Richard James Mockler III’s Reviews

Richard James Mockler III

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Highly recommend him

    Posted by Tampa Resident,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Mockler.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.

    Richard helped me several times with my case with my crazy ex-wife. He drafter an arrangement that works well for me. Two instances, I had to have him write a email after our case and he is very helpful after the divorce is settled . I highly recommend him

  2. Very happy with the result

    Posted by Layla, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Mockler.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.

    After having two bitter experiences from two family attorneys in the past, I was very skeptical to hire a new one to represent me at a new hearing I needed to go to.
    I was divorced four and a half years ago, and based on the Final Judgment, I had to go court after two years of my divorce to get some financial support from my former husband, based on Affidavit of Support he signed with the immigration, before bringing me to the United States.
    I was constantly going to some legal sites seeking some helpful information, as I could not afford to loss the case this time, nor did I want to be misrepresented. I was looking for a responsible, aggressive and informative attorney to hire.
    I contacted numerous attorneys to discuss the case with and get some information. Most of the attorneys I talked to did not have enough information about the case, and some, referred me to some attorneys working in other fields not related to my case. As I was looking for a good, decent attorney, I came across Mr. Mockler's name among top best attorneys in Tampa. I read his answers and advices on some of peoples' legal questions and concerns as the best answers chosen by Avvo.
    I decided to contact him and talk to him about the case. Richard first wanted to send him a copy of the Final Judgment, then agreed to take the case.
    A day before the hearing, he wanted to see me as he was preparing some of our requests and wanted to send them to the opposing lawyer and her client (my former husband.)
    He explained to me in details, all the aspects of the case and gave me advices on what I need to do, and let me decide to choose the best option for myself without any pressure.
    In the end, we reached an agreement that I am totally satisfied with, as I believe that I made a wise decision considering all the circumstances, with the help of Richard.
    I am very delighted with the result, and I told Richard after the hearing that he totally changed my mind about lawyers and now I believe that they are still good lawyers out there who really care for their clients.

  3. Best Lawyer!

    Posted by Gaby, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Mockler.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.

    I thank Richard for his excellent work and compassion but mostly for his encouragement and friendship. He became a friend to me during my divorce. The sense of security he gave me about my future and daughters and my well-being gave me the peace of mind I needed. I appreciate his loyalty, his strength and his genuine concern as well as his sense of humor!
    Throughout the ordeal, he helped me remain confident with his professional, rational and knowledgeable manner both in law and finances. I could not have made it through that awful time without his help! They say the best advertisement is word of mouth. I will highly recommend him. He is an incredible person and one hell of a lawyer:-)!

  4. Best Divorce Lawyer in Tampa

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Mockler.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Highly recommended. Richard has represented me in a divorce, and I have found Richard to be an outstanding attorney--he is highly intelligent, has great command of family law and the divorce process, and is reasonable in his billing. You can expect Richard to provide great legal advice, and to achieve the best results possible in your case.

    In addition, Richard and his staff are very personable and a pleasure to work with. If you need help in a divorce case, you need to hire Richard ASAP before your spouse does--I have no doubt he is the best in the Tampa area.

  5. Biggest Mistake

    Posted by Ripped Off, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Mockler.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I happen to stumble across this site and thought I check out the reviews for Richard Mockler. I was most definitely one of his clients in a divorce case. Just to clarify, I am certainly not a ex-spouse of one of his clients that was upset because he is a great attorney and took me for all I had... That being said, one thing he did do was take me for all I had. The initial consultation was amazing - he told me everything I wanted to hear. The problem is he never delivered on any of his promises. I had to fire him due to the fact that after almost 2 years he took all my money and I was still married. I read those other reviews where it says he's caring, thoughtful and fought for other people. I did not see any of that at all. He simply tried to get me to accept my soon-to-be-ex-spouse's attorney's demands. He did not stand up for me ONCE. That other attorney completely ran the show. Those other reviews more than likely were from his staff, friends or even himself under a fake account. As confirmation of that when I was his client he had his own law firm, Mockler Law Group. Now I see he works for someone else... Taking that into account, which set of reviews do you think are more accurate? PLEASE, if you are seeking to retain an attorney that really cares, is passionate about what he does and to truly help you, look elsewhere. Don't make the same mistake I made.

    1. Richard James Mockler III

      Richard Mockler

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is the same negative post as the one below. These posts have been removed three times previously. This is not even a client of mine and these statements are false. I do not have any fake account where I post my own reviews. On behalf of my clients, I have obtained judgments against many people, and this is just one of them who is apparently angry at me, rather than being accountable for his own actions.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  6. ***PLEASE READ!*** Please don't make the same mistake I did!

    Posted by Screwed, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Richard Mockler.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hiring the Mockler Law Group was the biggest mistake of my life. I was blown away reading the positive reviews on this site. It can't be the same Richard Mockler I hired. I'm not sure of his knowledge because I would never even get my questions answered. I did not feel he was knowledgeable of military divorces, much less a simple divorce. There was no communication from him unless it was concerning paying him. Once he got all my money even that communication stopped. I never felt comfortable or educated on any part of the process, nor did I ever feel like he cared about me as a human being, which is extremely crucial in this type of life-altering situation. Not once throughout the entire process did I truly feel he was passionately fighting for me. He completely failed me. I wish I never hired him.

    1. Richard James Mockler III

      Richard Mockler

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am at a total loss as to whom this "client" could possibly be. This same post has been taken down by AVVO three times. My strong feeling is that this was posted by an ex-husband or ex-wife of one of my clients. I have been very flexible about money. I answer my clients' questions. I definitely care about my clients. And, I know a great deal about divorce, especially military divorce. I am not a perfect attorney. But, no client, judge, or opposing counsel has ever said that I don't care about my clients or that I am not knowledgeable about military divorce. Those statements are, for lack of a better word, silly.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Very helpful

    Posted by a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Mockler.
    • Richard handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I wrote to him for advice and he answered promptly. He lives too far away from me.
    Otherwise, I would have hired him!

  8. The Quintessential lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Mockler.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mockler Law Group in Oct 2011 to represent me during a heated/contested divorce. It was one of the best decisions I've ever made to protect myself and my personal interest. When my ex-wife attempted a scheme to get me arrested so I lose my house and custody of my child, Richard came to the rescue. He masterfully strategized a winning argument with facts and clear evidence that left no doubt in the Judge's mind that my ex-wife committed domestic violence and provided false information to Law Enforcement Officers, thereby granting me my first victory in this complex marital battle. After negotiations failed, Richard went head to head with my Ex-wife's lawyer. During the hearing, Richard questioned the court-appointed social investigator on the stand, whom had written a 60-page report that clearly favored my ex-wife over me in the custody battle for my child...clearly I was about to lose my case. Again, Richard unique style of questioning was able to build on a foundation that proved not only that I was a great Father. but the report was totally bias and should be inadmissible in court. To make my point, Richard decisively won my divorce trial where all that I requested from the court was fully granted. I'm now happily divorced, paying zero alimony and have 50/50 joint custody of my beloved child. Simply put, this was not an easy case as the Judge put it, "this was a very complex court case". Richard is truly a brilliant, highly experienced lawyer where he eats, sleeps, and breathes every aspect of family law. Richard staff, Rachel and Brittany, are equally superb, they also stand behind the clients every step of the way...courteous and professional. More importantly, Richard legal fees and extremely fair...he gave me one of the best deals that I couldn't refused. I'm writing this review on my own free will with the hopes that you hire Richard at Mockler Law Group. He will give it everything he got to bring satisfaction and closer to your case...hire him and you won't regret it!

  9. Best in Class for Family Law

    Posted by Burt Thurman, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Mockler.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Mr Mockler for Family Law. He and his staff exceeded my families expectations at all points of contact. Mockler is a true professional that specializes in Family Law. So many firms claim they understood family law, but many specialize in all areas. If you are in need of a Lawyer that will represent the most important thing in your life, YOUR FAMILY, then call Richard Mocker!!!

  10. Amazing, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Helps walk you through a hard situation with ease and compassion.

    Posted by Cheryl, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Mockler.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted Richard in June about my divorce. No divorce is easy and to make mine more complicated it is being fought in 2 states and is military related. Richard and both of his Legal Assistants, Rachel and Brittany are very friendly, and help you to make this difficult process easier. I've never had an issue contacting Richard nor his office about problems or concerns, they were addressed in a very timely and professional manner via telephone or email. One of the great things about Richard is, he is very knowledgeable in military divorces and what they entail. He is not like every other military attorney I called that was more interested in only serving the service member, he was interested in my (the spouse to a service member) problem and how he could help best. I wish that Richard was barred in the other state my divorce and child custody is being fought it, I would love to continue to have him in my corner and fighting for me and my children's rights. I hope to never have to refer my friends or family for this situation, but if I do, Richard Mockler will be the only name I will ever recommend, ever.