Debra S. Herndon’s Reviews

Debra S. Herndon

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Choose Debra Herndon as your Divorce attorney!!!

    Posted by James, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Debra Herndon should be at the top on any one’s list as the attorney to represent a client. She is understanding of and compassionate about her client’s situation, needs and desires. Debra is extremely knowledgeable and experienced with the laws and the legal system. She is aggressive, yet cautious in her representation. She is tenacious and thorough!!! Throughout our case Debra was available and responsive to our inquiries, making sure we had clear understanding of what to expect and she made sure we ALL were well prepared!!! When Debra Herndon is your attorney, there are few surprises!!! She prepares for all possibilities!!!

  2. My divorce 2010

    Posted by Glynn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was extremely pleased with the representation I got from Debra. She worked hard to be fair with me and with the other party. She tried to maintain a cost effective representation which in the light of opposing counsel's efforts was truly amazing. She and her staff gave my case a personal feeling that I was not alone in this and worked hard to inform and instruct me as to the ins and outs of the system. I recommend her without reservation or hesitation. She works hard and smart, two good things.

  3. Excellent, professional service during the most challenging time of my life

    Posted by Joanne, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Debra, her paralegal Valory and the entire firm provided the legal services during the custody battle initiated by my children's father. It was an ongoing, challenging case that depleted my family's resources; financial, time, emotion, serenity.

    It takes a special, prepared, and unique individual to provide both the best legal defense as well as sufficiently meet the holistic and emotional needs of the client family. Debra and her staff not only met, but exceeded that expectation.

    Efforts were made to be cost-conscious. Communication was timely, professional, and I never felt "out of the loop"; a frustration I hear from other people in similar legal circumstances.

    My case was difficut, but ultimately, due to the diligence of Debra and her staff, we "won". I recommend Debra and the firm wholeheartedly.

  4. Not Ethical

    Posted by Hanaan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Deb Hendon is not an ethical lawyer. She will pad the bill and charge you for time not spent. She drained my $10,000 retainer fee in less than 2 months without going to court. After I complained she refunded a small portion of the money, however the bill remains unjustifiable. She did not work my case and I feel her presence actually harmed my case then benefit it. I could have presented myself better without her in the mediation. Even though she charges high she has no real experience, she is very laid back and passive wont fight your case and she only cares for the paycheck. Very bad lawyer.

  5. This lawyer charged approximetely $10,000 to retrieve approximetely $10,000.

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We hired Debra Herndon to simply retrieve an overpayment with the Attorney Generals office, we did most of the work, supplying a detailed report with all the proof required. We met with the AG and did not go to court. This was settled in a meeting with the AG's attorney before going in front of a Judge. The AG agreed that we were correct. The funds returned to us were approx. $10,000. Debra Herndon's bill was also approx. $10,000. A win for the attorney and a total waste of time and money for us as effectively we received nothing. Herndon asked for a retainer at the first meeting which was paid and indicated that this retainer of $5,000 should be sufficient and whatever was not used would be returned. This was not the case. A final bill was sent to us for approximately another $5,000. My view is that this is a typical case where the attorney is not looking after the client but themselves. We thought that we were in good hands, obviously we were not.

  6. SMARTEST WOMAN ON THE PLANET!

    Posted by Laura, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra 1-3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met one of the smartest women on the planet when I met Deb Herndon. My case was referred to Deb after my former attorney had to step down due to health reasons. My former attorney selected her for me and I am eternally grateful. Deb is highly intelligent and knows the law, her delivery is as poised as velvet, she is budget-conscious, and Deb has become a true friend. Deb Herndon is a package deal. She is the attorney you want on your side of the table rather than the opposite. I highly recommend her representation.

  7. My first conversation with Debra and her staff placed me on a winning team with a sense of security and confidence.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Debra Herndon and her capable staff expedited a very difficult situation for me, and saved the expense of any unnecessary frustration . During the process of my divorce I found myself under most extenuating circumstances that did not allow flexibility. I took comfort knowing I was in good hands. My recommendation carries the highest reguards.

  8. Gave me a sense of security and mostly my life.

    Posted by Kacie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I first met with Debra I was in need of a divorce and child custody orders put in place. She was very diligent, knowledgeable, and since. It was the first office I walked into after numerous recommendations. There was no amount to put on the exceptional work she does. Most important she gave me a new start/ a new life!!!!

  9. Knowledgeable

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My case was fairly complex when Ms. Herndon took it over. There were domestic violence and mental health issues. Ms. Herndon was informed about this type of situation as well as the complicated money issues. Due to the nature of the trust accounts involved and the evasiveness of the opposing party, I felt confident that Ms. Herndon was one of the few that was be able to handle and understand the custody battle as well as the property situation. I was counseled well given my particular situation. I believe that I ended up with the best scenario I was able to receive at the time. Her staff was extremely helpful and dedicated as well.

  10. client comments

    Posted by Karen, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Debra Herndon.
    • I hired Debra more than 3 years ago.
    • Debra handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Debra to be a refreshingly focussed and objective lawyer. She was extremely thorough and excelled at adding perspective to our sessions. I enjoy working with her and recommend her to others needing advice and help with pre marriage agreements.

713-600-1717