Marcy Ann Millard’s Reviews

Marcy Ann Millard

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Personal Service, Caring Staff, Terrific Experience

    Posted by Jonathan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy 1-3 years ago.
    • Marcy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The Millard Law Firm was recomended to me by another attorney about a year and a half ago and every since I've always felt Marcy and her team went above and beyond to represent me. From Marcy's personal nature with client service, to her knowledge of family law, to personaly knowing many of the judges and court representatives in the area, her and her team pack a powerful set of skills.

    Marcy fought hard in representing me and I was very impressed with the way she handled my case. Judges are just unpredictable at times and you're at their mercy whatever they decide. While we didn't get everything we wanted, we are thankful for the outcome and results from it. I would certainly recomend her to anyone neededing family law assistance.

  2. Professional, Organized, Responsive, and a Great Advocate

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy 6-12 months ago.
    • Marcy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Marcy represented my husband in a custody dispute regarding his child. The case lasted more than a year (through no fault of Marcy's) and Marcy was great every step of the way. She was very organized, very responsive, and very understanding of our situation. As an attorney myself, I knew that hiring an effective attorney was extremely important for the case and I am very glad we selected her. I've worked with many other attorneys in my professional life so I am able to compare Marcy to other family law attorneys that I have dealt with. When we met with her before trial Marcy was extremely prepared and knew the case like the back of her hand. We also appreciated that she or a member of her office always responded to us the same day that my spouse or I contacted her. Both my husband and I were impressed with her performance both in terms of her written motions and also in the courtroom. The judge's ruling allows my husband more visitation time with his child which made us very happy. I would definitely use Marcy again and highly recommend her!

  3. Best in Lawyer in Town!

    Posted by Jose Jimenez, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy 1-3 years ago.
    • Marcy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have recently used The Millard Law Firm for my uncontested divorce. Her Firm is dedicated, efficient, friendly and professional. They communicated everything really well at each step. Marcy is very knowledgeable and honest. She truly did an awesome job. Very competitive fees schedule and the location is great. The Millard Law Firm means 100% favorable results! I highly recommend them and I would totally use them again.

  4. desperate single mother looking for a GOOD attorney.... Do not look here

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy 1-3 years ago.
    • Marcy handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I needed to talk to Marcy I would either get a call back from the paralegal, e-mail or nothing at all. I also was very concerned with the mediation portion when she gave me no advice and when I asked for things she would either state "well we do not handle that in mediation", or I also asked for something in mediation and she said I got it but she never followed through. Then when I would ask for things she always acted like in was to much. Then when we went to court we LOST big time. My ex got everything he wanted. The Judge was about to be done with my case and I asked SEVERAL times to ask for something and she stated you would have to do that in a different court. But since we lost I thought it could not hurt. She asked and my wish was granted. FYI seems to busy to take phone calls and do tasks that are requested by the client. She seems to accomodate the oposing councel. I DO NOT RECOMMEND HER.

    1. Marcy Ann Millard

      Marcy Millard

      Lawyer Comment:

      The client who posted this comment was unhappy because her child support was reduced to the legally calculated figure. During mediation and prior to trial, I explained this would be the likely result. Despite that, I was able to delay this reduction for 6 months after the final hearing. As shown by the below comments, I have always communicated with my clients and keep them informed of the process and expected outcome. I prepare clients for anticipated results and work hard to get them the best possible outcome. Unfortunately, some clients lash out at their attorney when the Judge does not award them everything they were requesting.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Knowledgeable & Caring Family Law Attorney

    Posted by Courtney, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy more than 3 years ago.
    • Marcy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I contacted Ms. Millard to handle a modification of visitation that a previous attorney had begun, but did not complete. I was looking for an attorney that could see that my children's well being was very important to me, seemed genuinely interested in my case, was knowledgeable about family law, and was easy to contact. Marcy met all of my criteria. I could tell, almost immediately, that I would be able to trust her. I was impressed that she thought it was important to try mediation prior to going to court. And when that wasn't an option for me, she prepared extensively for court and kept me informed along the way. I have had experience with many different attorneys in the past, but Marcy is the first one that I would strongly recommend. I appreciate that even though my final order was months ago, I can still count on her for the answer to a question or two!

  6. Marcy is outstanding

    Posted by Kevin, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy more than 3 years ago.
    • Marcy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Marcy Millard to represent me in a child custody and modification case. When I got divorced, the settlement that I agreed to was not fair to me and did not take into account the significant role that I play in my son’s life. I had to wait two years after I signed the divorce agreement before I could modify it. After waiting two years and having to abide by an agreement that was patently unfair to me, I was more than ready to obtain a modification that would provide a just result. I have always been close to my son and although he was spending 3 days and 4 nights per week with me, I still had to pay my ex-wife the full amount of child support in accordance with the state guidelines. So even though I was paying full child support to my ex, I still had to clothe him, feed him and otherwise support him during the time he was with me. The financial burden was frustrating and overwhelming. The first attorney that I hired to represent me purported to specialize in men’s rights and so I assumed I would have aggressive representation. Unfortunately the original attorney was passive, nonchalant and allowed my ex to drag the case on indefinitely so that she could maintain the lifestyle that she had become accustomed to. I wasted thousands of dollars on this attorney and was constantly having to call for status updates and to prod them to move the case forward. After a year of dealing with this, I decided that I needed to find an attorney who would take an aggressive approach and move my case to a conclusion. Hiring Marcy Millard was one of the best decisions that I’ve made in my life. When I initially met with her, I outlined my frustration at how my ex was stonewalling the process and my attorney was unwilling or unable to move the case forward. Marcy outlined a plan of action and communicated specifically how we would go about bringing my case to a resolution. Marcy was aggressive from the start and kept me updated weekly on the status of my case. She was able to use motions and subpoenas to prod my ex and her attorney to act. When they continued to lag in providing us information, Marcy filed a Motion to Compel and the judge forced them to turn over all required documents in order to build a strong case. Marcy is relentless and a tireless advocate for her clients. She really gave me a sense of relief because I felt confident that I had the right representation. The end result was even better than I could have imagined. I was afforded joint physical custody, decision-making authority over my son’s education and extra-curricular activities and even more surprising, I no longer had to pay any child support. My relationship with my son has never been better because I am able to be the father that I always wanted to be to him without having to be overburdened by the system. This is one father’s testimonial and I always wish the best for those father’s like myself who work hard to be a strong presence in their son’s life despite the relationship with the mother and the intrusiveness of the family support system. If you need a good attorney, you don’t need to look any further. If you want to prevail in any type of family law dispute you must have sound legal representation. If you don’t have a good attorney, you’re not going to win. It’s that simple. Marcy Millard has reasonable rates and her representation is top notch. There is no attorney out there who could have gotten a better result. I am constantly referring people to her because she knows what she’s doing and she does it well. Family law is an emotional and sensitive matter. Don’t waste time or money. If you want rock-solid representation, call Marcy.

  7. Excellent Divorce and Custody Attorney

    Posted by Meredith, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy 1-3 years ago.
    • Marcy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met Marcy over three years ago while going through my divorce. I was immediately attracted to her philosophy to try to mediate amicably whenever possible. She was a voice of reason during a very emotional time. She had a very fair fee schedule and was extremely responsive. I never had to wait for an important call or email back from her. She is also very compassionate and focused on keeping the kids first in negotiations. I got a final judgement I was very satisfied with. In comparision to several friends who have gone through divorces, Marcy's professionalism and competency is head and shoulders above the rest. I have referred her to several friends with similiar results. Even 3 years later,
    arcy is always available to help answer additional questions as they arise and provde guidance as needed. I highly recommend her.

  8. Highly skilled; excellent legal approach.

    Posted by Gerald, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy 1-3 years ago.
    • Marcy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Marcy Millard proved to me her expertise at delving into and uncovering the history of my case. I appreciate her knowledge of family law; she put me at ease by researching, then communicating to me the most logical way to proceed based on the law. Her businesslike approach in following up with me removed any doubt about the status of my case. I’m absolutely pleased that she’s representing me…and would recommend her to others seeking top-notch legal assistance.

  9. Great Family Law Attorney

    Posted by Clint, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy 1-3 years ago.
    • Marcy handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am so happy that I found Marcy and let her take charge of my case.

    After 9 months in a messy custody case, I felt like my attorney (not Marcy) was not working to help me as much as she was just going through the motions and charging me a lot to do very little. Looking back it's apparent her lack of actions caused as much problems and grief than she helped me.

    I decided to make a change and was fortunate enough to find Ms. Millard of The Millard Law Firm. Marcy has shown that she is very knowledgeable of the law and the family law system, and has used that to eliminate a lot of the issues that I was having with my ex, which has been great for my daughter. Marcy has shown a true concern for my daughter's well being, while at the same time made me feel like I am in great hands, which has relieved a great deal of stress.

    I highly recommend Marcy to anyone who is about to step into, or has been pushed into, a divorce or custody situation. Having had two different attorneys for this case, I can say that she is without a doubt the attorney you want on your side.

    Clint R.

  10. Michael Spikes

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marcy Millard.
    • I hired Marcy more than 3 years ago.
    • Marcy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I was looking for a lawyer, she stood out when I was asking for a good lawyer. Every since she has been my lawyer she been very kind and understanding. Mrs. Mallard has been such an inspiration on me and my family and I hope God continue to bless her. Yes, she really knows her job and very well. Thank you so much Mrs. Marcy Millard.