James Richard Butler’s Reviews

James Richard Butler

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Super lawyer

    Posted by Mary, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Butler.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Yes I would recommend this lawyer. I knew the day I met him and shook his hand that he was going to be my lawyer. He was truly caring, not just as a client, but as a person, and never made me feel less than. He did all he could for me dedicating many hours on may cause. After 10 resets, we finally got a dismissal. He is kind, caring and really like to get to know his clients.

  2. First time

    Posted by Hallet, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Butler.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Butler was a pleasure to have as my lawyer. This was my first time ever being in trouble and he helped me in every way possible to make sure I wouldn't stress. He knows a lot about what goes on with DWI and kept me informed on a lot of things. I would recommend him greatly because he is nice and will do the best job for you

  3. DWI found Not Guilty

    Posted by Marcus, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Butler.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was charged with a DWI in Brazoria County. After searching online and reading reviews I contacted James Butler. I contacted his office and set up an appointment. His office is very warm and welcoming.

    I sat down with James to discuss my case. He first asked me to describe what happened during the time of the arrest. Then, after telling my story, he asked some questions to clarify and expand upon certain parts of that event that I would not have thought to include. He then told me how he would approach the DA and if it came to it, how he would defend my case if it went to trial.

    Even though James does not usually do cases in Brazoria county he took my case. His office kept in contact with me informing me of what new information they had received. Eventually the DA made an offer to me, Plead Guilty to the DWI and pay a 200 dollar fine. James advised me not to take it. Then they came back with another offer, Plead Guilty to Reckless Driving and a 300 dollar fine. James told me it was a good offer, but he still thought they should either dismiss the case or we go to trial. He then said it was ultimately my decision to make, but he did advise us to go to trial.

    I decided to go to trial. We selected the jury that day and the trial was the next morning. James gave a good opening statement. Then the two officers were brought up to the stand one at a time. James questions were good and pointed and it really helped my case. Then the closing arguments were given. The DA gave a pretty good closing argument, but James' was better.

    It only took the jury 15 minutes to deliberate, and they came back with a verdict of "Not Guilty". James is very knowledgeable in the area of DWI cases and I would reccoment him to everyone facing a DWI charge.

  4. Mr. Butler has my highest recommendation

    Posted by Kristofer, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Butler.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    When I found myself being accused of DWI, it was lowest point in my life and felt like my whole life was on the line. I researched lawyers for weeks before findng Mr. Butler. When our paths crossed it was nothing short of a true blessing. I knew from the moment I met Mr. Butler he was the right attorney to defend me against the DWI charges I was facing. Mr. Butler is a master in his feild. My case involved the police taking my blood to determine my BAC level. Before meeting Mr. Butler, I didn't think I had a chance of winning the case. Mr. Butler is like an artist, he knew exactly what to say, when to say it and what not to say. Even though my blood results were over 0.09, Mr. Butler demonstrated in front a jury that was not proof of anything and the jury came back with a NOT guilty verdict. Even though my case involved 4 police officers taking the stand after being prepped by the DA, all testifying that I was impairred at the time of arrest. Jim Butler made them look like a deer in the headlights.
    I simply cannot put into words how much I appreciate Mr. Butler saving my life.
    If you are facing a similar situation being accused of a crime, Jim Butler without question is the man I recommend.
    In my search for an attorney I spoke with a lot of high priced attorneys and although they seemed like good attorneys too, Jim Butler was the best and was no where near the price of the others, even though he could charge as much as the other top attorneys.
    Thank You Mr. Butler for saving my life!!!

  5. With me every step of the way!!

    Posted by Jess, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Butler.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    What a great firm. This attorney was referred to me by a friend who had used him previously. It was my first DWI charge and of course I was nervous. Jim's office kept me up to date and informed with all my court proceedings. Everyone around me kept telling me there was no way I was going to win my trial, because I did blow over the .08. I had confidence with my defense team and knew I could trust them. Am boy am I glad I did. After 19 months of court procedures my case was dismissed. Thank you so much to the Law Office of JIm Butler!!!
    His dedication to me and my case is appreciated.

  6. best of the best

    Posted by DENNY, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Butler.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    JIM BUTLER FROM THE ONSET OF MY DUI,WAS VERY PERSONABLE,AND SUPPORTIVE.AFTER TALKING WITH HIM I FELT ALL WAS NOT LOST. HE IS VERY PERSONABLE,KNOWLEDGEABLE..AND PROFESSIONAL. HAVING HAD THE MISFORTUNE OF NEEDING LAWYERS IN THE PAST,IT WAS REFRESHING TO TALK TO A MAN WHO ACTUALLY CARED .THROUGHOUT MY EXPERIENCE WITH MR. BUTLER I FELT I HAD THE RIGHT MAN.HE EXPLAINED WHAT WAS HAPPENING AT EVERY TURN AND PUT MY MIND AT EASE.AND OH!.BY THE WAY,CASE DISMISSED!!! WHAT A GUY!!!

  7. Caring expert dwi attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Butler.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    His office is home like. You immediately feel comfortable and as at ease as you can in the situation (being accused of dwi). I first spoke to Amanda, Jim's paralegal she was upfront, honest, sincere, and educated in this field. I received monthly emails from the office with updates on my case. This was helpful because it left me feeling like I always knew what was happening, it kept me from worrying. Mr. Butler is a face to face person. I set up an appointment to watch my video and got a thorough walk through of the mistakes and good points relating to my stop that night. Unfortunately for me I was intoxicated that night. (Lesson surely learned) this was evident in my video. Mr. Butler worked out a fine only deal for me. I was/am ecstatic about the outcome. The state would not dismiss due to my level of intoxication,understandably. I was fearful of jail time or lengthy probation with so many restrictions, however mr. Butler worked wonders. I paid a fine and put this behind me. I recommend the law office of Jim butler to any of you out there who need expert advice, expert performance, and most of all a caring team who feel passionate about their positions. Thank you Jim & Amanda - god bless you both!

  8. Jim took a sincere interest in my well being and worked dilligently and successfully to keep my TDL and dismiss DWI charges.

    Posted by Diane S, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Butler.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    The momemt I walked into Mr Butler's office he made me feel confident and better about the situation I was in. I knew that he truly cared about me...the person behind the DWI and would do his very best to have my case dismissed. He immediately scheduled a hearing so that my TDL would not be automatically suspended (I had refused breathalizer) which we won. He disected the events of the day leading up to my arrest and contacted witnesses. Mr Butler had a mission and that was to have my charges dismissed....and he was successful. On May 7th the State of Texas dismissed my DWI charges and disposed the case. I would highly recommend Mr Butler to anyone who has been charged with a DWI...he is the best!

  9. Nothing but the Truth

    Posted by Andrew, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Butler.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jim is very straightforward, within the first 10 minutes of our meeting he had already informed me of the complications and opportunities in my case. I had the misfortune to land into county criminal court #2, therefore was not eligible for the advert program available in all other criminal courts in the county. The lack of this option to me made it critical that I understand all the possible outcomes before deciding to take my case to trail. HECK yeah i went to trail. MAN and what a trail it was. I won't ever forget how stupid Jim made the cops that pulled me over look. In my case it was important too my family and I, since the jury found me guilty. I can live with the fact that they needed to lie to take money away from me. ANYWAYS Jim was amazing, he was prepared and has a presence in the court room that makes it easy to sit in the court 2 days while the jury is deciding.

  10. A Jurors Impression

    Posted by Ronald,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Butler.

    I met Mr Butler as a juror in a DWI case. While I've never been a juror or involved in any DWI case before, I was thorougly impressed by his knowledge of the process and procedures involved in the prosecution of such a case. His defense of his client made me come to believe that the defendant's stop, field test, arrest and the police procedures while in custody were all in question. To be honest, I still believe this. Ultimately though under the conditions given to decide the case we decided guilty. But it was a hung jury right till the end.
    If I ever find myself in a position to require services in this area, he'll be the first man I call.

How can I help you today ?

713-236-8744