Shawn Clayton Bugbee’s Reviews

Shawn Clayton Bugbee

Average Rating

Based on 32 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great lawyer for a great price

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Bugbee.
    • I hired Shawn 1-6 months ago.
    • Shawn handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Bugbee to help me with a child support case in DeKalb County. I had lost my job and I thought I was going to jail and a friend gave me his number and I called him and boy I am glad I did!! Mr. Bugbee knew exactly what to do and while it took a couple of months he got my child support reduced cause I was making a lot less working two part time jobs then I was full time. He made them look at other facts in my situation and they ended up dropping the charges. He's a great guy and a great lawyer!

  2. Excellent attorney

    Posted by Frank and Carol,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Bugbee.

    Shawn was recently retained an immediate family memeber. We found him to be patient, understanding , and above all professional. He returned emails and phone calls promptly. We highly recommend him.

  3. Shawn made it look easy

    Posted by Paul, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Bugbee.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had a felony case in dekalb county in 2012 and had a public defender representing me. I got the impression that the pd didn't care about my case at all and felt very uncomfortable. One of my friends gave me Shawn's info and I'm glad I hired him. He took over my case and owned it! Like I said he makes this stuff look easy and he got two of my charges dismissed and the other one got dropped to a misdemeaner and I did diversion. Shawn's not cheap but he's worth the money I spent. Every penny.

  4. Great!

    Posted by D., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Bugbee.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was terrified of the divorce process and custody negotiation. Shawn was patient and reassuring. We got everything we wanted in the end. What a relief!

  5. Amazing lawyer!

    Posted by Emily, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Bugbee.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Child Custody matter.

    We hired Shawn Bugbee to handle our custody case in Cobb County. He took great care of us and our case and went above and beyond what we expected of him.

    I can't say enough good stuff about Shawn, he was honest and diligent and got the job done right with us ending up with primary custody of the kids.

  6. Excellent and trustworthy!

    Posted by LBB,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Bugbee.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.

    Mr. Bugbee took on a difficult case for my family. His expertise and experience in Juvenile Law was invaluable as he helped us to navigate and understand the the many facets and steps involved in the process and made sure that we stayed informed and had choices. He was very supportive and worked extremely hard to get the best possible outcome for our case. We are very grateful for his kindness and caring manner of practicing law.

  7. VERY COMPLICATED DIVORCE - DID A FANTASTIC JOB

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Bugbee.
    • I hired Shawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I had one of the most complicated divorce cases anyone could imagine. I had everything , every hurdle, every legal maneuver and tactic from my ex-husband because his father was an attorney and he didn't have any legal fees. Mr. Bugbee took on this case better than anyone I could of hoped for. He allowed me to make monthly payments, stayed on top and anticipated every tactic they threw at him. My divorce case ended in 2007 and I ended up with custody of my children, the highest amount of child support I could receive, possession and use of the home (while he incurred the payments), spousal support, and best of all he got the Judge to award me reimbursement of my legal fees. He accomplished this while having a fairly new practice, no permanent legal assistant at the time..he worked very hard. It's been awhile Shawn but I just wanted to let you know I remember the work you did and thank you very much! ... Amy

    1. Shawn Clayton Bugbee

      Shawn Bugbee

      Lawyer Comment:

      Amy, did you end up becoming a sign language interpreter? How are the kids? I haven't heard from you in a while, hope all is well!

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Fantastic Criminal Lawyer

    Posted by Richard, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Bugbee.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Bugbee has represented me on two separate occasions and both times was more than professional, knowledgeable, courteous, as well as an all around enjoyable person to deal with. Both times the outcome was more than favorable resulting in a dismissal of the case and completely clean record. He worked extremely hard in both situations to help me in any way possible and kept me informed every step of the way. I would highly recommend Shawn to anyone seeking legal representation or advice, and have done so in the past. Truly only the best things to say about this man.

  9. We're a happy family again thanks to Mr. Bugbee

    Posted by Keith, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shawn Bugbee.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Shawn handled my Family matter.

    My ex-wife refused to return my son & daughter after visitation. I called Shawn because he had represented me in the divorce two years ago and did a great job then and he was already familiar with everyone involved. The case was complicated by the fact that my ex was living in Florida.

    To make a long story short Shawn was able to get my kids back home to me quickly, and now my ex can only have visitation here locally and only when it's supervised.

  10. Do not hire this attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shawn Bugbee.
    • I hired Shawn 1-3 years ago.

    We had to report this attorney in order to get our retainer back from him and our legal papers. He took the retainer and never did anything on the case. We eventually just handled the case on our own.

    1. Shawn Clayton Bugbee

      Shawn Bugbee

      Lawyer Comment:

      Would you mind leaving your name so I can respond accordingly? Nobody has filed a grievance against me in the time frame you stated above (6-12 months ago).

      If this is who I think it is, that situation occurred years ago, you never paid the full amount of the agreed upon retainer, as you admitted in a pleading later. You also forgot to mention that you received a refund of the partial retainer amount you did pay, even though I had done work on your case. You fail to mention that your bar complaint was found to be unsubstantiated, the court threw out your lawsuit, and the BBB agreed that I had done absolutely nothing wrong.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

678-439-1066