Matthew Thomas Lindholm’s Reviews

Matthew Thomas Lindholm

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Amazing Lawyer!

    Posted by Katelin,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.

    I was pulled over for speeding through a construction site and was given a speeding ticket along with an OWI. I had never been in trouble before so I was a mess about the entire situation. I ended up going to the station and blowing a .112. Because that is over the legal limit, I spent the night in jail and appeared at court in the morning. I had never worked with a lawyer for any reason prior to this event but there was no hesitation to go directly to Matt--I had already been referred to him by another acquaintance who knew of his hard working and professional demeanor. I took their advice and met with Matt a couple weeks after receiving my OWI. He was very professional but also made you feel like even if it didn't seem like it, there could be a light at the end of the tunnel. He told me step by step what I needed to do at that moment and made sure I understood all of the paperwork. He asked me for my side of the story and was very inquisitive about what had happened. When all was said and done, I knew he was the right person to trust with my case.

    Driving and getting to work was very important to me so Matt immediately requested a DOT hearing to keep my license active. I did not have to take any time away from work to a part of this but instead Matt represented on my behalf at the DOT hearing. Not to long after, I was given notice they accepted the request and I could continue driving until further notice. Being able to have my license throughout everything getting figured out was tremendously meaningful to me and my professional life.

    Matt and I did not meet again face to face until our first hearing but I e-mailed him a handful of times throughout the process and he would respond almost immediately with knowledgeable and helpful answers. It made me feel very valued as a client to know he would be there whenever I needed to ask him something. Even when some questions can seem silly to you as a client because it is all so new, he never made me feel like my questions were not important.

    As things progressed, Matt ended up seeing via video that the officer denied my right to place a phone call. Because of this Matt told me we were going to request a Motion to Suppress my breath test results. Matt was able to get that accepted at our initial hearing and my OWI charge was dropped down to a reckless driving ticket. I will not have an OWI on my record, will not be required to complete probation, and will not lose my license for any period of time. I was asked to pay the reckless driving ticket and attend the 48 hr OWI weekend camp. After the hearing Matt sat down with me and told me the last few things that I needed to do after receiving these results. He helped me find phone numbers and explained to me the deadlines that I had for paying my ticket and completing the OWI weekend camp. Even after our case together was essentially completed, he still took the time to make sure I knew the last bit of information that I was needing to finalize things on my end.

    The amount of gratitude I feel for this outcome and for all of the hard work that Matt put into my case can not be expressed in words. If anyone is ever in a similar situation or searching for a trustworthy and helpful lawyer, I 100% recommend Matt Lindholm!

  2. "NO WIN SITUATION"

    Posted by Susie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am an Illinois driver who was arrested in Ames, Iowa on July 5, 2014 for an owi. I was pulled over for speeding, but I knew that once the officer came to the window that I was going to be in trouble. I can honestly say I have never been so scared in my 39 years of life! Because I refused to take the breathalyzer I was arrested and spent the night in jail. I have never been in trouble and didn't know what to do. On Monday morning I made some phone calls to local attorneys in my home town, only to be told that I would need to hire an attorney closer to Ames, Iowa. After one conversation with Matt, I knew he was the attorney for me! I was so mad at myself for getting myself in this situation, and didn't really know what was going to happen, but Matt made me feel comfortable and explained everything that was going to happen even before I hired him! He kept me informed of everything that was going on with my case. Three months after my arrest we went to trial. It really seemed crazy to go to trial for this, but it seemed like nothing was working for me. I was a nervous wreck weeks leading up to my trial date. If I was found guilty I would've had to do 2 days in jail and I would have a criminal record! I really felt like I was in a "no win" situation. Turns out I was worried for nothing! Matt got my case dismissed and I have no criminal record! I would without hesitation recommend Matt to anyone that is in a similar situation!

  3. OWI

    Posted by Jon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    In February I was arrested for an OWI and contacted Matt after being referred to him by multiple people. I blew .196 and had put myself in a very difficult spot. He was very honest with me throughout the entire process. Matt was able to get the .196 thrown out and I accepted a plea deal for reckless driving and was able to get my license back immediately. Matt is the top representation you will find and is worth every penny.

  4. 1st Offense OWI- Best Lawyer Out There!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Matt Lindholm in February of 2014 for a 1st OWI and my case was deferred by May 2014. From the first meeting with him I could tell he was the guy that I could trust and would get me the most favorable outcome from the awful situation I was in. He was prompt, respectful, nonjudgemental and straight to the point. He never promised me anything he couldn't deliver! He looked into every avenue of my case and left no stone unturned. I only had to attend one hearing throughout this whole ordeal and it was where I received the deferred judgement. Matt always had time for all of my emails, calls and questions. This was a very scary situation for me and Matt helped ease my nerves and worries. Matt is an expert and highly qualified for OWI cases. He was worth every penny and I would highly, without a doubt, recommend him

  5. DUI / OWI CHARGES DISMISSED

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Lindholm recently got the charges in my DUI /OWI case dismissed as if it had never happened. After viewing the tapes of my arrest he filed a motion to suppress the evidence for violating my rights. While we were waiting for the court date Matthew also filed a motion with the DOT to keep me driving.
    I am very impressed with Matthews knowledge of the legal system. I feel Matthew's case law knowledge and his experience was very vital to my case. He was very professional and very informative and I am ever so grateful for what he has done for me.
    I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND MATTHEW LINDHOLM!

  6. OWI Defense

    Posted by Sheila, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Matt represented me when I was charged with an OWI. He was informative of the processes with the state and the DOT and handled everything so I didn't have to take time off of work. Within 3 months, my OWI was dismissed and cleared off my record and my driving privileges were returned. I was able to drive for the 3 months it took to have my license back. Matt handled everything very professionally and he is very knowledgeable. I would recommend him highly.

  7. DUI was Dismissed, I recommend Matthew Lindholm

    Posted by Dan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Well if you are reading this your probably in the same boat I was in not long ago.... ok, after calling and calling numerous lawyers offices without answer, I came across Mr. Lindholm, his office answered right away, and I was scheduled for a meeting the same day, prior to the meeting I didn’t know what to expect, I was at a new personal low, spending the prior night in jail didn’t help either, also the thought that I might be terminated from my job kept cycling through my head as well, at the meeting I was treated with the upmost respect, Mr. Lindholm listened to my case and diligently took notes, he felt I had grounds to fight the DUI, which what I was exactly looking for in an attorney, so I hired him, after leaving his office, some of the burden of the weight was lifted off of my shoulders, even more was lifted when the previously contacted attorneys finally had the time to call back, but before any meeting they were sure to inform me of their fees up front, which made me see what their real priority was, anyways, he let me know what to expect, and always let me know if I needed to appear, or what our next move should be. Mr. Lindholm experience and professionalism shined through during the suppression trial, he left no stone unturned, and his due diligence moved boulders, which led to a dismissal of the case against me, but don’t take my word for it, just meet him, and you will be happy you hired him as well, I hope this review helps someone, because I am more than grateful for what this man did for me, I hope he can do it for you as well

  8. OWI

    Posted by Nguyen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Matt helped me cleared my OWI charges and I was able to get my license back. He is very knowledgeable of drunk driving law and very helpful throughout the process. I highly recommend him as your lawyer if you ever get into this type of situation.

  9. Satisfied client

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.

    Matt just finished a unreasonable search and seizure case for me with quick and positive resolution. He handled the case with diligence and intelligence. He has good communication and good follow-through. I recommend him highly.

  10. Very satisfied client

    Posted by Tracey, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Lindholm.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had spoken with several attorneys about my case before deciding to hire Matt Lindholm. As I was out of state, I was impressed with the time he spent with me on the phone answering my questions. He was able to resolve my case satisfactorily without me having to fly back to Iowa. I would definitely recommend him as an attorney.