Niurka J. Fernandez’s Reviews

Niurka J. Fernandez

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Saved my home from foreclosure

    Posted by Robert, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Niurka Fernandez.
    • I hired Niurka 6-12 months ago.
    • Niurka handled my Foreclosure matter.

    Nicki was highly recommended to me by another lawyer who I have utilized for years who does not specialize in foreclosures. With Nicki's team of experts, we were able to work with the bank attorneys and avoid a foreclosure. I am deeply grateful for her services and have recommended her to other friends of mine who were in the same situation I found myself in.

  2. Minimal effort put forth. Don't waste your time and money. She is a joke.

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Niurka Fernandez.
    • I hired Niurka 1-3 years ago.
    • Niurka handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mrs. Fernandez completely wasted our time and money. She put forth minimal effort and after months of her "service" with no resolve we were forced to hire new representation who solved our case in a matter of weeks. Don't waste your time and money.

  3. Legal Services received from Attorney Niurka Fernandez were sound, efficient and trustworthy.

    Posted by a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Niurka Fernandez.
    • I hired Niurka 1-3 years ago.
    • Niurka handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained the services of Attorney Niurka Fernandez twice. Each time, the legal services rendered were thorough and I was more than satisfied with the outcome each time. Some of what comes to mind when I think of my satisfaction with this Attorney would be the following: The ability to get answers to my questions, no matter how small or trivial they were at times; the professional staff that I communicated with at her office was of the up-most , patient, and knowledgeable; Attorney Fernandez communicated with me before securing any final resolutions with both situations I was faced with; I felt like Attorney Fernandez was honest and up-front with me, even when the answers were not completely what I wanted them to be(she did not lead me into long drawn out decisions), she gave me the information and explained my options so that I could make the best decision for me; the price for her legal services were up-front and she never varied from what she explained the fees to be; and I felt like Attorney Fernandez did exactly as she explained to me.
    I feel the need to explain that, I understood that Attorney Fernandez had to represent others during my aforementioned situations, but the staff and employees which assist her, truly work with this Attorney and not just for her. I felt like “Nicki” was my Attorney, but I had a team which worked on my cases and were informed, or knew how to get the answers that I needed.

  4. I would avoid this lawyer

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Niurka Fernandez.
    • I hired Niurka 1-3 years ago.
    • Niurka handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Ms. Fernandez to help stop foreclosure so I could short sale my home. Her contract is by stage of foreclosure, not by the hour. I paid for all stages of foreclosure.

    My case carried on for a very long time (2 years). As time went on, Ms. Fernandez would complain to me more and more how many times she went to court for me, and how much time she spent on my case for "no money."

    I had multiple purchase contracts go through the approval process with the bank, and each time the bank agreed to accept $100K for my property. The buyers would refuse to pay the $100K so the property would go back on the market.

    One day, I received an email from Ms. Fernandez stating that we needed to go to mediation with the bank to ask them to reduce the price they would accept for my property. This mediation would cost me $1,000.

    Please note that at the time she told me we needed to go to mediation, I had another offer for $100K on the property. I didn’t understand why we needed to go to the bank and ask them to reduce the selling price when we had a current contract for the exact amount the bank wanted.

    When I pointed this out to her, she told me that if we didn’t go to mediation, she would drop me as a client because I am impossible to work with.

    When I told her that I felt she just wanted to go to mediation to make the $1,000, and I felt that mediation was not in my best interest given that we had an offer on the table for the $100K the bank wanted, she dropped me as a client.

    She provided no refund even though I had paid for all stages of the foreclosure process. I, personally, would not recommend her services.

    1. Niurka J. Fernandez

      Niurka Fernandez

      Lawyer Comment:

      At this time, Fernandez Florida Law disputes this review and discloses the facts according to the firms' records.

      What this client failed to disclose is that prior to terminating the relationship, the firm handled another foreclose case on a different property, and successfully closed the short sale with a waiver of deficiency.

      The client also failed to disclose that the firm successfully handled an eviction issue with her tenant at no charge.

      In conjunction with the foreclosure defense case referenced to in the client's posting, the firm also handled several short sale offers on the property, at no charge. However, the bank refused to accept these offers based on an inflated appraisal, which caused several buyers to terminate the sales contract. After these several offers fell through, the attorney suggested mediation in an attempt to negotiate a lower short sale price directly with the bank and its attorney. This would also provide the client with additional time in the property to negotiate a short sale as the final judgment hearing was quickly approaching. The client refused, accusing the attorney of trying to price gauge her.

      The firm did defend a foreclosure case for more than two years and the client did pay $1,000. However, contrary to the allegations above, the client did NOT pay for all phases of the litigation pursuant to her retainer agreement. Regardless, the attorney continued to work on the case and attended several hearings in an effort to obtain a positive resolution for this client. A refund was not warranted, as the client admits, the attorney worked on the case for two years and also handled several failed short sale negotiations at no charge.

      The relationship quickly deteriorated after the client refused to comply with the attorney's directives. As a result, the attorney withdrew. Upon termination of the representation, the client exhibited unstable behavior by threatening the attorney and her 4-months old son in a documented email.

      The numerous reviews on AVVO speak for themselves about this attorney. 80% of the firm’s business comes from client referrals who have used this attorney's services in the past. We regret that this client was unhappy with the attorneys’ services; however, the allegations contained in this posting are blatantly false.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Great Service

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Niurka Fernandez.
    • I hired Niurka 1-3 years ago.
    • Niurka handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mrs. Fernandez and her staff were very professional and kept us informed throughout the entire bankruptcy procedure.

  6. One of the best lawyers I've ever dealt with: Nicki Fernandez-Asmer

    Posted by Chris, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Niurka Fernandez.
    • I hired Niurka 1-3 years ago.
    • Niurka handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I went to Nicki Fernandez in a very bleak and depressing time in my life where I thought I was going to have to go into bankruptcy. I felt very bad and embarrassed. I could barely say the word "bankruptcy."

    I called Ms. Fernandez office on a Monday and she saw me the very next day. She immediately put me at ease and was extremely compassionate and very informative.

    She took a lot of time going over my options and actually running numbers and explaining what each option looked like, what it would cost me, how it would effect my future.

    She never made me feel bad and, in fact, made me feel very good because I had really tried with my debt. She helped me get together a plan of action. She also spent as much time as I needed with me; I never felt rushed or felt like she had somewhere else to be.

    Because I was new to all this, I asked a lot of questions and she was extremely patient with me. Even when I repeated the questions or didn't understand, she was remarkable in breaking down a complicated thing to where I could understand it as a lay person.

    Then, when she took my case, she was unrelenting. Made creditors stop calling, filed all the necessary paperwork, and represented me in a very confident and protective way.

    I would recommend her whole-heartedly for her knowledge, her compassion and her advocacy. I felt she ALWAYS had my best interests in mind and didn't let anyone hound me again.

  7. Thank you, Nicki!

    Posted by Maria, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Niurka Fernandez.
    • I hired Niurka more than 3 years ago.
    • Niurka handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My husband and I were in real financial trouble and finally decided to look into filing bankruptcy. My friend and neighbor referred us to Nicki. Nicki and her staff could not have been kinder or more helpful. She gave us very good advice and was always there when we had a question or concern. She did everything promptly and did everything she said she would. I would highly recommend her.

  8. I thought I was going to lose my house to foreclosure

    Posted by Sparkle, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Niurka Fernandez.
    • I hired Niurka more than 3 years ago.
    • Niurka handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    At first I just listened to what the bank and mortgage holder was saying to me. They told me I was going to have to go into foreclosure. Finally I decided to hire a lawyer. I didn't think Nicki Fernandez could do anything about it; I was sure I'd acted too late. But Nicki was able to save my home, deal with my creditors and help me make sure this wouldn't happen again. I recommend Nicki Fernandez 100% if you think you're going to have to go into foreclosure or bankruptcy.‎

  9. Professional Rating

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Niurka Fernandez.
    • I hired Niurka more than 3 years ago.
    • Niurka handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nicki has assisted me personally as well as several of my clients. I would highly recommend her to anyone seeking competent and agressive legal representation.