Philip Alan Eichorn’s Reviews

Philip Alan Eichorn

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Greencard through marriage

    Posted by Nicole, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip 1-6 months ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Great lawyer, very knowledgeable, questions were answered to our full satisfaction and in a timely manner, it was a pleasure to work with him. Interview went very well and smooth. No problems occurred while preparing everything for the interview and while being at the interview.

  2. Bad Advise

    Posted by Yasir, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    i am LPR and been charged for AGGRAVATED ASSAULT by state after that STATE offered me domestic violence for plea bargain and then i get the advised from him and he advised me to get the AGGRAVATED ASSAULT instead of DV because that is not the deport-able offense. i get plead on that and after 6 month i been detained for the deportation and till now struggling in court to withdraw my plea.

    1. Philip Alan Eichorn

      Philip Eichorn

      Lawyer Comment:

      Hi Yasir
      First and foremost, I'm very upset to hear you're having issues with your immigration status. I’ve performed a review of our files and found your case. You have not been accurate with your submission to Avvo. You were not just charged with Aggravated Assault and Domestic Violence but also with Kidnapping, Felonious Assault.
      On March 11, 2010 you came to our office and asked for some general advice regarding the immigration consequences of your criminal case. We discussed the different possibilities and I encouraged you to retain us for a full analysis of the immigration consequences of your criminal case, advice and counsel with your criminal defense lawyer and to represent you in removal proceedings. You declined to hire us.
      According to Court Records, on March 24, 2010, you plead guilty to Aggravated Assault and all other charges were dropped. Our office was in no way your representative and was never in contact with your criminal defense attorney. In fact, until you posted this review, we haven’t heard from you.
      In general, Aggravated Assault can be found to be a crime of violence, an aggravated felony and can cause removal via deportation. Domestic violence generally causes removal via deportation. In fact, all of the charges you were facing carried deportation consequences as well as issues with admission to the U.S. upon return from international travel. They also can lead to detention while in removal proceedings and denial of a naturalization application.
      Again, based on court records, it appears you may have traveled outside the U.S. while on probation. This was a violation of your probation and as well subjected you to a different set of immigration circumstances. An LPR traveling internationally with a criminal conviction subjects you to a different set of laws as you’re considered a returning resident seeking a new admission. Thus, the consequences regarding deportation would not attach as you would be charged as an arriving alien and subject to the grounds of inadmissibility not deportability. It appears from your review, you failed to mention the reason for your detention.
      I can only surmise why you are now in Removal proceedings as I am not your attorney. There are many ways a foreign national with a criminal history may have removal concerns and this was not the first time in which you requested a withdrawal of your guilty plea.
      While I can certainly understand your frustration Yasir, I was never hired to advise you as to all of your criminal and immigration matters on a continuing basis. If you would like, I would be willing to assist you after a review of all the facts that have come to light since 2010. I certainly wish you the best should you not wish to contact me.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  3. Overall Rating: 10 STARS instead of 5

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.

    My case was considered one of the unique immigration cases out there. However, ever since I found Attorney Eichorn on the internet, everything was gradually better. I could say he is one of the best thing ever happened in my life.

    I was in the highest state of despair and was facing deportation order in early 2010. I applied political asylum in 2001, got denied, filed an appeal, and got denied. It continued to the 3rd circuit and got denied. I had been working with two different law firms back in 2001-2006. The latest attorney I worked with might have screwed up my case. My husband was literally eligible to sponsor me, yet my attorney did not do anything about it. I was even uninformed when I received deportation order.

    Mr. Eichorn is a very straightforward person. Prior to hire him, he provided his idea how to cope the situation, how to handle in any case the worst scenario happened. As time went by, he succeeded handle my complex case one step by one step. He is very intelligent and well experienced. With his knowledge and skill, he successfully convinced the ICE officer to allow me to stay in the US; the judge to reopen my previous case and to finally close it so I could go to the next process of gaining my status. Almost 13 years since my arrival in the US, I eventually received my Permanent Resident Card. Thanks to him.

    I found him a very trustworthy lawyer to work with, he is fair with the money I had to spend for his service. He is not a person who will take advantage from client’s situation. He is very outstanding in both personality and profession. I believe his passion to help others will bring more positive results in his profession too.

    I highly recommend Mr. Eichorn to anyone in need of immigration legal service. He is the proof a trustworthy lawyer still exists.

  4. Competence, integrity and honesty!

    Posted by JP, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.

    Mr. Eichorn and his staff have proven to be extremely professional and competent. We retained his firm to handle my mom's naturalization case, which was wrought with very unusual complications. Mr. Eichorn covered all eventualities and worst case scenarios, and tackled every issue with diligence and success. The firm walked us though all the steps with patience, integrity and even provided moral support. When my mom went to the interview, it became evident that he was very well known, respected and liked at the USCIS office. Mr. Eichorn's, indisputable competence, sense of humor and his staff's patience and professionalism makes the process of dealing with the US Immigration authorities a lot less stressful! We feel that his fees were very reasonable considering the amount of work his firm poured into my mom's case, which resulted in her obtaining US Citizenship. We recommend Mr. Eichorn and his firm 100%!

  5. A++++++ Experience and Service

    Posted by Lyle, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Phil Eichorn assisted our family through the immigration process of adopting my step-daughter and the naturalization of my wife. Phil's knowledge of the process and his relationships with the immigration personnel helped everything go smoothly without any unexpected delays. Phil also helped my wife prepare for her citizenship interview and without his help, she would have encountered some possible preparation issues on the questions that would be asked. Phil personally accompanied both my wife and my daughter during their interviews and his presence was a big plus in the eyes of the immigration interviewer. We would highly recommend Phil to anyone requiring immigration expertise.

  6. The Best!!!

    Posted by EDYTA, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Hired Mr.Eichorn was one of the best decision I had ever made ..Few months ago I had no I.D. , no SS , no passport ,I was thinking to going back to my country because did not see things to get better here for me , in six months after he decided to take my case I got everything , I got my permanent resident card after 3 min immigration interview , he was there with me :) ..THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR ALL YOU DID FOR ME !!!!

  7. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My wife and I worked with Phil for the past three years regarding removal proceedings, an I-130 petition and AOS. He willingly travelled to NY three times, two of those for interviews and once for preparation. Correspondance with the firm was easily accessible and response rate was consistently prompt. Phil was ability to handle our complex situation professionally. He ensured that we understood his ideas and were comfortable with his recommendations on how to proceed. His staff gave us great service and always kept us informed on any updates to our case. Overall highly satisfied and looking forward to Naturalization.

  8. Philip Eichorn Immigration Lawyer Recomendation

    Posted by Martin, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have to say that I can't fault the service in anyway shape or form. Extremely professional, responsive and very knowledgeable. Very organized as well with the online platform, makes the whole process completely painless. Phil knows the system inside and back to front as does his staff and basically worth every penny.

  9. Overpriced, poor effort

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This attorney charged us 2/3 of our retainer on phone calls and one typed correspondence to a criminal attorney. Even calls made to his legal assistants are billed. He did not return my emails or calls for ten days when it was time to return my retainer. After contacting the Better Business Bureau my unused retainer was returned.

    1. Philip Alan Eichorn

      Philip Eichorn

      Lawyer Comment:

      Ms. Elizabeth Joy Smith (who is not the client and is not subject to privacy rules) has engaged in a pattern and practice of fraud and defamation. Ms. Smith's money has been returned via e-certified mail with proof of delivery. Ms. Smith is warned to cease and desist or legal action will be taken. Avvo is reminded of their duty to ensure accuracy on their web postings.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Citizenship

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Eichorn.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It was a long journey for my husband and i...but i'm finally an American citizen and i can't thank Philip enough. My case was not an easy case but Philip Eichorn stuck with us from beginning to end..we owe him everything