Eric Carlisle Nelson’s Reviews

Eric Carlisle Nelson

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great attorney!

    Posted by Nate,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.
    • I hired Eric 1-6 months ago.

    I had a harassment case brought against me and to complicate matters it was involved with a family law case. This case was a high conflict case. Mr. Nelson did a great job getting everything together and when the time came he presented a good case. We won the case and he was the first lawyer to actually help me. He did an amazing job and I would highly recommend him for anyone dealing in either family or harassment cases! Thanks again Eric!

  2. Eric Nelson changed my world! Gave me back my relationship with my boys that was seemingly lost forever!

    Posted by Brian, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I made the worst mistake of my life when I signed my divorce decree without legal representation. I failed my children because I signed away any and all legal rights I had pertaining to their future relying only on verbal agreements that I would be able to be just as involved as if I had full legal and physical custody. I quickly learned that verbal agreements do not hold any weight in the real world.
    When I contacted Eric, I didn’t know what I was looking for but I knew I needed to do something for my boys. Everything that I did involving my relationship with my boys had to be cleared by my ex-wife. It was so bad that I was actually being denied the right to bring them to their grandparent’s house to visit. I was stuck.
    Eric’s honesty towards my case was apparent from the first time we talked. He told me it was going to be “a really tough case”. I was explained that when someone signs away their legal rights, it is just about impossible to get them back. He didn’t tell me what I wanted to hear, he told me what I needed to hear. He didn’t fill me with unrealistic hopes but instead directed our focus on what was attainable.
    Eric’s focus was always on what was best for my boys and me. His integrity as a person was evident every time we talked. He showed genuine concern for my situation and I honestly believe that he wanted to make difference in the current situation.
    Eric expertise was the difference in my case. It turned out to be a long, hard fought battle which ultimately ended in my favor and then some. Eric and his paralegal John were absolutely amazing. They didn’t miss anything and were on top of everything. It always seemed as though they were two steps ahead.
    Eric knew what the courts needed to see and made sure that we were ready to present it to them. Eric court etiquette was very professional, he was very well prepared and it was obvious that he did his homework. He didn’t fumble around a stack of papers looking for answers; he knew exactly what we wanted to say.
    I never once doubted what Eric and John were doing because they always kept me informed with an open line of communication. It can be very costly for a person to contact a lawyer all the time when you have questions. I always knew that when Eric needed to contact me, he would.
    Eric never treated me like a case, he treated me like a man that needed his help and his willingness to provide me with it proved to be the difference. I would absolutely recommend Eric to anyone looking for an excellent lawyer!
    Eric and John changed my life, and saved my boys!

  3. Review

    Posted by Bruce, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Family matter.

    Eric helped me navigate through a very difficult time in my life. He was sensitive, knowledgeable, and kept me abreast of what was going on. I did not get everything I thought I was entitled to, but given MN law, I believe the divorce agreement was about as favorable as possible.

  4. Eric C. Nelson, from Attorney to Friend

    Posted by Scott, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.
    • I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Mr. Nelson in early to mid 2006. As all would know, divorce is a VERY difficult time. Mr. Nelson is a gift of easing the stress with divorce. He always shot straight regarding this situation. He was not the lawyer where his client can do no wrong, if there was a mistake that was made, it was instantly noticed and addressed. With Mr. Nelsons personality, I feel that over the course of 7 year we have built a very personal and professional relationship, and as a former client, I can always count on him to run things by him.

    Scott

  5. Knowledge, Care and Quality

    Posted by Ryan, a Prenuptials client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.
    • I hired Eric 1-3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Marriage / Prenuptials matter.

    Eric drafted a prenuptial agreement for me with less than a week to go before my wedding date. Over and above, he worked with me to get the document properly and timely executed. Unlike many attorneys I've worked with, Eric showed he cared by being attentive to my needs, he was responsive to my calls and emails, and he made sure I understood the provisions in the document I was signing.

  6. GREAT response time and knowledge

    Posted by Angela,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.

    I am starting this process and was super impressed with Eric's credentials, past client testimonials, and his responsiveness. He called me back within a few hours of my voicemail, was extremely knowledgeable, and didn't sugar coat anything. I am hoping to avoid litigation, but if I have to, I will be giving him a call.

  7. the best--

    Posted by Gary, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.
    • I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Eric is not only a consumate professional but also has a talent for setting people at ease and listening sympathetically to his clients' concerns.
    As my wife and I talked, Eric quickly saw the merits and challenges facing us as we struggled to gain visitation rights with our young grandchildren.
    Eric worked tirelessly and kept us informed almost daily. Any questions we had were quickly addressed. We believe Eric's attention to detail and exhaustive knowledge of family law were crucial to us achieving a positive result with the courts.

  8. Divorce & custody negotiations- thanks Eric!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.
    • I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After doing a great deal of research, I sought out Eric Nelson as my divorce attorney. Ours was a high conflict situation and I was preparing for a long drawn out divorce.

    I quickly felt comfortable with Eric and appreciated his approach of not asking for the world with the intention of accepting less, but rather one of setting an equitable goal and staying the course. His insight into the process and courts meant that I was sometimes given direction which I did not always wish to hear as a father, but this experience is why I sought him out. His advice was direct and communications very timely. Eric did a splendid job in negotiating a settlement despite an unresponsive and difficult opposing counsel. While he diligently looked out for mine and my children's interests, I was thoroughly impressed by the kindness he exhibited in making sure my ex understood what was going on, even when her own attorney would not.

    As a father I achieved joint legal and 50/50 physical custody, with Eric Nelson representing me. I highly recommend Eric Nelson.

  9. Trustworty, Responsive, Knowledgeable, Kept me Informed - great attorney!

    Posted by Amy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.
    • I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    "I had worked with a different attorney to process my divorce proceedings but needed to go back to court to address some very difficult custody and visitation challenges that were not working out per my divorce decree. I needed someone that specialized in divorce and child custody cases and Eric has been a tremendous asset to me with handling these issues. I would definitely recommend Eric to anyone that is looking to hire an extremely knowledgeable attorney. Thanks Eric!

  10. Just when I lost all hope...There was Eric Nelson.

    Posted by Robin, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eric Nelson.
    • I hired Eric more than 3 years ago.
    • Eric handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you are reading this testimonial, you are in one of two possible states of mind. First, you may be searching for help without the slightest idea of which attorney to choose. If you fall into this category, stop immediately, and retain Eric Nelson. You will not regret it. Second, if you are like I was, I had already been working with a lawyer, and spent upwards of $8,000.00, and I was dumbfounded by her ineptitude and lack of interest. She went on vacation for our first court date and turned my case over to another attorney who had not even read the case file before meeting me at the court. He was totally clueless. I could not go forward with either of these attorneys.

    As fate would have it, I found Eric. If there is such a thing as a 180 degree change in my fortunes, Eric was the reason. What I came to appreciate was that a lawyer’s “standing” with the court, aka, reputation, is critical to your success. Eric’s knowledge of the law, respect for the court, his willingness to seek a balanced and equitable solution that took into consideration the concerns of all parties was instrumental in the outcome of the case. The plaintiff hired a big name attorney from a big name firm whose sole strategy was to defame me in the worst possible ways. It was very ugly and very stressful. As a testimonial to Eric’s ability, was the $5,000 in “bad faith” attorney’s fees, I was awarded against my ex-wife and her attorney. I believe it may be the largest award of its kind in this court. I also received a substantial return of assets including the bad faith attorney’s fees. In her case, she did not get what she paid an incredible amount of money for. You do not always get what you pay for; with Eric you will. More importantly, I was rewarded with the restoration of my emotional health and self-confidence restored. Please do yourself a favor: Retain Eric Nelson: it’s a decision you will never regret.

Call Eric for a free phone consultation of up to 30 minutes.

612-321-9402