Betty Tsamis’s Reviews

Betty Tsamis

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. YOU should know....

    Posted by Joni, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Betty Tsamis.
    • I hired Betty 1-6 months ago.
    • Betty handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Betty Tsamis has provided time,comfort,knowledge and accountability when I hired her. I believe that Betty's efforts and experience reassure my decision to " fight back". I am more than pleased that Betty will fight to the end and "right the wrong. " I am glad to have her on my side !

  2. Betty is a good attorney. She will tell you like it is.

    Posted by Beth, a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Betty Tsamis.
    • I hired Betty 1-3 years ago.
    • Betty handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Betty in 2010 to handle a sexual harassment case. I believe she did the best she could considering the opposing attornies and everyone involved. The law is not about fair all the time, however, my main purpose was to rid the agency of the source of the harassment. Betty accomplished that and I could not have done it alone. I needed a professional attorney. She has a good attorney and I believe she will do the best for you that she can. Whoever reads this needs to remember that she is the professional do exactly what she says nothing more and nothing less. Whatever the struggle is, let her handle it.

  3. Unemployment

    Posted by Mary, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Betty Tsamis.
    • I hired Betty 1-6 months ago.
    • Betty handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was denied unemployment benefits . I contacted Betty to represent me in my appeal. She had been referred to me by a friend. Betty returned my email within an hour, and contacted me by phone the same day to discuss my case. I hired Betty that same day. She was very knowledgeable and very patient with me. I had a lot of questions and I was very nervous about this appeal process. Betty handled the entire process, kept me informed, and the day before the hearing, she called me to explain how the entire hearing would go, from start to finish. The hearing went exactly as Betty had explained, and I won!!!!!! Betty is totally AWESOME!!!! If you need an employment attorney, Betty is the lady to hire!!!!! She is now looking into another case for me and I have total confidence in her judgment!!!!

  4. Great lawyer for employment law - highly knowledgeable, lots of integrity

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Betty Tsamis.
    • I hired Betty 6-12 months ago.
    • Betty handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I sought out Betty because she is highly involved in the community where I live, and has expertise in employment law. I was seeking advice about a possible discrimination lawsuit. Betty was great. Upfront she told me about a potential conflict of interest as she had represented my former employer several years ago on an unrelated case. I thought it showed a great deal of integrity to walk away from a solid piece of business due to a past relationship that could possibly work to my disadvantage. Instead, she put me in touch with a colleague who is now representing me, and this person is just what I needed. As sharp as Betty, and tough as nails. with my former employer.

    While I was only in contact with Betty for a couple weeks, throughout the process she was responsive to my emails, compassionate about my situation, and generous with her time. My initial in person consultation was free of charge, which I did not expect. During that session, she presented me with some advice/coaching on how I might resolve things without attorney involvement, and the merits/cautions of filing an EEOC claim on my own. She also predicted exactly how the employer would frame the layoff decision. Whether it was insider information, or a deep understanding of this type of law, I was impressed. I would recommend Betty highly to anyone seeking her services related to employment issues.

  5. No communication

    Posted by Jim,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Betty Tsamis.

    I hired Mrs Tsamis to defend me in a civil action. She did not return my calls and was late for court. I don't think she is very knowledgeable as the answer to most of my questions was , "I don't know."

  6. Giving and Compansionate. Won Unemployment Benefits !

    Posted by Jennifer, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Betty Tsamis.
    • I hired Betty 1-3 years ago.
    • Betty handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    I hired Betty Tsamis for my unemployment appeal. I wanted to prove that I left my job due to my disability and the harassment I received because of it (in other words, for good cause). I didn’t think I could do that on my own after being denied benefits after my initial hearing, so I hired Betty. I told her about my disability, and how I was treated on the job. She was very sympathetic towards my story and told me how she would handle my case if I hired her.

    We lost my first appeal. My last appeal was to the Board of Review. Mrs. Tsamis told me what I needed to get from my doctor. From there, she was able to present my case to the Board of Review. It took the Board over the 120 days to make their decision. However, it was worth the wait, because I finally was awarded my unemployment benefits.

    From my understanding, Betty Tsamis usually charges an extra $1500 to prepare for another appeal. Well she did my Board of Review appeal pro bono. I’m forever grateful for her services. She was an advocate and a voice for someone like me who is different and is sometimes treated poorly because of it.

  7. Claims To Be "On Your Side" Is False

    Posted by Richard R., a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Betty Tsamis.
    • I hired Betty 1-3 years ago.
    • Betty handled my Appeals matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I Paid Ms. Tsamis $1500 to help me secure unemployment, while she knew full well that a law in Illinois would prevent me from obtaining unemployment benefits.

    1. Betty Tsamis

      Betty Tsamis

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am disappointed that this former client feels the way he does. I disagree with how he has presented the facts and they are contradicted by his written engagement agreement with me. I dislike it very much when my clients lose but can assure prospective clients that I do not misrepresent outcomes in any case.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. A Very Disappointing Experience

    Posted by Dan, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Betty Tsamis.
    • I hired Betty 1-3 years ago.
    • Betty handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Clearly values her time above her service. Needed to research basic premises of the law, then billed for the time spent researching. Was often dogmatic and confrontational. Clearly insecure regarding her abilities and skills. Missed appointments without warning. Never communicated any strategy on how she was going to handle my case. When you seek legal councel, you need someone professional, skilled and knowledgeable. Betty Tsamis is none of these things.

    1. Betty Tsamis

      Betty Tsamis

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am disappointed that this former client feels the way he does. I disagree with how he has presented the facts and they are contradicted by his written engagement agreement with me. I dislike it very much when my clients lose but can assure prospective clients that I do not misrepresent outcomes in any case.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  9. Ms. Tsamis is an outstanding attorney and accomplished my legal matters

    Posted by Patrick, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Betty Tsamis.
    • I hired Betty 1-3 years ago.
    • Betty handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tsamis is extremely professional and knowledgeable pertaining to human resources law. She handled my case as if I was her biggest clients and trust me, I’m not. She kept me informed and gave me my options. At the end of my case I was extremely happy with the outcome. I would highly recommend Ms. Tsmis and would work with her again in a heart beat.

  10. Passionate and Caring

    Posted by Tony, a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Betty Tsamis.
    • I hired Betty more than 3 years ago.
    • Betty handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Ms. Tsamis because as my attorney she was a passionate advocate who spoke for me when I did not have the words to speak for myself.

    After an extended illness I was sued by a major Chicago hospital network for the portion of medical expenses not covered by my group health insurance. The amount I owed was over $100,000, which my insurance would not pay.

    I received threatening letters from large law firms and I was served a subpoena. It was terrifying; I had never paid a bill late in my life.

    I thought bankruptcy was my only option, so I compiled a list of attorneys from referrals and publications, then set to doing my homework.

    I called several attorneys and got LOTS of run around and quite a few awkward questions that made me feel small.

    Then I called Ms. Tsamis. She was different immediately, because she spoke to me like a person. She asked my direct questions that made me feel comfortable.

    She took my case and dealt with the hospitals as well as the insurance company. She made calls on my behalf and responded to my subpoena. In the end the insurance company paid all amounts, and I was left with a hospital bill of $0.

    Ms. Tsamis did an amazing job as my attorney.