John Holevoet’s Reviews

John Holevoet

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Dropped OWI!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was convicted of an OWI in Dane county after being pulled over for a suspended license and blew a .09. Wish John's help I was able to get not only the OWI dropped, but also my suspended license! All I was convicted of was; reckless driving. John was very understanding and treated me more like a friend than a client.
    He was very professional and always returned my calls in a timely manner. This was my first one and I could not have been more worried about what it may do to my future. John put me at ease and took care of the matter.
    He was also very honest from the beginning about my chances. Overall, I was 100% pleased with my conviction and would absolutely use John again if I was ever in a legal bind. I highly recommend him for any legal needs.

  2. John Holevoet helped me straighten out a bogus traffic ticket

    Posted by Ed, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I hired John Holevoet because I had received a bogus traffic ticket. He very quickly settled the case to my satisfaction. I found him helpful, straightforward, and communicative. I would definitely recommend him to anyone in need of hiring an attorney.

  3. Solid guy will be worth the $$

    Posted by Jon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John handled a OAR ticket for me after working with me on a OUI charge. Everything negative you've heard about the criminal "justice" system is true. It's all about the money. If you have enough you can get out of anything. Having John Holevoet sitting next to you will help you get closer to the minimum penalties. He's a solid guy with a good reputation among prosecutors and judges. Don't risk going alone or settling for a public defender. You owe it to yourself to have a pro like Attorney Holevoet representing your interests.

  4. Affordable, Excellent OUI Specialist

    Posted by Jon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John helped me negotiate a first offence OUI. I was pretty stressed out about it and John was great about explaining everything and making the process as painless as possible. I never felt rushed when we worked together and he's really easy to talk to and work with. Put me at ease every time I met with him.

    His knowledge of the law is excellent. He had a better grasp of the sentencing guidelines than the prosecutor or judge in the case. During sentencing the judge sent out an email mid-proceeding to confirm John's interpretation of the statutes on a point that was unclear to him. I probably would have unnecessarily had an ignition lock installed were it not for him.

    John's staff is friendly and professional, responded to all correspondence promptly and let me know when important dates were coming up. The paralegal working with me on the case left for personal reasons as my case was midway through the court process (left for happy reasons, no drama) and the new one picked things up without missing a beat. Very impressed with how he runs his office.

    If you're facing an OUI charge, John Holevoet is an excellent attorney to represent your interests.

  5. The almost IMPOSSIBLE was done when my OWI charge was dropped...

    Posted by Jennifer, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thanks to John Holevoet's diligence, knowledge, and expertise, the (almost) impossible was achieved when my OWI charge from 10yrs ago was reopened and the conviction was changed to "Disorderly Conduct with a Motor Vehicle." Because of this, I can finally get my license in Florida to drive after 8yrs! John was very respectful to me and answered all of my questions, so I always knew exactly what was going on. He was VERY prepared and competent in court. I would highly recommend Mr. Holevoet to anyone needing DUI/OWI counsel.

  6. Speeding Ticket

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Had speeding ticket reduced to a non compliant with road sign ticket. I paid the cost of the speeding ticket but did not receive points on my driving record. John did a outstanding job in keeping me advised on the progress of this legal matter.

  7. I would definitely recommend John Holevoet to anyone in need of a great lawyer

    Posted by Kathy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have never been in this type of situation in my entire life. I have never had the need for a lawyer before. Luckily, my husband, did some research, and thought we should hire John. It was the best decision we ever made. We do trust him completely, he answers any questions we have, responds to them immediately,and always keeps us informed. My being very nervous & stressed by the whole situation, John has done a great job in making things easier for me to handle. I really appreciate that.

  8. Great Attorney, I Will Recommend John to Anyone!

    Posted by Sabrina, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John was a great attorney. He kept me informed on everything that was going on with my case and sent me every piece of information that he used, like transcripts, videos, and research that he would use. He walked me through everything step by step from the very begining. The thing I like the most was that he spoke in a language that I understood, I have spoken to some attorneys in the past and had no idea what they said because they used terms that I didnt know. If I had any questions he was happy to answer them and called me back as soon as possible. I was a wreck as it was with this situation I was in but John took care of everything, he is very determined to help out his clients. I couldn't thank him enough for everything he has done for me. He was able to reduce my charge from an OWI to a reckless driving before it went to trial. I was very satisfied with the outcome. I will recommend John to anyone who is in search for an attorney. Thanks again John and to your fellow co-workers at Holevoet Law Office.

  9. Excellent DUI/OWI attorney.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with a 2nd OWI. My BAC was .07 which is below the legal limit, but they decided to charge me anyway.

    John was able to negotiate it down to a reckless driving charge before it even went to trial. I saved about $2,000 or more in fines, surcharges, alcohol treatment expenses, and ignition interlock device rental. I also avoided criminal charges and jail time, thanks to John.

    He's a really cool guy, easy to get along with, very professional, and knew exactly what he was doing. He was great at keeping me up to date and always got back to me whenever I had questions. I felt like he genuinely cared about my case. I really enjoyed having him as my attorney and can't thank him enough.

  10. Attorney Recommendation

    Posted by Regina, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Holevoet.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I thought Mr. Holevoet was professional, approachable, and knowledgeable. I would recommend his services.

608-216-7000