Cynthia Johnson Vermeulen’s Reviews

Cynthia Johnson Vermeulen

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Cannot recommend Cynthia Vermeulen highly enough.

    Posted by Ryan, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia 6-12 months ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Cynthia for an extremely delicate custody/child support issue after reading several positive online reviews of her work. Well, here's another one.

    Throughout the entire process, Cynthia was extremely responsive and regularly kept me informed via emails, phone calls and face to face meetings. But two things stood out in particular.

    As I mentioned previously, the case was extremely delicate in nature for reasons I won't bore you with here. Cynthia took the time to both listen and ask questions in order to really understand the nature of the case. She then deftly handled this issue perfectly.

    I cannot thank Cynthia enough for her excellent work and I will not hesitate to contact her again if I ever need legal assistance.

  2. Help with DWI

    Posted by Kenny, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia 6-12 months ago.
    • Cynthia handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I recently hired Cynthia for my DWI case in Kanabec county. I feel she was a great deal of help for me. She was very knowledgeable in this field. She was able to not make my case affect my job which was greatly appreciated. She was good at helping me understand what was going on, and what my options were. She seemed to be well known in and out of the courtroom. Overall, I am very pleased with the outcome of my case.

  3. Cynthia is a wonderful attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.

    Cynthia has been working with my case for about two years now. Cynthia has never failed to impress me with her stellar organizational skills and professionalism. If I ever had a question, Cynthia would respond as soon as possible and I always felt as if she was meeting my needs to the best of her ability. Her office and staff are organized, professional, kind, and helpful as well.

    Cynthia is apt to take notes and is very wise and intelligent. Her years of experience as an attorney is evident and she is top notch.

    While dealing with my case was never easy, I'm very thankful for Cynthia's assistance and could not ask for a better attorney,

  4. If youre looking for a good lawyer, read this.

    Posted by Brent, a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I made a mistake in the way I chose to defend myself during a serious altercation. I received several very serious charges (4 felonies and a gross misdemeanor). Cynthia defended me extremely well and 4 of the charges were dropped and the one that I plead guilty to will be reduced after probation due to a downward departure. I felt I received a very fair outcome. Her experience definitely showed in my case, and she also made me feel human again, as the legal process can feel to many people like they have been demonized and reduced to nothing. Cynthia always prepared me for what to expect in court, and gave me recommendations on how to better conduct myself in the mean time to help produce a more favorable outcome. I would definitely be locked up for a long time if I chose to have a court appointed lawyer defend me. Cynthia runs a very good practice in St. Cloud and Minnetonka and I feel the other lawyers that work for her must be really good too, based on my experience meeting them, and knowing how important it is to her to have knowledgeable experts at hand. I am really glad I hired Vermeulen Law Office. She is definitely a great lawyer that I would recommend to anyone.

  5. Extensive experience with several various cases and issues

    Posted by Eric, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have had the pleasure of dealing with Ms. Vermeulen for several years. I have been invoked with Ms Vermeulen on both personal and professional issues. Ms. Vermeulen has never ceased to amaze me with her ability to resolve difficult situations with efficiency and positive results.

    Through my profession I have daily contact with various attorneys. Ms Vermeulen is by far the hardest working, knowledgable and competent attorney I have dealt with.

  6. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Laurie, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Cynthia about 4 years ago to handle my divorce/custody issues. She provided excellent guidance throughout the process. She prepared excellent responses and listened to my concerns. She stayed calm about everything and offered realistic advice. She did not sugar-coat anything and I feel I went into everything knowing my options. I am a rather non-assertive person and she was very assertive yet respectful and I knew she would get me the best result possible. I also have a friend that she represented on a case and he was extremely happy with her services as well.

  7. Cynthia Vermeulen engineered a soft landing for me and my family

    Posted by Lawrence, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I needed a criminal defense lawyer, Cynthia came highly recommended by someone with extensive knowledge of the attorneys in Central Minnesota.

    Throughout my case, she was willing to offer me her best legal advice, always returned my queries in a prompt manner with complete information, and was willing to work with my family to achieve the best possible outcome, even if it meant toning down some of her considerable tactical skills.

    Cynthia helped me with both a civil and criminal case stemming from the same incident, and made sure the civil case came out the way it needed to for my family, even though it meant she had a harder job to do on the criminal side of things. She then worked with the legal system to find the softest landing possible and pursued it by going around the prosecuting attorney and straight to the judge.

    Throughout the process, she gave me good advice on how to minimize the damage already caused and how to survive the process. I am thankful for her guidance and reasonable approach to the case.

  8. Review of Cynthia Johnson Vermeulen

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Cynthia helped me through a very difficult process for me and was very patient and helpful through the whole process. I would definately recommend her to a client seeking a divorce.

  9. Excellent knowledge of family law

    Posted by Luther, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have retained this attorney on more than one occasion for legal counsel on family law and she is intelligent, trustworthy and prompt. She made my divorce settlement palatable and stood her ground representing my rights. I highly doubt that anyone who has gone through a divorce thinks that their settlement is fair, but Ms. Vermeulen kept me calm and sane throughout the whole ordeal.

  10. Cynthia's review

    Posted by Jane, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia Vermeulen.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cynthia handled my divorce case, first off, sympathetically, but remained professional, always advocating for me. Her first words to me were 'How are you?' and I knew she meant it. She is an attorney with a heart, but the know how to get it done. I have used her more than once and she has met my needs both times. Only thing I would have improved on was the billing. It was sporatic and I preferred it monthly.