Robert Thomas Carpenter’s Reviews

Robert Thomas Carpenter

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Experience

    Posted by Christopher, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Our journey through the immigration system began over five years ago. Every attorney, pro bono or paid, was offering about a year until finalization of the removal process. We contacted Robert and he traveled 90 miles to meet with us. After reviewing all the details, Robert stated his goal would be permanent resident status leading to citizenship. At the time, our marriage was only recognized in a couple of states and not by the Federal Government. We understood and accepted the process would take longer than a traditional married couple.
    Throughout the entire process:
    • Charges never exceeded the pre-determined fee
    • We were kept informed in a timely manner
    • Questions and concerns were answered quickly
    • Members of Robert’s staff were knowledgeable of our case and the process.
    We have achieved success and our next call to Robert will be to begin the process of an application for citizenship.

  2. Robert Carpenter is tough, persistent and knowledgeble.

    Posted by Michael, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have had an opportunity to work closely with Robert Carpenter for two years. Mr. Carpenter's knowledge and dedication place him in the top echelon of immigration lawyers in the United States. Mr. Carpenter is persistent and tough. If you hire Mr. Carpenter, you will get good results.

  3. Great Advise!

    Posted by Karan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was referred to Robert by a friend for a Green Card filling with my wife. I could not have asked for a better person to guide us through the process. Robert is very knowledgeable and responsive. Each time we had a letter from the immigration department it was almost immediately followed by a follow-up from Robert on key steps we need to take. He clearly has a very thorough knowledge of the immigration process and helped us pull together the necessary documents. Additionally, he was very thorough and met with us before the interview process which certainly put both my wife Cathy & I at ease. I had a bit of a fire drill a week before the interview with securing my birth certificate and reached out to him while he was on vacation and Robert responded to my email very promptly and put my concerns to rest.
    I would certainly recommend Robert to anyone that has to go through the process. Could not have asked for a better lawyer!
    Thanks a ton Robert!!!

  4. Trustworthy Immigration Lawyer in Chicago

    Posted by Rosario, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.

    Robert Carpenter have helped me since 2006 to get my permanent residence card; and lately my citizenship; I strongly recommended him to anyone that is seeking for any immigration issue; he is very profesional; honest and knowledgeable as all his stafs as well.

  5. Excellent service with positive results!

    Posted by Mario, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We hired Attorney Carpenter on the referral of friend. When we met with him he advised our best course of action and both my wife and I now have our green cards. Robert is a true expert in this area of law and I highly recommend him to anyone in need of an immigration attorney. He is professional, intelligent and very trustworthy. My wife and I have been able to visit our beloved homeland, Mexico, where we were unable to visit for 24 years. This has changed our family's lives for the best! I am so glad we were able to find Robert Carpenter. He is also very affordable and wasted no time in beginning work on our case. We owe him so much more than we can offer!

  6. Can't say enough good things about Carpenter and Cap!

    Posted by Rachelle, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Carpenter is a terrific lawyer and a wonderful human being. He worked on our daughter's asylum case for 5 years and never gave up on her or her difficult situation. He put together a brilliant case, going to great lengths to reassure and prepare her. He puts his heart into his work, because he wants to make a difference. And he does. We recommend him highly, thoroughly, and without hesitation.

  7. Very helpful with our litigation in resident status through our marriage

    Posted by Max and Elena Reilly, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This law firm was excellent in our experience. They took care of everything expediantly and professionally, They were all very informative throughout the whole process.They put our minds at ease knowing everything was being taken care of and while we were worried about everything they made us fell assured everything would work out for us. Thanks Robert,Deborah and the entire team

  8. "Exceptionally Competent"

    Posted by Marcey, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Carpenter is an outstanding lawyer. He is extremely competent, knowledgeable, and professional. I cannot thank Mr. Carpenter enough for the wonderful assistance I received from him and his staff. I had a great experience with Mr. Carpenter and would highly recommend his services.

  9. Competent and Knowledgeable

    Posted by Bill, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Carpenter was courteous and professional during every interaction. He made efforts to carefully explain each step of the adjustment of status process clearly for my wife and I. He is sharp and well-organized and demonstrates a very strong understanding of the processes of applying for permanent residence, making frequent reference to current events in the field and the general opinions of his peers. He makes a good first impression and what you see is what you get. After meeting with several other immigration attorneys, he stood out as exceptionally well-maintained and competent.
    He exhibited a good familiarity with the people involved in the process. On the day of the interview, the security guards greeted him warmly and the interviewer seemed to know to expect a well prepared case.
    Robert Carpenter and his staff went out of their way to accommodate our travel arrangements and to make nearly every aspect of the process go and smoothly and painlessly as possible . In addition, his fees were reasonable and he was very flexible with payments.
    Overall we had a good experience with Mr. Carpenter and would recommend his services. While he was handling our case, I had the feeling that he was accessible if there was a problem, but of course, there wasn't.

  10. Employment H-IB visa and Permanent residency applications

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Carpenter.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Law firm and staff were very helpful in the whole process which took more than ten years - from employment visa application (for myself) to the permanet residency applications (for my wife and myself).

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

312-803-5110