David Shepherd West’s Reviews

David Shepherd West

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best lawyer in the COUNTRY!

    Posted by Chelsea, a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David West.
    • I hired David < 1 month ago.
    • David handled my Appeals matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David West is the absolute BEST attorney in the country! He is so great! Really! All around 5 stars! Kept me informed, heard and actually listened to what I wanted and needed and acted promptly and extremely effectively and absolutely delivered! More than delivered!! He's so great!! I recommend to EVERYONE 1000 times over this is your guy!! Stop your search here!!!!!

  2. Outstanding

    Posted by Mekeva, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David West.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr West I am writing to thank you and your personal assistance for the outstanding job you did representing me, I think you're phenomenal lawyer and I will refer you to everyone .


    Sincerely, Mekeva & Yvonne

  3. My Review on David West

    Posted by Ramondo, a Violent Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David West.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Violent Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. David West help me to get justice with a very difficult case in a difficult county..he showed confidence and knowledge, he told me everything i needed to do, to give me the best chance for justice..following his advice I am now a free man, in a case that other attorneys told me i had no chance and just plain didn't want to try, but not Mr. David West, he took the challenge and succeeded.
    i recommend Mr. David West if you want an attorney that cares, and well give you the best chance you can possibly have.

  4. Very down to Earth

    Posted by Tyler, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David West.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with possession of a controlled substance on federal property. The outcome was far better than I could have expected. My biggest concerns were losing my driver's license, ending up with a criminal record, and being put on probation (none of which happened). Thanks to Mr. West, I can put everything that happened behind me and get on with my life.

    After a few unsatisfactory consultations with other law firms, I knew right away David West was the right choice. He didn't use any scare tactics, OR make any empty promises in an attempt to get my business like others have done. He and his associates were understanding and very personable.

    Mr. West has more experience with federal court than anyone else I found, which definitely shouldn't be underestimated. I feel very strongly that the outcome of my case had a lot to do with the rapport he's built over years of dealing with the prosecution we encountered.

    Someone was always available to talk to about any questions or concerns I had. Throughout the whole process I felt like I was in good hands. I slept like a log the night before court.

    To top it all off, his fee was substantially more reasonable than I expected, which was a pleasant surprise.


    All in all, I was completely satisfied. I absolutely recommend Mr. West's services to anyone looking for the best defense they can get.

  5. A Great Outcome From A Great Lawyer

    Posted by Kyle, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David West.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    First of all, I fired my first lawyer for his lack of effort on my case. I then met with and interviewed a half dozen other attorneys before choosing David West. He and his team helped me obtain a reduced misdemeanor charge with no jail time for what had been a very serious felony charge. He and his team were extremely knowledgeable and professional. I also feel like I was treated with dignity and understanding. I am very appreciative for his help and would highly recommend him to anyone in need of criminal defense.

  6. Stereotypes do not apply.

    Posted by Don, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David West.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When people mention the word "Lawyer", it, unfortunately, conjures up preconceived, stereotypical preceptions for most.
    Mr. David West will alleviate any presumptive notions you may have, the moment you shake his hand.
    I was charged with felony obstruction. I was very nervous at the beginning of my consultation. I quickly became very comfortable speaking with Mr. West. His explainations to my questions were informative and easy to understand. He told me not to worry, that he would take care of everything. Wow, I didn't realize he would literally " take care of everything".
    He, and his staff, were with me every step of the process. His office manager / assistant, Beth, is incredible. My eventual outcome was more than I could have hoped for. I proudly recommend his services to anyone. Thank you David West & Associates.

  7. David Shepherd West is the best Criminal Defence Lawyer in the US !

    Posted by RedFoxLeo1, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David West.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He gave me the best answer, he is definitely very knowledgeable in the Criminal defense field, I would definitely recommend and hire him.

  8. david shepherd west

    Posted by glenn, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David West.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    mr. west was clear and exact with his comments concerning my pending case. he gave me a realalistic outlook of what to expect and did a fine job of implementing the plan. while i certainly do not plan on needing any additional criminal defense in my life , i would trust mr. west with any legal needs.

  9. Amazing attorney! Practically saved my life.

    Posted by Michael, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David West.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. West was simply the best. I was facing serious jail time for a second dui and would have been without my license for a year had it not been for the hardwork he put into my case. He kept me pretty well informed on everything going on, given some of the more serious cases he also works on. And his staff always had answers for me when I called his office. He was really a great speaker in court and I could tell he was really fighting for me. He also seems to get alot of respect from the prosecutor and the judges as they appeared to listen to everything he had to say.
    I saw the review by the other person on here and really can't believe it. Mr. West went out of his way to say we had a tough hill to climb with my case and that he didn't know what would happen when we started but he really worked hard once he got started to make sure I got a great result. His hard work saved my job and my license and I had to come on here to make sure other people saw what he was capable of. Mr. West is a pro and anyone who doesn't check him out before handing their case to someone else is making a big mistake. You will be glad you went to see him. I sure am.

  10. Overal very poor treatment of client.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David West.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested for possession of marijuana in GA. The police mislead me into believing that if I were to cooperate with their anti-drug evaluation class (for new officers) that they would simply let me go free. I cooperated and went to jail anyway.

    I explained all circumstances to Mr. West. He reassured me that we could go to court and fight the charges because of my special circumstances and the misleading behavior of the police. He said that I would likely be looking at a small amount of community service, at worst, and at best, no repercussions at all.

    His ability to spout rhetoric convinced me that he would be the perfect lawyer for my case.

    After the first court date, I was given the option to plead guilty and receive 40 hours of community service, mandatory drug screens (that were to be paid by me), a drug/alcohol evaluation (another $300 charge), and over $300 in fines directly to the court.

    Mr. West strongly advised me to take the deal, adding that the judge would only get more strict as I turned down these plea offers. At the time I was semi-ignorant of the way the entire system worked and I stupidly took his advice.

    He told me what I wanted to hear in the beginning and then (after receiving payment) he pressured me to plea, presumably, because he he had "more important" cases to deal with.

    1. David Shepherd West

      David West

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client confessed to police and cooperated prior to being represented by me. I made no assurances that he would have his charges dismissed and the State was unwilling to dismiss the charges under the circumstances of the case. The sentence the client received was minimal for the offense, including the reduced fine which he received. My area of specialization is marijuana cases and I have had hundreds of such cases dismissed for my clients - usually where the client doesn't admit wrongdoing and doesn't cooperate with police. I never strongly push a client to take a deal and would have taken this client to trial if he had requested we go to trial. He chose to take an offer rather than risk a guilty verdict. Most interestingly, the client made no verbal complaint to me following conclusion of this case and it has been many months since his case was completed so I was unaware he was dissatisfied and surprised he waited until now to lodge a complaint.

      I am one of only nine lawyers in the State of Georgia recommended by the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws for the handling of these kinds of cases and I am a life member of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. NO case in this office is less important to me because it is a misdemeanor or because of the facts of a case. I work to help my clients but make no guarantees of results in any individual case - I simply work hard to try to win and if we cannot win, I let my client know and let them make a decision. This client did that and apparently it is my fault.

      I hope that those of you considering my practice will look at other reviews, use google to search for cases in the news I have handled and do more research before relyin gon one dissatisfied person to make their decision. As other reviews are added, I also hope you will read those and consider the experiences of other clients who have been very happy with my work and the work of my staff.

      Posted about 4 years ago. Flag