Jeffrey Michael McCarthy’s Reviews

Jeffrey Michael McCarthy

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Jeff is the best

    Posted by Art, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey McCarthy.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jeff is a great attorney , he knows the law and when he walks into the court room he knows exactly what he is doing and he gets it done! He took my case the at the time was in a different county. I had other attorneys try to transfer to will where I lived and where they failed Jeff didn't . My ex was taking my to court every month for 2 years for nothing and she was 2 states away and never was at court, well Jeff helped me with and stopped the madness. She was unlawfully doing things that I didn't know and thanks to Jeff she has stopped . If you are looking for a great attorney and someone that will fight for you. Stop looking Jeff is your guy, he is the best and I would tell anyone that needed a attorney this.

  2. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G Skilled Lawyer - Vehicle Seizure

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey McCarthy.
    • I hired Jeffrey 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This is the 3rd Case Jeff McCarthy has secured a decision in my favor. I had a vehicle confiscated and my prior atty had this 'dragging' through the system for over a year. I contact Jeff & he was 'all over it'. We wound up getting a quick court date for trial & Jeff's skill and indepth knowledge received a ruling for the defendant. THIS GUY WAS ON FIRE! I highly recommend Jeff for his skill, demeanor, knowledge and he kept me up to date on all information and I was treated with respect.

  3. Finally!!! A Lawyer That Is Worth Every Single Penny. No Joke.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey McCarthy.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Jeff McCarthy is absolutely the most insightful and intelligent lawyer you could ask for. He could have easily been an investigator, or a researcher because he's always "dead on" with vast amounts of knowledge and facts to back it all up. He doesn't nickel and dime you on fees like most lawyers, and he goes right to "bat' to get things done...plain and simple. He'll take the complexity of your case and simplify it to get it done in the most efficient way. He may be soft spoken, but he is a very confident and compassionate individual with a strong voice that emulates moving and powerful words in the court room. His inner confidence definitely defies and towers over his physical stature, but it is that same confidence that will transfer into you when you are standing next to him in court. When the "gloves come off" this is definitely the lawyer you want in your corner. In my eyes, he is truly the standard for which excellence should be measured. Why am I boasting so much, because he won me full sole custody...and in today's family court the father never wins. Try finding a lawyer that can do that...you can't. Jeff is the real deal, as far as the rest of the lawyers you can feed them to the sharks....lol. Don't even hesitate, just call him. (815) 838-5297 I hope my review has helped you. Good Luck.

    To Jeff, if you are reading this...In George M. Cohan style..."My Mother thanks you, My Father thanks you, My Sister thanks you, and I Thank you." God Bless.

  4. INTELLIGENT, HONEST, AND HAS YOUR BEST INTERESTS AT HEART

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey McCarthy.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jeff virtually saved me from ruin. If it wasn't for Jeff I would have spent months in jail and would have lost everything to an ex wife who would have stopped at nothing to destroy me. Thanks to Jeff I was able to obtain custody of my son and end a case that lingered on for three painful years. Jeff will always have your back and will give his VERY BEST effort to help you with your legal needs. He doesn't over charge you and is the hardest working guy I know. Thanks Jeff for helping and educating me along the way.

  5. KNOWLEDGEABLE, HONORABLE, A FIGHTER FOR HIS CLIENTS

    Posted by Joe, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey McCarthy.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I went through 3 other attorneys before I was recommended to Jeff. He quickly grasped the intracacies of my case and compensated for the "errors" and procrastination caused by my previous attorneys and the court system. Jeff is extremely knowledgeable of the law and has a heart for people as well.

    Jeff has done GREAT by me - I doubted him from time to time during the frustrations that come with custody/visitation litigation - but it always turned out he was right and his judgment was right on.

    Whatever the case, he will do the VERY BEST for his clients.

    I thank God for Jeff and for what he accomplished for my daughter and me.

  6. tvs

    Posted by Tom, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey McCarthy.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. McCarthy explored every possible avenue when representing me. I believe it was his persistence and knowledge of the law that produced a favorable result for me.

  7. Attorney, Counselor and Teacher of Law...

    Posted by Kristine, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffrey McCarthy.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In life you are fortunate when you find an Attorney that will counsel as well as teach you. I can honestly say that everytime Jeff directed me within my legal issue, he was correct and we prevailed. Thank you Jeff for educating me along the way...for leading me into the court room and for standing next to me at a time in my life when I was so unsure of so much...could have never accomplished what we did without you.

  8. Best child-support arrearage attorney in Illinois

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Jeffrey McCarthy.
    • I hired Jeffrey more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffrey handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr.McCarthy represented me concerning my child support arrearage case in Illinois. It was a long, hard-fought case. Mr.McCarthy was very deliberate with his motions and advice to me concerning my case. Mr. McCarthy always looked out for my best interests concerning my legal rights. Mr. McCarthy knew Illinois statutes concerning child-support issues very well. Mr. McCarthy was very patient while the process was on going. Mr. McCarthy fought every motion that my ex-wife unfairly brought before the court that would have hurt my situation. My case lasted 3 years, but I knew that I had the best attorney possible representing me. I knew this because I had researched other attorneys. Mr. McCarthy knew Illinois statutes so well that he always was a step ahead of the opposing attorney. Mr. McCarthy was relentless in seeking justice for me. We had some set-backs concerning my case, but Mr. McCarthy always advised me what was in my best interests. Mr. McCarthy was always punctual for my court dates and always was well-prepared. Mr. McCarthy is very fair with his time devoted to a case and with his charges for his services. Without Jeff McCarthy's representation I would have been raked over the coals in the Illinois court system! I sincerely advise using Jeff McCarthy's knowledge, and experience when facing untimely litigation in the Illinois court system.