Never listen to your mother in law because I ended up with the worst case and a gigantic bill.
    Why spend the money but I wrote a check to keep the peace not that I got any. Anyway what happened was I wasn't guilty but the officer made me look that way because there was an accident. The accident wasn't my fault but like I said the officer acted like it was my fault and I was drunk.

    I was drinking water all night my buddy ordered me a beer and it sat there. No evidence I did a single thing wrong so how hard can it be to prove I'm innocent? To beat this there was a ton of evidence but this lawyer didn't use it. A room full of people who saw me leave one beer on the table all night. So they're all in a bar a lot of them don't drink either and they're all good people. When I play pool I drink water and how about no bar tab to prove I wasn't drinking. Sure I had a beer, I had a beer on the table how does that make me a drunk. I was drinking water. The water kept getting lower and the beer stayed the same.

    The bar has video cameras and that video proves I was drinking water. How hard is it to show it to the judge. Make the jury watch a four hour movie of me drinking water.

    Well we lost and I still can't believe it. I hired a lawyer and he was either too busy too lazy too sure of himself or all of the above.

    We don't have to prove you're innocent, they have to prove you're guilty sounds like I am not going to spend time on your case now that your check is in my bank.

    All he had to do was get that video. So I'm in a bar, bars are legal to be in. Some people go there to play pool, being in a bar doen't mean you drink and it doesn't look bad it looks good when the video camera proves you're innocent. The public defender would have got that video because it's evidence and it's his job.

  10. Turned my DUI into a reckless driving charge.

    Posted by Phil, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Charles Fife.
    • I hired Charles more than 3 years ago.
    • Charles handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Charles Fife was referred to me by a good friend. He has help 3 different acquaintances with serious traffic issues and had positive results. I first hired him for a speeding 25 over/unsafe lane change charge (like 12 point ticket) I missed the court date and got a default judgment. I filled out some form to see the DA in order to cop a plea and was turned down. I hired Fife and soon after the case was dismissed. In July 2010 I was stopped for DUI. I called Fife asap to consult. I was facing guaranteed jail time, hefty fines, alcohol classes (tons), no license for 2 years and interlock for a year. Fife took the case to trial and with absolutely nothing in my favor he argued my case. The jury was hung which means they couldn’t all decide “beyond a reasonable doubt” that I was guilty of DUI or DWAI so we had to have a new trial.(at absolutely no additional cost to me, per his fee agreement)
    Before the new trial the DA offered me a reckless driving and completely dropped any alcohol related offense.
    I now have his number on speed dial and I tell everyone I can think of my account.