Carl D. Shaw’s Reviews

Carl D. Shaw

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thank You

    Posted by Cheryl, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Carl Shaw.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I spoke with Mr. Shaw on the telephone yesterday evening after 7:00 p.m., when I had a question about a landlord-tenant issue with which I was dealing and he told me exactly what I needed to know to handle the situation. I have completed online "essays" and called other lawyers' offices and left messages, but no response had ever been received. Mr. Shaw realized that the situation I was in required some action immediately, and after speaking with him I knew exactly what to do. I am so grateful! The only reason I didn't rate him "excellent" is because I have not actually had to retain his services, but if I need an attorney in the future, Mr. Shaw will be my first call.

  2. How good is Carl Excellent

    Posted by Jerry, a Debt Agreements client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shaw.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Debt / Lending Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Carl is friendly, knowledgeable, compassionate, and trustworthy. He is now a friend. Do not hesitate using him. He cares

  3. Reliability, Knowledge, and Trustworthiness

    Posted by a Residential Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Carl Shaw.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had a lease contract as a residental tenant.. When I wanted to move out at the end of the term, the estate agency tried to impose some restrictive terms that were not in the contract, but were claimed as "Standardd Practice." I considered thes terms grossiy unfa, but did not know how to deal with then agency in a "Lawful" manner. I needed quick and sound legal advice, but I also did not have enough, I needed quick and sound legal advice, but I also did not have enough maney to obtain such service.
    I searched the internet on the hope of finding suitable legal swervice. After I reviewed and called several firms, I went through the ShawLaw web site. I reviewed Mr.Carl Shaw's profile. I was impressed by his academic and practical experience, and his achievments and national awards. I was very relieved to find that the first consultation was offered free of any charge.
    The following day, when I called first thing in the morning, the secretary and Mr.Shaw were there ready to help. Mr. Shaw listend carefully to my case and then asked a few questions. He successfully identified the problem and offered to interfere on my behalf.

    That afternoon, with Mr. Shaw's help , the estate manager and I , readed a fair arrangment that was within the terms of my lease contract.

    Mr.Shaw proved to be a reliable, trustworthey and knowledgable attorney. He is a clever and efficient negotiator. I am very grateful for Mr.Shaw's advice withouth which I would not have been able to challenge and reslove the demands of rougte estate mangement. Based on my above experience , I have no hesitation in recommending Mr.Shaw services to any person, business or organization that is looking for legal help, support or advice.

  4. Highly Recommend

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shaw.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Being a local business owner, I know what it means to provide clients with a great service. The investment in clients is not only professional, but has to be personal in order to facilitate great service. Carl not only went out of his way to educate himself about my particular field, but he went above and beyond to get to know me as an individual. He is a great lawyer in terms of knowing the law, but his concern about me personally was a clear indication that he also is a man of great character. I knew he was not just focused on a paycheck, but tirelessly working to ensure the best possible outcome for me. Throughout the trial he was attentive to all that was happening and prompt in taking care of the matter at hand. He was calm and articulate to the court and I felt I could approach him about any concerns I had, whether big or small. He listens intently and thinks through all matters before acting. I very much trust him and will not hesitate to recommend him to anyone needing sound legal counsel.

  5. Great help - thanks!

    Posted by Kelly, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shaw.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would like to that you for taking my case and I am fortunate to have had such a knowledgeable attorney represent me and guide me through the process. Carl Shaw was not just knowledgeable, but worked with integrity, honesty, and compassion - qualities I have found to be rare in this profession. He also was able to show patience with me when I needed to take a moment to process everything and meanwhile, continued professionally, , skillfully, and diligently working on my case. I highly recommend Mr. Shaw and though I hope I never find myself needing an attorney, he would be the one I would call if I ever need one again.

  6. Highly recommend

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shaw.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Carl has a brilliant and creative legal mind. He keeps his calm in all situations and strives for the best outcome for his clients. He listens very carefully and has seemingly endless energy. He spent a lot of time working with us on our particular case, asking many questions from many different angles to get the clearest picture possible of our situation. It was apparent to us from the start that he did his homework to educate himself on our industry. We felt he was highly informed and clearly prepared to represent us in court. We would definitely work with him again and trust that he would keep our best interests in clear view at all times.

  7. Mr. Shaw helped get me the money that was owed to me.

    Posted by Diane, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shaw.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Shaw helped get me the money that was owed to me. He took my case and started on it immediately. He kept me informed the entire time. Whenever I called the office, he personally took my calls. I would highly recommend Mr. Shaw in any type of litigation. I am so thankful he helped me.

  8. Exceptional Lawyer

    Posted by chuck, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shaw.
    • I hired Carl 1-3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Carl is a very trustworthy and knowledgeable attorney. He will explain everything going on and will actually listen to the client. He's very upfront with his clients whether it's good, bad, or ugly, he prefers to be honest with his clients rather than keeping things hidden. He can adapt and change tactics in a courtroom to get the job done. I would definately recommend him to anyone needing an attorney.

  9. A lawyer with Integrity

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carl Shaw.
    • I hired Carl more than 3 years ago.
    • Carl handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a very positive experience with Mr. Shaw. He held my hand throughout the process and always kept me informed as things moved along. He is a true professional who takes pride in his work no matter what the situation or circumstance is. It was definitely a good decision to move forward with his services. If anyone should ask or need, I would feel very comfortable referring him to my friends and family.